We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in Windhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Olive Exclusive
Ranked #5 of 95 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Windhoek”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I can't recommend the Olive Exclusive more - the staff were endlessly helpful, cheerful - the food was amazing and diverse (brie salad = amazing) and the rooms are breathtaking. I wish I could hire the interior designer to do my own house. Anyone on business or leisure would do well to treat themselves to a few nights at the Olive Exclusive.

Room Tip: Honestly, all rooms are amazingly stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    43
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
115
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
263 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Loved this place- like some others was upgraded form sister hotel next door. Stunning room with terrace , great dinner and breakfast. Exceptional experience from the laptop in the room to the stone basins and deep bath with candelabra with candles !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cultureoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

where to begin? i guess with the service. first class, seriously refined, as good as anything i've experienced in africa.
the food - stunning. the breakfast is to die for.
the rooms - high-end luxury. the attention to detail is astounding. i've visited no more than three or four boutique hotels around the world that match these standards. plenty of period antiques/architectural styles, fused together with marvellous skill.
this is the sort of place that it's worth extending a stay for.
there's a small pool, great lounge and more besides.
windhoek is a necessary stop-off for many en route to other, safari destinations. the olive is undoubtedly the place to book when stopping-off. truly exceptional.

Room Tip: suite 4. stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickyfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This property, a new addition to "The Olive Grove Guesthouse" has blown us away. The "room" is a veritable interior designed African showpiece with all modern mod cons down to the Nespresso machine.. But mainly it is filled with African treasures but doesn't feel crowded, just lived-in. Breakfast served on the was divine. Carol, the manageress, was outstanding and so friendly. A fantastic stay!

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were passing by Windhoek to start a self drive holiday through Namibia and after safari in Botswana and were amazed by this place. We even wanted to stay an extra night but couldn't because of our travel arrangements.

We were supposed to stay in their sister B&B the Olive Grove but on arrival we discovered that we were upgraded to their boutique hotel just around the corner. When we entered the Olive Exclusive we were delighted. The hotel is beautifully decorated, amazing photos wall size of local places and people, every piece in the hotel is well placed and extremely tasteful. The hotel is luxurious and modern but yet very organic. It is the right place for a break to pamper yourself or how it was our case to break our safaris, early drives etc.

We were given one of the suites, the Erosha I think, and the room was wonderful. It was very spacious, beautiful, plunge pool, terrace, lounge, laptop, you mentioned it and they had it, yes your own nespresso machine too. Carol, the manager, had left a note welcoming us with chocolates and champagne, a very nice touch. It was truly refreshing and enjoyable. That night we met Carol's partner Mike who is the other manager and he was as helpful and friendly as Carol.

Breakfast the following morning was delish and again very well presented!

All in all we can't wait to go back and will recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for one of their suites but I'm sure any room is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmoraleslourido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.2 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 95 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Exclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Exclusive

Property: The Olive Exclusive
Address: 22 Promenaden Road | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Olive Exclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel in a tranquil corner of Windhoek embodies the very essence of chic comfort.The Olive Exclusive – the first ultra-luxurious sanctuary of its kind in the Namibian capital – is cool, contemporary and stylish but with a warm heart and authentic African soul. Its sleek, modern lines are complemented by organic textures, natural furnishings, an eco-friendly approach and dedicated personal service.Simple elegance is key, from the organic rough-hewn wooden benches and side tables, through the sculpted chunk of granite that serves as a coffee table in the guest lounge, to walls clad in abstract Namibian landscapes by well-known South African photographer Micky Hoyle.The seven suites are individually decorated so each reflects a different region in Namibia, and each has its own lounge area with fireplace and dining room, for private dining. Wide glass doors open onto spacious decks where you can relax on a shady daybed, enjoy al fresco lunches or, if yours is a premium suite, take a dip in your own private plunge pool.Such are the creature comforts that you may find it hard to leave: sink into an extra-length bed dressed in crisp, pure-cotton linen, or indulge in a bubble bath in a freestanding tub with sweeping mountain views. Air-conditioning, satellite TV and iPod docking stations are standard, as is a computer with WiFi access. Then there's a fully stocked mini bar, complete with a premium wine selection, so you can toast the setting sun in fine style.The Olive Exclusive boasts a quality restaurant featuring a seasonal menu, with inventive signature dishes. The fully stocked bar also features a classic selection of fine whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Olive Exclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing