We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food outshone by terrible service.”
Review of Andy's Bar

Andy's Bar
Ranked #29 of 130 Restaurants in Windhoek
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food outshone by terrible service.”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The food at Andy's, especially the pizza, really is pretty good. But whether eating there or getting a take-away, bear in mind it will take much longer than most restaurants. The serving staff aren't very well trained and don't know anything about the menu, but if you have a few hours to spare, the pizza could be worth it to the very patient diner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LibertyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    37
    16
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New "revamped Andy's ".”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Decor etc typical pub like - nothing original there. Saturday lunch time crowd busy. Ooh but the service ...... The waitress had no idea what was being offered on the menu let alone understand English. We had to order by number and that even did not work. None of the orders arrived at the same time. It is sad that a rib eye steak was ordered and a T- bone with nothing else on the plate (not even chips) arrived instead. Once the correct rib eye steak was brought it had to be sent back TWICE as it was undercooked? Finally it was sent back forever. The pork fillet did not come with red cabbage and bratkartoffeln. After a long wait eventually two separate plates arrived: one with a boiled potato, the other with bland red cabbage. The potato was sent back to be made into bratkartoffeln ( fried potatoes with bacon and onions) and promptly came back simply sliced! There was no management insight. That's is why restaurants such as Brauhaus in Swakopmund beat the pants off this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GabyJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swakopmund
2 reviews
“Friendly and warm”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We enjpoyed sitting on the sidewalk, with the open friendly atmosphere. The service and food were good and the rest rooms clean.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swakopmund, Namibia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Experiance Ever!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I took my friends to the Airport and decided to stop off for a quick bite in Windhoek, before they fly out internationally.
We waited over 45 minutes for our Pizzas.. which we then found out that our order was never given to the kitchen.. When it came to paying the bill 1 hour 30 minutes later, I felt it unfare to pay the full amount, I wanted to speak to Andy about this poor service but he ended up hiding from me in the Kitchen..

So with conclution, don't waste your time or money going to this establishment! Is just noth worth it!!!
Worste slowest service ever!

Thanks
from a Namibian

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Elnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“British style pub with OK food and service”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Easy place to relax with decent selection of beers and food. Good value for money although tendence to have TV blasting with rugby or footlball games

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andy's Bar also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Andy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing