We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexperienced staff and paint smell in rooms”
Review of Galton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galton House
Ranked #10 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luanda, Angola
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Inexperienced staff and paint smell in rooms”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Galton House one night before returning home from an amazing trip around northern Namibia. We were assigned room 1 which seemed to have been recently painted - the smell of paint in the room gave us headaches when waking up the following morning. We arrived in time for the world cup football, however, the staff was not able to get the right channels assigned on the TV in the room until 30 min into the game. Also, there was no room for us at dinner so we were told that we could go out for dinner at Joe's Beergarden. No reservation needed according to the staff. When arriving at the restaurant first thing they asked was whether we had reserved a table - friday night was full. Not great when you arrive with two kids. The bed was good for my 204 cm, however, it was unacceptable that dinner could not be arranged at this isolated guest house and the paint smell in the room was a minus. The guest house seems to have opened before all facilities were ready - the gate was being installed when we arrived and no other stop was put up so there was straight access from the street to the rooms. That was at least what we found leaving early for the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NamibiaDirect, Owner at Galton House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Soren,
Thank you very much for your review and alerting us to your disappointment. Our guesthouse has been in operation since 2011, but as with most hotels, running repairs are a reality of such an establishment. We would like to take the opportunity to give you some feedback on this:

Dinner
Our sincerest apology about this, as it was clear inexperience on the part of the staff member who advised you. We are able to cater for all in-house guests and you should never have been referred somewhere else. Also, Joe’s Beerhouse is Windhoek’s most popular restaurant, so reservations are an absolute necessity, so again inexperience on the part of the staff member. We have taken this up with management who will ensure this doesn’t happen again. We are really sorry that it spoilt your evening.

Gate
We are in the final stages of repairing our front gate after a guest drove into it. We have placed 24-hour security at the gate from the start of the construction to ensure that vehicles are safe in the parking area despite the open gate (which is unavoidable during part of the repair). We are pleased that the repair will be completed by the end of this week.

TV Channel
Again for this we need to apologise and hopefully inexperience on the park of the same staff member who advised you about dinner? We have a World Cup channel, which should work in every room, but it seems that for some reason it wasn’t working, but we are pleased that they managed to get it to work, albeit belatedly.

Paint smell
Your particular room went through a recent renovation, which was completed more than two months ago. We are surprised that there is still a paint smell in the room, as the room had been aerated for a considerable time before having put it back into operation. We will again go through the process of aeration and regret that it still had a paint smell whilst you were occupying it.

We are really sorry that you had a less than satisfactory stay with us, and as you will see from feedback on this forum, it is really unusual for our guests to have such an experience. We would like to make this up to you, so please feel free to contact us at tristan@galtonhouse.com should you be heading to Windhoek again, as we would like to have the opportunity to give you a quality experience at Galton House, something we would consider the norm.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    68
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
73
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Cork Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed one night after flying overnight. Our early arrival was no problem for them. We spent the rest of the day relaxing by the small pool. The food in the restaurant was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The perfect start to our holiday in Namibia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcorktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very nice place, excellent management - extremely helpful. The hotel/B&B is very nicely located on the rim of a hill. Little far from from the town so you need a car to get around. However, hotel can organize taxi service at reasonable price. Hotel is very modern and nicely decorated, rooms are little small through for the price but all very good standard. Breakfast is excellent. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here 2nights before a trip around Namibia. We were booked in for b&b but had a lunch and evening meals as well. The food was very good, game steak slightly over cooked, and of a modern style trying to move away from traditional african fare. The staff were always friendly and helpful, there are some great artistic photos of wildlife in every room. The rooms were a nice size and well laid out.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This proved to be a perfect first accommodation for us. Forty five minute drive from airport and situated in a quiet residential area of Windhoek. We stayed 2 nights.

Staff were helpful about everything and was even driven by manager to nearest ATM for cash(Thanks Jimmy!!).

Room was spotless and adequate for purpose. No time to watch the big flat screen tv!.

Food (although we only had breakfast) was excellent. The small pool and surrounding area was a relaxing place to chill out after a long flight/drive.

Would stay again as it was in a peaceful location.

Room Tip: Try Joe's Beerhouse for a terrific African experience. Loads of meat so veggies beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reavley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A group of four of us have just stayed at Galton House. We wish to thank the owners and manager for a perfect night. We were most impressed with the organization and complete cleanliness of this B and B. The rooms and bathrooms are modern and very comfortable, not large but perfectly adequate and very comfy. We had a delicious dinner and breakfast as well as helping ourselves to a family-style kitchen for drinks and tea or coffee. There is always someone present for any questions(Thanks, Jimmy!) and the communal areas are lovely: GREAT pool and sitting spots. This hotel went the extra mile to help us out on a couple of issues and we were most grateful. A great stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed as a single female traveller and was made most welcome on my 2 visits. The onsite chef is very talented and prepares supper for anyone who wishes to dine in, or taxis are readily arranged for popping into town. Beautiful rooms, pool a welcome addition for hot days, and fast internet. Great value for money - do try and enjoy it!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenniegSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
209 reviews
2.6 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
#2 of 97 in Windhoek
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galton House

Property: Galton House
Address: 72 Amasonite Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galton House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galton House is Windhoek’s newest accommodation establishment. Named after the famous explorer Sir Francis Galton, it has a relaxed but efficient style which creates a very welcoming atmosphere. A mere ten minute drive from the centre of town and perched on the edge of Windhoek’s northernmost affluent suburb of Eros, guests staying here will be ensured of peace and tranquility. The eight guest rooms are all equipped with internet connectivity and satellite television, with a coffee/tea station available on request and other general guest amenities. The communal areas consist of a large lounge, dining room, swimming pool and garden. There is also delightful ‘al fresco’ dining area by the pool, serving freshly prepared and very tasty meals. There are also a number of shops, restaurants and supermarkets within easy striking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Galton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing