We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Olive Exclusive
Ranked #6 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

After a 2 week safari which was wonderful but dusty it was like an oasis of calm to check into the Olive Exclusive for the final night of my holiday. From the initial welcome to the final goodbye the stay was perfect. My suite was enormous, very comfortable and nicely private and it was great to be able to relax on the balcony and not feel looked in on at all. The restaurant was excellent, and good value too, with my only tiny disappointment being that the chef wasn't able to share the recipe with me for one of the dishes which was just amazing - I've been trying to recreate it ever since tho!
The staff were, without exception, charming and welcoming.
If you want to be spoilt rotten and have a fantastic time this is definitely THE place to stay in Windhoek.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    48
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
123
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This hotel is so impressive. Love the all experience.
My suite was just incredible, every details has been well thought! It's pure african indulgence! The rooms are full of amazing treasures and ideas.
I got the chance to visit most of the suites and they are all so beautiful.
The dinner I had at the restaurant was superb, again, much attention to flavous and details.
Service was very good and discret.
The best spot in Windhoek to start or finish a Namibia holiday!
Don't miss it!
Well done to the team!

Room Tip: the Premier Suite with the pools are great, but all rooms have their uniqueness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

I have visited The Olive Exclusive three times and it just gets better. I have been in three different suites and each has been unique. As a business traveller it is very relaxing and energizing to come back after a long day to the tranquility, friendliness and comfort of The Olive.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent the last night of our honeymoon in Windhoek which also happened to be new year's eve. We had a lovely dinner that also tasted AMAZING and fresh and the service including hanging out with the chef a bit was delightful. The atmosphere was intimate and laid back but very high quality all around.

The room itself was quite spectacular as well. The bedding was exceedingly comfortable, the amenities complete and the bathroom was a site to be seen. The decor is very original and the little touches in the room made all the difference. I'd highly recommend this place as a top spot to stay in Windhoek and wouldn't ever look further if I were to return to the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jchavezfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Arrived here after camping in a tent for a week, what a wonderful surprise! The price had indicated that the suite should be impressive, but the suite exceeded my expectations, it had a calming elegance (if that is such a thing!). The service was brilliant - not overt, but very efficient and welcoming eg the turn down service at night - a hot water bottle was delivered to warm your bed for the cool African nights! I stayed here twice and had 2 different suites and although expensive (for me) it was worth it! The breakfast was delicious, especially the freshly baked miniature bread loaf. You can also have lunch and dinner here. I had dinner and this too was good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelcate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night and I would have liked to stay longer. The Olive exclusive is located a 5 minute drive from central Windhoeck, a drawback since I would not want to walk to town from here. But otherwise excellent after 35 hours on the road. Wonderful suites, with small kitchen and dining area, coffee machine, mini bar etc. one large room, divided into a sitting area and a bedroom. The sitting area was pleasant and reasonably comfortable , in a modern style with African flavor and touches. The bed was king size and comfortable with bedside tables and lighting and a computer provided at a desk in the corner. A place for suitcases but out of sight storage could be improved in the bedroom, although a large closet was steps away in the kitchen area. The room also opened to a very pleasant, shaded outdoor room with a table for evening cocktails. The bathroom was very large and inviting, double sinks, large walk in shower, light robes, separate bathtub and toilet. A lovely, inviting room which we enjoyed during our short stay
The main building is smallish but with a large outdoor deck, an exterior bar/ lounge area, a small reception area and an indoor dining room also for cooler weather. The service personnel were very good, very helpful and friendly. We sat outside on the deck in the rain, drinking some very nice wine enjoying the pleasant view for awhile as we relaxed from long plane rides. The two meals we had were excellent and imaginative. This was a warm, relaxing, very attractive place to start a trip to Namibia and I unhesitatingly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights at this fabulous boutique hotel October, 2012. Mike greeted us at the door and couldn't be more gracious. In fact, the entire staff were very accommodating and equally gracious.
The suites are over the top with every amenity a guest could possibly need. The finishes in the suites are unique, artistic
And brilliantly conceived. We had two excellent dinners with a fine international wine list, which of course, favored South Africa wines.
We thoroughly enjoyed our two night visit and can recommend this little gem to any one traveling to Windhoek seeking an
Absolutely first class charmer.
Alan M.
Vail, Co.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
4.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
231 reviews
4.6 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Exclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Exclusive

Property: The Olive Exclusive
Address: 22 Promenaden Road | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Olive Exclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel in a tranquil corner of Windhoek embodies the very essence of chic comfort.The Olive Exclusive – the first ultra-luxurious sanctuary of its kind in the Namibian capital – is cool, contemporary and stylish but with a warm heart and authentic African soul. Its sleek, modern lines are complemented by organic textures, natural furnishings, an eco-friendly approach and dedicated personal service.Simple elegance is key, from the organic rough-hewn wooden benches and side tables, through the sculpted chunk of granite that serves as a coffee table in the guest lounge, to walls clad in abstract Namibian landscapes by well-known South African photographer Micky Hoyle.The seven suites are individually decorated so each reflects a different region in Namibia, and each has its own lounge area with fireplace and dining room, for private dining. Wide glass doors open onto spacious decks where you can relax on a shady daybed, enjoy al fresco lunches or, if yours is a premium suite, take a dip in your own private plunge pool.Such are the creature comforts that you may find it hard to leave: sink into an extra-length bed dressed in crisp, pure-cotton linen, or indulge in a bubble bath in a freestanding tub with sweeping mountain views. Air-conditioning, satellite TV and iPod docking stations are standard, as is a computer with WiFi access. Then there's a fully stocked mini bar, complete with a premium wine selection, so you can toast the setting sun in fine style.The Olive Exclusive boasts a quality restaurant featuring a seasonal menu, with inventive signature dishes. The fully stocked bar also features a classic selection of fine whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Olive Exclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing