We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay overnight - no real Dining”

The Olive Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 137 Restaurants in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Olive Exclusive boasts a quality restaurant featuring a seasonal menu with inventive signature dishes.Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner in either the relaxed interior, or on the outdoor terrace with wonderful views of the encircling mountains. The fully stocked bar also features a classic selection of fine whisky.Elegant, inspired, always delicious, never formal.
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice place If you are staying there overnight and want something to eat. Not a place to go for fine dining: because of the very small menu. It is actually more a Lodge with some food and definitely not a proper a la Carte restaurant. Service quite slow, but again as long as you stay there overnight, one might take this.
So: good points for being an overnight place with some fine food, but not so good points for claiming to be a Fine Dining Restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

as we were arriving on a late flight, I pre-ordered a meal. We arrived, checked in and then had a late meal. Lovely!! Well worth doing!

Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Lovely location with a lovely view. We visited as a treat for our wedding anniversary. The manager was very friendly and helpful with the booking. Thank you for that.

I asked if they sell alcohol free sparkling wine before we went there. The manager said that they have a really nice one, so I decided not to take my own. The waitress then said that they don't sell it.

The waitress did not seem to know the menu very well. She did not really have knowledge of any of the items on the menu.

The menu was different and more pricey than the lovely one they provide on the internet. (perhaps the on on the internet is for guesthouse clients only?)

The food was okay. A few very weird combinations. The starters were very small for the price you pay and nothing special. Mains were very tasty. My desert on the other hand tasted burned and my husband only took two bites of his.

I think it is a nice place to have a glass of wine with a view (although the wine is very expensive). It was a relaxing evening, but we definitely didn't feel we got what we paid for. We don't mind paying alot for a lovely meal, but this was a big disappointment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The food was absolutely delicious. While the menu is limited to a a dozen entrees and appetizers, the food is exceptional - for example a salad with greens, beets, carmelized nuts and cheese was exquisite. The great food is matched by a lovely setting with an outdoor area overlooking the hillside. We liked our meal so much we came back a second night. The dining room service staff was also friendly and helpful. The evening was only marred when we first arrived and a manager came out and without even a "hello" began with telling us we were at the wrong place, only to learn that we did indeed have reservations for dinner. Even worse, no apologies for this rather rude behavior were ever offered. If the dining room staff had not been so gracious, we would not have come back. The manager clearly needs to go back to hospitality 101 for re-training.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank bfvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W, General Manager at The Olive Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Your wonderfully positive comments about our food and our serving staff are really appreciated, and are a priceless source of motivation for our team.

The attitude of our duty manager that evening, however, is not only completely inexcusable, it is also utterly contrary to the ethos that all of us have set out to embody since opening our doors. The individual in question is no longer working at our hotel, and had in fact already resigned shortly before your visit. I mention this not as an excuse, of course, but as part of our guarantee that such behavior will not ever have a place at The Olive Exclusive.

Please accept our sincere apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A gorgeous sanctuary in the middle of a not very elegant town, this is the place for quiet conversation, lovely views over the hills and the lights and a gnocchi like none I have tasted before.

Thank spriyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Restaurant also viewed

 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to The Olive Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing