We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
170
81
17
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
81
17
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barjoe's beerhousehomemade breadstart pointcharming hostsoffered eggsrecommend restaurantscomfortable and clean accommodationour favorite place to staylovely oasissecure parkingbreakfast buffet was wonderfulsmall poolrental carfirst nightone nightarrange taxis
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017

This is a basic B&B with a nice garden. The evening we stayed the pool was covered. The whole property is just too small and thus communal for our tastes. It is quite run down and indeed our room (6) had a slightly damp smell. The location didn’t have much to offer either as you need to get a taxi to eat.
Doubly gutted to find out there is a Hilton in town which – even if average – would have given us access to wine, a hairdryer, conditioner, a decent bed and myriad other items that for us are the norms in accommodation.
The honesty bar was helpful but none of the drinks were chilled enough.
Terrible sleep as bed an ordinary width double and we both had a bit of a cold (maybe reason for being a bit grumpy). Woken – having finally got to sleep - by inconsiderate guests talking outside our room – the first time before 7 am. And again, and again.
Staff were fine but – other than the delightful gardener – not in any way exceptional. The hosts mentioned in previous reviews were not present which may be the reason.
Also read that it will have a renovation next year. Long overdue but may address some of our issues.
Others seem like it so maybe ignore me.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We loved our time here. We had a room that was close to the small pool. Just sitting in the sunshine and dipping our feet in was bliss. The staff and owner were hospitable and helpful. The house is on a quiet road but easy to reach by car from the airport - the roads are wide and easy to drive. There is a secure gate and it feels like a real oasis. The room was lovely - they are arranged around a garden area with room to sit outside. We spent a lovely afternoon recovering from our long night flight and then took a taxi to Joes Beerhouse. It isn't far and before arriving I had considered walking, but even if it isn't dark I think it woud be much easier to take the taxi option and often best if you are unfamiliar with an area. Our taxi driver picked us up at a pre arranged time and took us back to Villa Violet.
There was a small 'cornershop' nearby that you pass on the way from the airport which is useful for some bits and pieces - you can park right outside the shop.
There is coffee and water available during the day and the breakfast was good. we were able to get our flask filled with hot water before we left, and we witnessed the multi lingual host helping other clients with their mobile phone card. When you have arrived in a new country this type of helpfulness and hospitability is just what you need and will give you a great start to your holiday in Namibia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool ( splash pool) if you think you may like a dip.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gaildevonshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Stayed for one night before starting our trip to northern Namibia. A lovely homely place with friendly and helpful staff. Would like to thank the owner and staff for helping us with our rental car problems which of course w not beyond their usual service. We will be returning to Namibia to visit a school in Kamanjab and will definitely come back to Villa Violet. Thank you.

Room Tip: I predict all rooms are good as they face into the lovely courtyard.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tinkerbelle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Have been staying with Ben & Heidi several times a year since they opened. Always a great time and nice place to stay. 800m to Joe's Beerhouse!

Note - they will be closing 1 Jan 2018 to June/July 2018 for renovations and additions.

Can't wait to see it when they are finished.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJM33770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Very nice hotel in quiet Windhoek neighborhood. Shortly after arrival and the evening before our flight home, we realized that one of our passport's was missing. Janine and other staff were extremely helpful in assisting us to contact the embassy for a replacement, rebook airline flights, find hotel space (for the extra days we had to stay....Villa Violet was fully booked), etc. They were a great help in enabling us to deal with a stressful situation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews