We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True oasis of hospitality and tranquility”
Review of Villa Violet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Violet
Ranked #8 of 95 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Slovenia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“True oasis of hospitality and tranquility”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Villa Violet is small, 5 units / rooms b&b in the suburb of Windhoek, walking distance to famous Joe's Beerhouse. Yet more important is that is owned by very friendly hosts, Heidi and Ben. They do all to make their guests to feel comfortable, safe, welcomed. Room #5 was immaculately clean, modern but warm at the same time. Garden is small and green and citrus trees were full of fruits. The pool itself is small, more adequate for a dip or to cool down your feet inside. Coffee is offered throughout the day, and breakfast was excellent with added bonus of home made jams. We stayed on both ends of our visit to Namibia, and will come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-at-VV, Owner at Villa Violet, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Xelas,
Thank you for your positive review, Heidi will be glad that you enjoyed her Home made products.
We hope to see you again at the b&b for another Adventure here in Namibia.
Regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    71
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
131
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Villa Violet was our start and end point for our 2 week trip to Namibia. The B&B is refreshingly minimalist but has everything one needs and is clean and comfortable. Teas and coffee are available all day and all night in the central breakfast area. The rooms are set around the courtyard and all face outwards. The location is convenient to restaurants and tourist sites in Windhoek. We stayed one night at the beginning of our trip and 2 nights at the end. Breakfasts are very good although the packed breakfast for our early start back to Jo'burg on the last morning was comparatively disappointing. Heidi and Ben are helpful about local restaurants and tourist sites.

Room Tip: All rooms face onto the courtyard and are similar in size and décor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-at-VV, Owner at Villa Violet, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mickie,
Thank you for sharing your experience on the trip advisor page, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the beginning and at the end of your Namibian Adventure. i would like to apologize about the breakfast pack that we prepared and didn't meet your expectation. Be sure that we are evolving the service and the breakfast pack will evolve as well.
Hope to see you again
Best regrads
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lovely little guest house which we used as the start and finish base for our Namibian adventure. Really close to Joes so handy for some good grub. Ben & Heidi were super attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. Heidi's breakfast goodies included homemade jams and breads all set in a pleasant environment which was fantastic after 2 weeks in the bush ..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-at-VV, Owner at Villa Violet, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Jason,
Thank you for the review on the Trip Advisor page. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the different facilities here at the b&b. Hope to see you soon.
Regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of our trip before our flight back to Cape Town. It was set in a peaceful residential part of town but within a 10 minute taxi ride of all the best restaurants of Windhoek. The owners Heidi and Ben could not be more welcoming. The guesthouse was clean and comfortable and exactly what was needed after several nights camping out in the desert.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-at-VV, Owner at Villa Violet, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tourist93,
Thank you for the positive review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and mostly the tour in Namibia. Hope to see you in future again.
Best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Following a warm welcome, our hosts Heidi and Ben took great care in ensuring that our 2 nights stay at Villa Violet was pleasant and to our full satisfaction. The property is located close to city center, is well maintained, decorated with taste and the rooms are spotless clean.
Following our month of travel in Namibia, this B&B was the perfect place to conclude our adventure, offering comfort in a most pleasant and peaceful environment.

Thank you Heidi and Ben.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be a perfect choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbosax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-at-VV, Owner at Villa Violet, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Jovette and Robert

Thank you for a lovely review and for being such easy guest and for brightening up our day for 2 days.
We are glad you are home safe and sound and that this will not be the last time that our paths cross eachother.
Send greetings to the family and a big hug from Namibia

Kind regards
Heidi and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
721 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at Villa Violet. The guesthouse is nice and well appointed. The rooms were very clean. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was also good. It is about 10 minutes drive from the centre. A good place in Windhoek.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-at-VV, Owner at Villa Violet, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear New_World_Travell...

Thank you for a great review and spending time at Villa Violet with the family.
We love having you here and enjoying guest who make time to travel with their kids and their families.
I hope you could take alot of good souviniers back home to the UK and maybe will come back one day to our beautiful country.

Warm regards
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We only stayed one night, after a very long flight from Canada via London and through Johannesburg, so we were exhausted. We found Villa Violet to be clean, attractive, safe and well managed. The night watchman met us and made us feel most welcome. The room's air conditioner was a bit noisy, which made sleeping difficult, so we turned it off. But, we had to turn it back on as it got too hot, being February. The room did not have a hairdryer in it, but the proprietor provided one when asked in the morning. Only a general soap dispenser was provided in the shower, but we had brought our own shampoo and conditioner. The dinner recommendation took us to Joe's Beer House, which was a fun experience, despite being tired. Breakfast was delicious and the owner very nice. We'd go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoOceanBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-at-VV, Owner at Villa Violet, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear TorontoOceanBaby

Thank you for your great review and for picking Villa Violet as your accomodation of choice.
We appologise for any inconvenience the airconditioner caused and thusfor you not having the best sleep. We will are busy changing alot in Villa Violet and one of the projects are getting new aircons in since they are over 10 years old.
We hope this will not keep you from coming back to Villa Violet and Namibia.

Kind regards
Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 95 in Windhoek
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
#2 of 95 in Windhoek
519 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#7 of 95 in Windhoek
368 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maison Ambre Guesthouse
Maison Ambre Guesthouse
#10 of 95 in Windhoek
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Violet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Violet

Property: Villa Violet
Address: 48 Ziegler Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Violet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the leafy suburb of Klein Windhoek, Villa Violet offers a sparkling new, fresh and modern accommodation option when visiting the city center. Five en-suite rooms front onto a grassy central area. Each room has an average of 20m² of size equipped with air-conditioner/heater, flat-screen TV and a safe. Wireless Internet, secure parking and a laundry service are also available to guests. The rooms open out onto a patio with tables and chairs, and a small turquoise-blue pool glistens invitingly at the bottom of the garden. The B&B is in close proximity to restaurants and shops, and a short drive away from the city center, making it not only an appealing place to stay but a convenient stop when entering or leaving the country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing