We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

The Olive Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 128 Restaurants in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Olive Exclusive boasts a quality restaurant featuring a seasonal menu with inventive signature dishes.Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner in either the relaxed interior, or on the outdoor terrace with wonderful views of the encircling mountains. The fully stocked bar also features a classic selection of fine whisky.Elegant, inspired, always delicious, never formal.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Food both dinner and breakfast were excellent, some of the best food we have had in Namibia.

Breakfast was an excellent choice and fruit, bread, cheese, meats etc came on a three tier stand, very impressive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PamY_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    40
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilching
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay overnight - no real Dining”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice place If you are staying there overnight and want something to eat. Not a place to go for fine dining: because of the very small menu. It is actually more a Lodge with some food and definitely not a proper a la Carte restaurant. Service quite slow, but again as long as you stay there overnight, one might take this.
So: good points for being an overnight place with some fine food, but not so good points for claiming to be a Fine Dining Restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quijano, spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“pre ordered meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

as we were arriving on a late flight, I pre-ordered a meal. We arrived, checked in and then had a late meal. Lovely!! Well worth doing!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what I expected :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Lovely location with a lovely view. We visited as a treat for our wedding anniversary. The manager was very friendly and helpful with the booking. Thank you for that.

I asked if they sell alcohol free sparkling wine before we went there. The manager said that they have a really nice one, so I decided not to take my own. The waitress then said that they don't sell it.

The waitress did not seem to know the menu very well. She did not really have knowledge of any of the items on the menu.

The menu was different and more pricey than the lovely one they provide on the internet. (perhaps the on on the internet is for guesthouse clients only?)

The food was okay. A few very weird combinations. The starters were very small for the price you pay and nothing special. Mains were very tasty. My desert on the other hand tasted burned and my husband only took two bites of his.

I think it is a nice place to have a glass of wine with a view (although the wine is very expensive). It was a relaxing evening, but we definitely didn't feel we got what we paid for. We don't mind paying alot for a lovely meal, but this was a big disappointment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Olive manager needs to learn manners.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

The food was absolutely delicious. While the menu is limited to a a dozen entrees and appetizers, the food is exceptional - for example a salad with greens, beets, carmelized nuts and cheese was exquisite. The great food is matched by a lovely setting with an outdoor area overlooking the hillside. We liked our meal so much we came back a second night. The dining room service staff was also friendly and helpful. The evening was only marred when we first arrived and a manager came out and without even a "hello" began with telling us we were at the wrong place, only to learn that we did indeed have reservations for dinner. Even worse, no apologies for this rather rude behavior were ever offered. If the dining room staff had not been so gracious, we would not have come back. The manager clearly needs to go back to hospitality 101 for re-training.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank bfvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W, General Manager at The Olive Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Your wonderfully positive comments about our food and our serving staff are really appreciated, and are a priceless source of motivation for our team.

The attitude of our duty manager that evening, however, is not only completely inexcusable, it is also utterly contrary to the ethos that all of us have set out to embody since opening our doors. The individual in question is no longer working at our hotel, and had in fact already resigned shortly before your visit. I mention this not as an excuse, of course, but as part of our guarantee that such behavior will not ever have a place at The Olive Exclusive.

Please accept our sincere apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Restaurant also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to The Olive Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing