We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want your interior designer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Olive Exclusive
Ranked #6 of 95 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I want your interior designer!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We arrived here after a 6 hour dusty drive from the desert in our 4x4 pickup - couple, 2 kids and grandma.

What an oasis of 5 star indulgence!

It was the perfect place to stay for our last night in Namibia, I just wish we could have stayed longer. Kenneth & his team provided everything we needed.

I just wish we could have brought back everything to re-decorate our home - the rooms are beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acid_slug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    43
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
114
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nara, Japan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Windhoek looks to be a pretty scrappy town, albeit with one glassy Hilton at its center, so to come upon this exquisitely tasteful and quiet hotel in the suburbs not far away was a near-miracle.

The place, opened only in 2011, is exceptionally elegant, full of lovely flourishes--from the lighting in the bathroom to the laptop in every room to the sunlit terraces to the plunge pools--and though the service is not quite of a piece with the amenities, the place is amazingly comfortable and refreshing.

The restaurant is wonderful--an oasis of calm and high style--and the breakfast remains unforgettable, in its thoughtfulness and precision.

This is a boutique hotel that deserves the name, and that has surely transformed the hotel scene in Windhoek. It's the kind of high-quality, chic and comfy place you expect to find in Santa Monica or Cannes--and here it is, five minutes from a somewhat bedraggled downtown.

Given that the prices here seem unexpectedly reasonable, it's a can't-miss for the discerning traveler who doesn't mind paying a little extra for a stay to remember.

Room Tip: Though the suites in the garden are the most sumptuous, even the less expensive ones in the driveway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spriyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

olive exclusive is a lovely property with a very hospitable staff. our accommodation was a huge villa very comfortable and nicely appointed. food is excellent (somewhat limited choice) and the wine list is fine - also limited. we would highly recommend olive exclusive. it's a great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mb300sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at The Olive Exclusive in Windhoek. It was SUCH a nice experience.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, stylish and luxurious. The restaurant was outstanding with an extensive wine list. Breakfasts were so yummy and beyond plentiful. They come with a tower of food (scones, salmon, cheeses, meats, bread, jam, etc.) and that's BEFORE you get to the hot food! OMG....I almost keeled over!

Mike and the entire staff (I wish I remembered everyone's name) did an outstanding job as our hosts. They made sure everything was just right...and it was. They even organized, on very short notice, an afternoon tour of Windhoek.

Really, it was just a perfect experience. Kudos!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalbertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in the Benguela suite. The suite is luxuriously and stylish furnished with amazing print art work, a free standing bath and subtle lighting making our one night stay relaxing. The room was quiet and we were undisturbed by anything or anyone during our stay so we totally relaxed on our last night in Namibia before catching the plane home.

My only criticism of the room, and it is a big one, is that it was dirty. The bath, bathroom basin and shelves were dirty- my husband cleaned the bath before I used it and no one had bothered to remove the candle wax that had dropped all over the bathroom shelves and had clearly been there for a while. The free standing mirror was dusty and had old water mark stains on it and the bin and toilet brush in the toilet were rusty and need replacing. There were crumbs on the table in the lounge area underneath the book and my feet were black from walking on the floor- NOT a 5 star experience!

What made up for the obvious housekeeping issues was the food. Whilst service at dinner was a bit hesitant the food was fabulous. We had cauliflower soup to start which was creamy and rich and piping hot. We chose lamb in filo for main and it was the best lamb I had tasted whilst in Namibia/South Africa- succulent, rich and tasty. The wine menu was extensive and the whole evening was relaxing and enjoyable. Again, breakfast was a feast sensation. Served as afternoon tea would be, breakfast was presented in tiers on a cake stand with scrumptious pastries, cheese and meat and fresh fruit. There was a good choice of hot breakfast and was presented innovatively. We both felt absolutely stuffed after breakfast- the sign of a really good meal!

I attempted to book a few treatments at the very reasonably priced spa however the lady at reception said she was not able to get in touch with the spa but that she would call me back when she had to let me know when I could have my treatments. Suffice to say I didn’t receive any call back. Clearly the spa has a skeleton staff on a Sunday…..

In respect of hospitality, the manager came and had a chat with us at dinner and was very friendly. The woman on reception at checkout seemed a little fazed by the whole checkout experience and paying with a credit card seemed to throw her and she was unsure what to do or which copy of the receipt I should sign and keep. She didn’t ask whether we had a good stay and didn’t wish us a safe onward journey- we left feeling a bit deflated. Its little things like this that really make the difference and if not corrected are ultimately the things that will undo the good reviews.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerWindhoek, Owner at The Olive Exclusive, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Olive Exclusive. Your wonderful comments about the food in particular are very motivational, and have been passed on to the kitchen team.

Also, that you highlighted shortcomings in our housekeeping is very helpful to us. We can offer no excuse for why we let our own extremely high standards slip on this occasion, and apologize unreservedly that your suite was in the state you found it.

We have always prided ourselves on the care we take to ensure that each suite is in optimum condition to receive each guest – in fact, management is required to inspect each suite before deeming it fit to be opened to an incoming guest. Your review is a timely reminder to never be complacent or to ever deviate from our stringent quality checks, and we have redoubled our efforts and commitment in this regard.

It is therefore especially unfortunate that the inexperience of our receptionist impacted on your overall experience, and although she is now fully au fait and confident in her duties, we will ensure that new staff are properly comfortable in their roles before being left to go “solo”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The owners of Erongo Wilderness lodge have done it again. The Olive Exclusive is exceptional!. The suites are so good you don't want leave, each with a pool, comfy sitting room, laptop, two TVs, Nespresso machine, aircon and a wine selection of note. Each suite has its own theme, beautifully decorated, stylish and comfy. Be sure to try the burgers for lunch!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My fiancee and I had the absolute pleasure of spending a night at Olive Exclusive in Windhoek recently before embarking on a self-drive for 10 days through Namibia. We were blown away by the place. The rooms each have their own themes and we took photos of every nook and cranny of our room as the decor and attention to detail is a delight to behold. We asked to see some of the other themed rooms that range from 'Etosha' to "Caprivi' and each one was superb! The meals and the wine list are also of the highest calibre and we actually asked the manager to call the chef so we could congratulate her in person. The staff were also very friendly and nothing was too much effort. We have been privileged to travel extensively and stayed at some magical places so I can highly recommend Olive Exclusive. If you are starting a trip around namibia or ending it, make sure you spend one night here on your trip, you wont regret it!

Room Tip: They are all wonderful! We loved the Erongo room best though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
210 reviews
1.2 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 95 in Windhoek
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Exclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Exclusive

Property: The Olive Exclusive
Address: 22 Promenaden Road | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olive Exclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel in a tranquil corner of Windhoek embodies the very essence of chic comfort.The Olive Exclusive – the first ultra-luxurious sanctuary of its kind in the Namibian capital – is cool, contemporary and stylish but with a warm heart and authentic African soul. Its sleek, modern lines are complemented by organic textures, natural furnishings, an eco-friendly approach and dedicated personal service.Simple elegance is key, from the organic rough-hewn wooden benches and side tables, through the sculpted chunk of granite that serves as a coffee table in the guest lounge, to walls clad in abstract Namibian landscapes by well-known South African photographer Micky Hoyle.The seven suites are individually decorated so each reflects a different region in Namibia, and each has its own lounge area with fireplace and dining room, for private dining. Wide glass doors open onto spacious decks where you can relax on a shady daybed, enjoy al fresco lunches or, if yours is a premium suite, take a dip in your own private plunge pool.Such are the creature comforts that you may find it hard to leave: sink into an extra-length bed dressed in crisp, pure-cotton linen, or indulge in a bubble bath in a freestanding tub with sweeping mountain views. Air-conditioning, satellite TV and iPod docking stations are standard, as is a computer with WiFi access. Then there's a fully stocked mini bar, complete with a premium wine selection, so you can toast the setting sun in fine style.The Olive Exclusive boasts a quality restaurant featuring a seasonal menu, with inventive signature dishes. The fully stocked bar also features a classic selection of fine whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Olive Exclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing