We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rivendell Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Windhoek(Windhoek)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jordani B&B Windhoek(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arebbusch Travel Lodge(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Thule(Windhoek)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Country Bed & Breakfast(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
180
145
45
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
145
45
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseshared bathroomthe main housekitchen facilitiesone nightown mealshonesty barpleasant atmospherenice poolgreat place to stay in windhoekswimming poolcommon areashome from homehot water bottlesother guestsquiet areaspacious room
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I can highly recommend this Guest House. The facilities are very nice and clean and the absolute highlight is the pool of which we also made use at a sunny day. The rooms are nice and lightish. Book the breakfast, I know it´s not that cheap but it´s really worth it! The walking distance is about 15 minutes to town, which is ok.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kontinentenstreifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Many thanks for your feedback! We have recently given our staff a week's breakfast training so it was fantastic to be able to show them your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Rivendell is a friendly and pretty guesthouse. Surrounded by beautiful tropical plants, nice pool, and a very friendly and helpfull staff; we loved it. Also the breakfast was elaborate and delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atck4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My husband and I were doing a fly-by-the-seat-of-our-pants honeymoon and decided to stay at Rivendell solely because they have travel agents on site. We were very, very pleased with the travel agent who planned our itinerary in Namibia. The guesthouse itself was fine, but we felt it was overpriced. There's not much within walking distance and our room was quite small. We stayed at several places within Namibia and South Africa, but nothing about Rivendell really stands out.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Many thanks for your review. We take everyone's comments into consideration and are planning to increase our rates by only a small amount for 2012 so that we are not overpriced. We will also be making several improvements to the rooms and main areas as and when we can this year. Most guesthouses in Windhoek are located away from the CBD, the suburbs are generally safer and more pleasant than the city centre. We do now have a restaurant just around the corner from us which offers fantastic African fusion cuisine, so that helps if guests don't want to take a taxi into town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed in a room in the house with shared bathroom for one night at each end of a self drive trip in Namibia. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was great , although not included in price. As uk sterling holders we found it slightly expensive for what it was but it was clean and quiet with small pool. No retaurants around so taxi or 15min walk into town. One appearance by large creepy crawly but other than that pretty good.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAdventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Many thanks for your review. I just wanted to add that we do now have a restaurant just 2 mins walk from us offering African fusion cuisene, and our security guard will keep an eye out for guests walking over there. So no more need for taxis into town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed in a fabulous en suite room away from the main house.

Handy bar/drinks facility and TV in the main house. Taking taxis to town a little tiresome but very safe and nice location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomfromengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews