We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, well priced and friendly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent room, well priced and friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were in the higher price room (Elephant and lovebird I believe) - both rooms were nice and clean - different in style... Lovebird more rustic but without a lot of charm and character as well as its own balcony- not sure how mosquito proof it is... Elephant more contemporary and sturdy built, great in door shower as well as outdoor one on private balcony. I would recommend both rooms with a preference for Elephants.
Rooms also have sitting area, hot water, desk, closet, kettle, fan and personal safe.

Staff is very friendly and helpful even if they may appear slightly nonchalant by time (i guess part of the charm).

Only downside i would say is the Wifi is available but sadly at a cost - not so common nowadays notable that the connection speed and quality is questionable, buy hey... More time to read and relax alongside the pool.
I would also add a mosquito net in lovebird.

We also participated in a tour with Chameleon safaris and I don't have enough words to say how good this was. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Elephant for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    136
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
37
106
116
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Super clean rooms, amazing showers and possibly the best self catering kitchen in any hostel I've stayed in. Staff at reception and in the travel centre were really helpful with my planning. My only problem is if you want to camp, the area is tiny and only room for 2/3 tents. You cannot book camping so you might go over budget.

Oh and fantastic breakfast included in the price

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

...a great place to unwind and relax by the pool with a cool drink in windhoek. The centre of the city, not the busiest in africa by any means, is a short stroll away.

the pool is very inviting and there are plenty of places to relax and unwind. the private rooms are good - definitely recommend the one overlooking the pool - would not be out of place in a top hotel!

one negative - you have to pay for wifi time - come on guys, this should be free in 2014!

Room Tip: the one overlooking the pool - better for couples - a little lovenest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I travelled to Namibia for a month in September 2013. Chameleon was our home base before and between our safari, volunteer work and the flight home. We stayed 4 nights in all. While the doors let a lot of sound in, and we were staying near a baby, the whole place seemed like a family. Friendly, helpful people. Great breakfast. Great shared space. Kitchen for cooking allowed us to save money. We enjoyed our time and would stay again while on a budget. The only disconcerting thing was that there were no doors on the bathrooms in either room we stayed in, just a curtain.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilLeopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Nicely decorated, with a great kitchen, bar and pool area. Our room was beautiful and fantastic value. The 10pm bar closure is strictly enforced. The staff are friendly. Wifi was sporadic and not free. Good place to meet and hang out with fellow travellers - we had a great time over xmas despite everything else in Windhoek being closed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walvis Bay, Namibia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Chameleon deserves every credit!They are above expectation of accommodation in Namibia. 1st World class.Both Accommodation and Staff is stunning.It is an experience you will never find with any other place.I will never stay at another place when visiting again.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect for each situation. TIP. just reserve your room very early to avoid disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luzaan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- good value for money
- breakfast included
- big communal area and kitchen with a lot of TVs
- nice little plunge pool

Cons:
- a little outdated
- next to a quite noisy street
- staff ok, but not as welcoming as in other places

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kinski T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,340 reviews
2.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#9 of 16 in Windhoek
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
358 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#11 of 16 in Windhoek
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chameleon Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Property: Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
Address: 5 7 Voight Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Backpackers we offer dormitory beds. There is also a range of twin, double and three bed rooms for those wishing for more privacy. Our Guesthouse has spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms having off street parking and a continental self serve breakfast included. Need safe long term accommodation while staying in Windhoek. We have 3 flats available for stays of more than 3 months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chameleon Backpackers Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing