We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Perfection In Windhoek” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olive Exclusive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Olive Exclusive
Ranked #4 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection In Windhoek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Our time at The Olive Exclusive was absolute perfection. All I can say is, if you are considering staying, just book it in! You will be so happy that you did.

We stayed in Suite 1 - and I'm struggling to find words to express just how beautiful it was - from the furnishings to all the little touches around the room.

There's... Super fast free wifi. Towels for our private plunge pool with sunscreen. Perfectly clean. Ohh, and THE most comfy bed I've slept in for a long time! You can just tell a lot of love and thought has gone into the place.

A few other things...
MINI BAR: In room drinks were priced to match normal bar prices (ie. they don't try and rip you off like every other hotel do).

BREAKFAST: The breakfast is including in the price. A cool platter and then you have a choice for what type of hot breakfast they bring you. All delicious.

SECURITY: Being new to Windhoek we also appreciated feeling completely safe. The hotel is in an upper class neighbourhood and it had full security in place.

I wish we were staying there again tonight!

Room Tip: Premier Suite 1 'Etosha' is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    40
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
22
112
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We arrived here after a 6 hour dusty drive from the desert in our 4x4 pickup - couple, 2 kids and grandma.

What an oasis of 5 star indulgence!

It was the perfect place to stay for our last night in Namibia, I just wish we could have stayed longer. Kenneth & his team provided everything we needed.

I just wish we could have brought back everything to re-decorate our home - the rooms are beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acid_slug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nara, Japan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Windhoek looks to be a pretty scrappy town, albeit with one glassy Hilton at its center, so to come upon this exquisitely tasteful and quiet hotel in the suburbs not far away was a near-miracle.

The place, opened only in 2011, is exceptionally elegant, full of lovely flourishes--from the lighting in the bathroom to the laptop in every room to the sunlit terraces to the plunge pools--and though the service is not quite of a piece with the amenities, the place is amazingly comfortable and refreshing.

The restaurant is wonderful--an oasis of calm and high style--and the breakfast remains unforgettable, in its thoughtfulness and precision.

This is a boutique hotel that deserves the name, and that has surely transformed the hotel scene in Windhoek. It's the kind of high-quality, chic and comfy place you expect to find in Santa Monica or Cannes--and here it is, five minutes from a somewhat bedraggled downtown.

Given that the prices here seem unexpectedly reasonable, it's a can't-miss for the discerning traveler who doesn't mind paying a little extra for a stay to remember.

Room Tip: Though the suites in the garden are the most sumptuous, even the less expensive ones in the driveway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spriyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

olive exclusive is a lovely property with a very hospitable staff. our accommodation was a huge villa very comfortable and nicely appointed. food is excellent (somewhat limited choice) and the wine list is fine - also limited. we would highly recommend olive exclusive. it's a great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mb300sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at The Olive Exclusive in Windhoek. It was SUCH a nice experience.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, stylish and luxurious. The restaurant was outstanding with an extensive wine list. Breakfasts were so yummy and beyond plentiful. They come with a tower of food (scones, salmon, cheeses, meats, bread, jam, etc.) and that's BEFORE you get to the hot food! OMG....I almost keeled over!

Mike and the entire staff (I wish I remembered everyone's name) did an outstanding job as our hosts. They made sure everything was just right...and it was. They even organized, on very short notice, an afternoon tour of Windhoek.

Really, it was just a perfect experience. Kudos!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalbertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in the Benguela suite. The suite is luxuriously and stylish furnished with amazing print art work, a free standing bath and subtle lighting making our one night stay relaxing. The room was quiet and we were undisturbed by anything or anyone during our stay so we totally relaxed on our last night in Namibia before catching the plane home.

My only criticism of the room, and it is a big one, is that it was dirty. The bath, bathroom basin and shelves were dirty- my husband cleaned the bath before I used it and no one had bothered to remove the candle wax that had dropped all over the bathroom shelves and had clearly been there for a while. The free standing mirror was dusty and had old water mark stains on it and the bin and toilet brush in the toilet were rusty and need replacing. There were crumbs on the table in the lounge area underneath the book and my feet were black from walking on the floor- NOT a 5 star experience!

What made up for the obvious housekeeping issues was the food. Whilst service at dinner was a bit hesitant the food was fabulous. We had cauliflower soup to start which was creamy and rich and piping hot. We chose lamb in filo for main and it was the best lamb I had tasted whilst in Namibia/South Africa- succulent, rich and tasty. The wine menu was extensive and the whole evening was relaxing and enjoyable. Again, breakfast was a feast sensation. Served as afternoon tea would be, breakfast was presented in tiers on a cake stand with scrumptious pastries, cheese and meat and fresh fruit. There was a good choice of hot breakfast and was presented innovatively. We both felt absolutely stuffed after breakfast- the sign of a really good meal!

I attempted to book a few treatments at the very reasonably priced spa however the lady at reception said she was not able to get in touch with the spa but that she would call me back when she had to let me know when I could have my treatments. Suffice to say I didn’t receive any call back. Clearly the spa has a skeleton staff on a Sunday…..

In respect of hospitality, the manager came and had a chat with us at dinner and was very friendly. The woman on reception at checkout seemed a little fazed by the whole checkout experience and paying with a credit card seemed to throw her and she was unsure what to do or which copy of the receipt I should sign and keep. She didn’t ask whether we had a good stay and didn’t wish us a safe onward journey- we left feeling a bit deflated. Its little things like this that really make the difference and if not corrected are ultimately the things that will undo the good reviews.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerWindhoek, Owner at The Olive Exclusive, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Olive Exclusive. Your wonderful comments about the food in particular are very motivational, and have been passed on to the kitchen team.

Also, that you highlighted shortcomings in our housekeeping is very helpful to us. We can offer no excuse for why we let our own extremely high standards slip on this occasion, and apologize unreservedly that your suite was in the state you found it.

We have always prided ourselves on the care we take to ensure that each suite is in optimum condition to receive each guest – in fact, management is required to inspect each suite before deeming it fit to be opened to an incoming guest. Your review is a timely reminder to never be complacent or to ever deviate from our stringent quality checks, and we have redoubled our efforts and commitment in this regard.

It is therefore especially unfortunate that the inexperience of our receptionist impacted on your overall experience, and although she is now fully au fait and confident in her duties, we will ensure that new staff are properly comfortable in their roles before being left to go “solo”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The owners of Erongo Wilderness lodge have done it again. The Olive Exclusive is exceptional!. The suites are so good you don't want leave, each with a pool, comfy sitting room, laptop, two TVs, Nespresso machine, aircon and a wine selection of note. Each suite has its own theme, beautifully decorated, stylish and comfy. Be sure to try the burgers for lunch!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.2 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Exclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Exclusive

Property: The Olive Exclusive
Address: 22 Promenaden Road | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olive Exclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel in a tranquil corner of Windhoek embodies the very essence of chic comfort.The Olive Exclusive – the first ultra-luxurious sanctuary of its kind in the Namibian capital – is cool, contemporary and stylish but with a warm heart and authentic African soul. Its sleek, modern lines are complemented by organic textures, natural furnishings, an eco-friendly approach and dedicated personal service.Simple elegance is key, from the organic rough-hewn wooden benches and side tables, through the sculpted chunk of granite that serves as a coffee table in the guest lounge, to walls clad in abstract Namibian landscapes by well-known South African photographer Micky Hoyle.The seven suites are individually decorated so each reflects a different region in Namibia, and each has its own lounge area with fireplace and dining room, for private dining. Wide glass doors open onto spacious decks where you can relax on a shady daybed, enjoy al fresco lunches or, if yours is a premium suite, take a dip in your own private plunge pool.Such are the creature comforts that you may find it hard to leave: sink into an extra-length bed dressed in crisp, pure-cotton linen, or indulge in a bubble bath in a freestanding tub with sweeping mountain views. Air-conditioning, satellite TV and iPod docking stations are standard, as is a computer with WiFi access. Then there's a fully stocked mini bar, complete with a premium wine selection, so you can toast the setting sun in fine style.The Olive Exclusive boasts a quality restaurant featuring a seasonal menu, with inventive signature dishes. The fully stocked bar also features a classic selection of fine whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Olive Exclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing