We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine hospitality in windhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Olive Exclusive
Ranked #6 of 102 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

olive exclusive is a lovely property with a very hospitable staff. our accommodation was a huge villa very comfortable and nicely appointed. food is excellent (somewhat limited choice) and the wine list is fine - also limited. we would highly recommend olive exclusive. it's a great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mb300sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at The Olive Exclusive in Windhoek. It was SUCH a nice experience.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, stylish and luxurious. The restaurant was outstanding with an extensive wine list. Breakfasts were so yummy and beyond plentiful. They come with a tower of food (scones, salmon, cheeses, meats, bread, jam, etc.) and that's BEFORE you get to the hot food! OMG....I almost keeled over!

Mike and the entire staff (I wish I remembered everyone's name) did an outstanding job as our hosts. They made sure everything was just right...and it was. They even organized, on very short notice, an afternoon tour of Windhoek.

Really, it was just a perfect experience. Kudos!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalbertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in the Benguela suite. The suite is luxuriously and stylish furnished with amazing print art work, a free standing bath and subtle lighting making our one night stay relaxing. The room was quiet and we were undisturbed by anything or anyone during our stay so we totally relaxed on our last night in Namibia before catching the plane home.

My only criticism of the room, and it is a big one, is that it was dirty. The bath, bathroom basin and shelves were dirty- my husband cleaned the bath before I used it and no one had bothered to remove the candle wax that had dropped all over the bathroom shelves and had clearly been there for a while. The free standing mirror was dusty and had old water mark stains on it and the bin and toilet brush in the toilet were rusty and need replacing. There were crumbs on the table in the lounge area underneath the book and my feet were black from walking on the floor- NOT a 5 star experience!

What made up for the obvious housekeeping issues was the food. Whilst service at dinner was a bit hesitant the food was fabulous. We had cauliflower soup to start which was creamy and rich and piping hot. We chose lamb in filo for main and it was the best lamb I had tasted whilst in Namibia/South Africa- succulent, rich and tasty. The wine menu was extensive and the whole evening was relaxing and enjoyable. Again, breakfast was a feast sensation. Served as afternoon tea would be, breakfast was presented in tiers on a cake stand with scrumptious pastries, cheese and meat and fresh fruit. There was a good choice of hot breakfast and was presented innovatively. We both felt absolutely stuffed after breakfast- the sign of a really good meal!

I attempted to book a few treatments at the very reasonably priced spa however the lady at reception said she was not able to get in touch with the spa but that she would call me back when she had to let me know when I could have my treatments. Suffice to say I didn’t receive any call back. Clearly the spa has a skeleton staff on a Sunday…..

In respect of hospitality, the manager came and had a chat with us at dinner and was very friendly. The woman on reception at checkout seemed a little fazed by the whole checkout experience and paying with a credit card seemed to throw her and she was unsure what to do or which copy of the receipt I should sign and keep. She didn’t ask whether we had a good stay and didn’t wish us a safe onward journey- we left feeling a bit deflated. Its little things like this that really make the difference and if not corrected are ultimately the things that will undo the good reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerWindhoek, Owner at The Olive Exclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Olive Exclusive. Your wonderful comments about the food in particular are very motivational, and have been passed on to the kitchen team.

Also, that you highlighted shortcomings in our housekeeping is very helpful to us. We can offer no excuse for why we let our own extremely high standards slip on this occasion, and apologize unreservedly that your suite was in the state you found it.

We have always prided ourselves on the care we take to ensure that each suite is in optimum condition to receive each guest – in fact, management is required to inspect each suite before deeming it fit to be opened to an incoming guest. Your review is a timely reminder to never be complacent or to ever deviate from our stringent quality checks, and we have redoubled our efforts and commitment in this regard.

It is therefore especially unfortunate that the inexperience of our receptionist impacted on your overall experience, and although she is now fully au fait and confident in her duties, we will ensure that new staff are properly comfortable in their roles before being left to go “solo”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The owners of Erongo Wilderness lodge have done it again. The Olive Exclusive is exceptional!. The suites are so good you don't want leave, each with a pool, comfy sitting room, laptop, two TVs, Nespresso machine, aircon and a wine selection of note. Each suite has its own theme, beautifully decorated, stylish and comfy. Be sure to try the burgers for lunch!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My fiancee and I had the absolute pleasure of spending a night at Olive Exclusive in Windhoek recently before embarking on a self-drive for 10 days through Namibia. We were blown away by the place. The rooms each have their own themes and we took photos of every nook and cranny of our room as the decor and attention to detail is a delight to behold. We asked to see some of the other themed rooms that range from 'Etosha' to "Caprivi' and each one was superb! The meals and the wine list are also of the highest calibre and we actually asked the manager to call the chef so we could congratulate her in person. The staff were also very friendly and nothing was too much effort. We have been privileged to travel extensively and stayed at some magical places so I can highly recommend Olive Exclusive. If you are starting a trip around namibia or ending it, make sure you spend one night here on your trip, you wont regret it!

Room Tip: They are all wonderful! We loved the Erongo room best though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Ditto everything said by other travelers. I arrived late evening, was met personally and escorted to my room. Upon entering, I was so amazed - larger and better appointed than my old condo! I slept so well. There is a safe 3.3mi loop run from the door; it is an easy walk to downtown; the green "bio" farmers market is up the street on Saturdays. Food is fabulous. What a lovely, quiet place to be and nice for working "at home". Can I live here?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Exquisitely decorated (materials, colors and art) comfortable large rooms. Breakfast is served outside under umbrellas with a lovely view of the city, dietary needs catered for with care. The in-house restaurant was of far better quality than the top restaurants we tried in the city - stay in and enjoy. I would return to Windhoek just to stay at this gem of a hotel again. Very restful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Januschka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,458 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
250 reviews
1.2 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
3.4 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#13 of 17 in Windhoek
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Exclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Exclusive

Address: 22 Promenaden Road | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: £281 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olive Exclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel in a tranquil corner of Windhoek embodies the very essence of chic comfort.The Olive Exclusive – the first ultra-luxurious sanctuary of its kind in the Namibian capital – is cool, contemporary and stylish but with a warm heart and authentic African soul. Its sleek, modern lines are complemented by organic textures, natural furnishings, an eco-friendly approach and dedicated personal service.Simple elegance is key, from the organic rough-hewn wooden benches and side tables, through the sculpted chunk of granite that serves as a coffee table in the guest lounge, to walls clad in abstract Namibian landscapes by well-known South African photographer Micky Hoyle.The seven suites are individually decorated so each reflects a different region in Namibia, and each has its own lounge area with fireplace and dining room, for private dining. Wide glass doors open onto spacious decks where you can relax on a shady daybed, enjoy al fresco lunches or, if yours is a premium suite, take a dip in your own private plunge pool.Such are the creature comforts that you may find it hard to leave: sink into an extra-length bed dressed in crisp, pure-cotton linen, or indulge in a bubble bath in a freestanding tub with sweeping mountain views. Air-conditioning, satellite TV and iPod docking stations are standard, as is a computer with WiFi access. Then there's a fully stocked mini bar, complete with a premium wine selection, so you can toast the setting sun in fine style.The Olive Exclusive boasts a quality restaurant featuring a seasonal menu, with inventive signature dishes. The fully stocked bar also features a classic selection of fine whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Olive Exclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing