We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay in Windhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Olive Exclusive
Ranked #5 of 95 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Windhoek”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Spectacular, spacious rooms. The rooms are spotlessly clean, stylish and luxurious. Excellent decoration from the furnishings to all the little touches around the room with comfortable, huge bed and nice private patio. Free wi-fi and laptop in rooms.
Food both dinner and breakfast were excellent. Stunning views from the terrace. From check in till check out Olive exclusive give you a home feeling stay.
It’s within walking distance to downtown, though taxi ride is recommended. The perfect place to stay in Windhoek.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amore64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    43
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
115
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a superb modern facility in Windhoek. It is set in large olive groves with communal and private pools in some of the suite. It is in a quite area of Windhoek but close to the city centre and Klein Windhoek for restaurants. The hotel restaurant is of a high standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budgie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver island
Level Contributor
207 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Olive exclusive is in a wonderful location just a short taxi ride to Windhoek’s historic center. While there is not much to see in Windhoek —one day is plenty—there are a few good craft stores and the new museum is definitely worth a visit.

In addition, Joe’s Beerhouse is just a 5 minute walk from the Olive. While the food isn’t very good and the drinks aren’t much better, it is worth a visit for the ambience, the locals, and just the overall experience.

The Olive, has its own excellent restaurant and we had breakfast there two mornings and supper once—-both were truly excellent with fantastic service and great coffee. Our supper at Stellenbosch restaurant our first night was just OK, but our dinner at the Olive our second night was delicious. The rooms are large, quiet and comfortable with big beds, choice of pillows, great shower, separate soaking tub, double sinks, and TV with a number of decent channels. The central, common area is beautifully and uniquely designed

The folks who run the property are truly lovely and are incredibly helpful in every way possible.

We stayed one night at Galton House and 2 nights at the Olive Exclusive as we had to fly in and out of Windhoek 3 times to get to each of our safari camps so we decided to give each a try. While both are very nice and each is comfortable, Olive Exclusive is clearly the more upscale property. Galton is lovely, clean, with good meals—-it’s just a bit more basic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just a couple of small things, the toilet door does not fit the frame, there is a gap top and bottom, just something I do not like.....Dog wondering round at breakfast

The staff here did not appear to be as friendly as at Olive Grove, neither at reception when we booked in or in the morning when we went for breakfast, there were two ladies behind reception nothing was said until I said good morning they answered.

Breakfast it was very quiet here we ordered breakfast and 20 minutes later it still had not arrived, when we ordered the other two people had theirs so they only had to cook ours, an omelette and two poached eggs both with the trimmings, and I had said we had to get to the airport.

Positives. Room spectacular, spacious, excellent decoration, comfy massive bed, nice private patio. Food both dinner and breakfast were excellent, some of the best food we have had in Namibia.

Room Tip: Just check toilet door fits the frame!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamY_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We only spent one night here on our last night in Namibia. Our dusty, muddy 4x4 looked very out of place! Everything from check-in to check-out was handled smoothly and with a personal touch. The room (Namib Suite) was stunning - Nespresso maker, candlesticks around the bath, TV on a swivel, huge comfortable bed. The food was equally good, with an excellent choice of wines. Breakfast was equally amazing. Highly recommended - stay here at the end of your trip because you won't find anything to equal it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

From check in til check out Olive exclusive give you a homefeeling stay. Everything is perfect, only one thing: The windowcurtains are in a bad condition. Ropes are broken.But at all the rooms are big and clean

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miephansnetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Okay, the pool could be a bit bigger but the rooms, service, excellent food, wine and gorgeous views make up for it. It's in a great and quiet location. I spent a total of three nights here on my way in and out of the country. Wish it could be longer. Would like to come back for vacation. Would be nice to have a fitness center but walking the surrounding hills was activity enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.2 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 95 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Exclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Exclusive

Property: The Olive Exclusive
Address: 22 Promenaden Road | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Olive Exclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel in a tranquil corner of Windhoek embodies the very essence of chic comfort.The Olive Exclusive – the first ultra-luxurious sanctuary of its kind in the Namibian capital – is cool, contemporary and stylish but with a warm heart and authentic African soul. Its sleek, modern lines are complemented by organic textures, natural furnishings, an eco-friendly approach and dedicated personal service.Simple elegance is key, from the organic rough-hewn wooden benches and side tables, through the sculpted chunk of granite that serves as a coffee table in the guest lounge, to walls clad in abstract Namibian landscapes by well-known South African photographer Micky Hoyle.The seven suites are individually decorated so each reflects a different region in Namibia, and each has its own lounge area with fireplace and dining room, for private dining. Wide glass doors open onto spacious decks where you can relax on a shady daybed, enjoy al fresco lunches or, if yours is a premium suite, take a dip in your own private plunge pool.Such are the creature comforts that you may find it hard to leave: sink into an extra-length bed dressed in crisp, pure-cotton linen, or indulge in a bubble bath in a freestanding tub with sweeping mountain views. Air-conditioning, satellite TV and iPod docking stations are standard, as is a computer with WiFi access. Then there's a fully stocked mini bar, complete with a premium wine selection, so you can toast the setting sun in fine style.The Olive Exclusive boasts a quality restaurant featuring a seasonal menu, with inventive signature dishes. The fully stocked bar also features a classic selection of fine whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Olive Exclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing