We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afrika Sun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afrika Sun Bed & Breakfast

Afrika Sun Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Afrika Sun Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #48 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Afrika Sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Afrika Sun. We were on our way home and this was the second last night of our trip. Our experience during April of 2013 was great so we thought we would repeat the performance and we were not disappointed.

The owner and his wife were away and the place was being run by family. They worked just as tirelessly and the supper she was cooking for her own family almost made me cancel my own dinner plans and gate-crash theirs. As it was we went to Joes Beer House for dinner as we always do when in Windhoek.

The breakfast the following morning was superb and the staff was determined to make an impression. I can recommend Afrika Sun unreservedly if one is looking for comfortable accommodation in Windhoek. Secure off street parking completes the package.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarryMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville Hills, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Fantastic personal service and a very homely feel made my stay memorable. The rooms are modern and tastefully furnished, whilst remaining warm and cosy. All the services that one may require is offered. Thank you Eghard and team I hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: All spacious and en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magdaleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Our family stayed at Afrika Sun in July 2013 the evening before flying back to the States. The owners were extremely pleasant and anxious to make sure we were thoroughly happy. Great facility, great night sleep and a wonderful breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USFamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed at Afrika Sun Bed and Breakfast in March 2013 in the middle of our holiday, and we decided to return for the last night because we love it so much. Everything was just as wonderful and made even better by the fantastic warmth of our host Eghard. Everything is around making life easy and simple.
I can't imagine a nicer way to end a day of sightseeing than relax around the pool area. Food was excellent, room was not just clean and comfortable but beautiful and full of character. Efficient free Wi-Fi all over the property. I can't imagine why anyone would stay in a generic hotel when there are gems like this. PS. You need your own vehicle to stay here as everywhere else in Windhoek.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliegeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walvis Bay, Namibia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

The Afrika Sun Bed & Breakfast is like a home away from home, with a lovely family atmosphere.
Eghard, his wife Orpa and their team make a real effort to accommodate all requests. They are excellent hosts and made me feel welcome.
The breakfast room has a view of the mountain. I visited in the heart of winter and the fire in the breakfast area created a lovely warm ambiance.
The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and very tastefully decorated.
I will not hesitate to make use of this venue again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Recently spent 2 weeks at this relatively new guest house and was very impressed. The service offered by the owners and their staff was excellent and every request was addressed with a friendly smile. My room was spacious and well equipped, clean and modern. The secure parking is also a plus. This is probably one of the better guest houses I've visited and well recommended. Well done to Eghard and Orpha Visser. Will certainly be back


Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Luayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

we were referred to this B&B by another Windhoek property which was full. The property has a low rating, I can only assume because it is new.

The hospitality, service, room and food were all excellent. They also gave us excellent introductions to other properties for our travels around Namibia as we came out at very short notice and even helped with transportation, bookings and other arrangements.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 120Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#10 of 17 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Galton House
Galton House
#13 of 97 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Maison Ambre Guesthouse
Maison Ambre Guesthouse
#12 of 97 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Village Courtyard Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrika Sun Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrika Sun Bed & Breakfast

Property: Afrika Sun Bed & Breakfast
Address: 79 Kuiseb Street | Eros, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing