We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner run boutique hotel in Windhoek - lovely find”
Review of Galton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galton House
Ranked #10 of 95 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Owner run boutique hotel in Windhoek - lovely find”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed as a single female traveller and was made most welcome on my 2 visits. The onsite chef is very talented and prepares supper for anyone who wishes to dine in, or taxis are readily arranged for popping into town. Beautiful rooms, pool a welcome addition for hot days, and fast internet. Great value for money - do try and enjoy it!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenniegSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    66
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
71
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
215 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Spent one night in this guesthouse during September 2013. I had room # 9, which is outside of main building. This room has two single beds and a cot, very basic but clean; same as the bathroom – basic and clean. Nevertheless, the room has a small safety box. The public area is spacious with modern deco and there is an out door pool. The free complementary tea and coffee was provided all day along. Continental breakfast was good and sufficient. Dinner was excellent. They had a good choice of wines. Staff was very warm and friendly.

Cons: This guesthouse is located in a quiet residential area, far way from the town center (about 10 minutes of driving) to go on foot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
174 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent 1 night here at the start of our Namibian adventure and 1 night at the end. From the moment we arrived Jimmy made sure we were well looked after. The guesthouse is very comfortable and modern and in a very quiet location. We had room 1 which was huge and situated beside the pool. Breakfast was great, plenty of options. The only drawback is the distance between the guesthouse and town/restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Room 1 - beside the pool with a double bed, 2 singles and a cot bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairmont123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Connecticut, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is a dream; it has beautiful, modern design and quiet comfort. I loved the layout and architectural spaces, and the minimal interior design. The interior showcases an appreciation for the rich landscape including marble, wood, cement, gravel, linen, baskets, blooming jasmine, and large photographs from the Namibian deserts.

I arrived at the airport after sunset from Capetown and got a taxi to drive me to Galton House.

Once I walked into the front door, I felt immediately welcome and relaxed.

Michael was very helpful, and the chef was excellent.

I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here July 2013 on the first night of our holiday. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and welcomed us immediately. There was complimentary tea and coffee and a spacious communal dining and lounge area. The room was spotless, ours overlooked a court yard. The bed was extremely comfortable -great after a long flight. We ate dinner at the hotel. The service was splendid and the food excellent. The wine was reasonably priced. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samanthak27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at Galton House and we liked it. A little charming Guesthouse with friendly staff, a small pool and secure parklot. It lies a bit outside of Windhoek in a upperclass neigbourhood. It takes a bit time to walk into Town center. The beds were a bit hard for me, but good for the others.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very charming B and B in lovely residential area of Windhoek close to Eros airport, which was convenient for our flight to sossusvlei.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
Contemporary rooms and common areas with lovely simple decor. The breakfast was very nice continental options with eggs made any style - we had a delicious Spanish style veggie omelet mmmmn
Frances and mikhael at the front desk were very helpful planning out our evening dinner options ( they offer dinner at the Band B, but we wanted a change of scene - besides Windhoek has fabulous dining options)They even pack sandwiches/ lunch if you need it. Joseph is very helpful and pretty much runs the place when no one else is around. Very friendly and caring staff.
Our only suggestion would be to have a desk or more counter space/storage in the bedroom ...it was a little tight. All in all a great option

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for queen bed when u reserve as otherwise u end up with 2 twin beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saapaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
207 reviews
2.6 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Olive Exclusive
The Olive Exclusive
#6 of 95 in Windhoek
210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 95 in Windhoek
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
#2 of 95 in Windhoek
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galton House

Property: Galton House
Address: 72 Amasonite Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galton House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galton House is Windhoek’s newest accommodation establishment. Named after the famous explorer Sir Francis Galton, it has a relaxed but efficient style which creates a very welcoming atmosphere. A mere ten minute drive from the centre of town and perched on the edge of Windhoek’s northernmost affluent suburb of Eros, guests staying here will be ensured of peace and tranquility. The eight guest rooms are all equipped with internet connectivity and satellite television, with a coffee/tea station available on request and other general guest amenities. The communal areas consist of a large lounge, dining room, swimming pool and garden. There is also delightful ‘al fresco’ dining area by the pool, serving freshly prepared and very tasty meals. There are also a number of shops, restaurants and supermarkets within easy striking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Galton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing