We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It really is a homely home...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #8 of 95 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It really is a homely home...”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed here for a night after arriving in Windhoek and before heading to the coast. The guest house is easy to find, and still within reasonable walking distance to the city center.

The staff was very friendly, the room had a good size and was clean. The breakfast was excellent. I like the fact that you could get snacks and drinks at the kitchen even at night.

We felt right at home here. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonTobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    133
    41
    10
    5
See reviews for
61
140
66
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We recommend the Rivendell.

Review on the upside - the people at Rivendell are tops!
you cannot beat the location... the full-english breakfast is
super.

Review on the downside - the facilities are basic and a bit run-down.
for example, our toilet had a leak and ran continuously unless
it was "just-so." our room was very damp and moldy.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cote_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Many thanks for your review and I am really pleased to hear that our staff looked after you well! However I am very sorry that your room was not up to the standard it should have been. Myself and David have spoken to our overall manager as well as our maintenance man and reminded them about checking all toilets when the rooms are checked each morning. Being in a desert country there can be no excuse for running toilets, and of course it is very annoying when you have to listen to one. I assume that you stayed in our flat? We have had ongoing problems with damp in that one room due to the exceptionally heavy rains that Windhoek has experienced and we have tried many remedies to rectify this. Luckily we have just found a new product which treats the damp as well as sealing the walls and this was applied over the weekend, hopefully this will put an end to this problem but we will continue to monitor it. Thanks again for your honest feedback! Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lüderitz
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We have stayed at Rivendell Guest House many times during our seven years living in Namibia, and will definetely stay here again and again.
The staff has always been very friendly and helpful.
We love the easy to use "honesty bar" system with soft drinks, wine, cake, and snacks; as well as the option of storing our luggage while going off on a safari.
It has a nice clean swimming pool and a beautiful garden.
Would happily recommend to everybody.

Room Tip: For a family of four: the self-contained flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdalenaGomezFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I can highly recommend this Guest House. The facilities are very nice and clean and the absolute highlight is the pool of which we also made use at a sunny day. The rooms are nice and lightish. Book the breakfast, I know it´s not that cheap but it´s really worth it! The walking distance is about 15 minutes to town, which is ok.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kontinentenstreifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Many thanks for your feedback! We have recently given our staff a week's breakfast training so it was fantastic to be able to show them your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Rivendell is a friendly and pretty guesthouse. Surrounded by beautiful tropical plants, nice pool, and a very friendly and helpfull staff; we loved it. Also the breakfast was elaborate and delicious!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atck4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My husband and I were doing a fly-by-the-seat-of-our-pants honeymoon and decided to stay at Rivendell solely because they have travel agents on site. We were very, very pleased with the travel agent who planned our itinerary in Namibia. The guesthouse itself was fine, but we felt it was overpriced. There's not much within walking distance and our room was quite small. We stayed at several places within Namibia and South Africa, but nothing about Rivendell really stands out.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Many thanks for your review. We take everyone's comments into consideration and are planning to increase our rates by only a small amount for 2012 so that we are not overpriced. We will also be making several improvements to the rooms and main areas as and when we can this year. Most guesthouses in Windhoek are located away from the CBD, the suburbs are generally safer and more pleasant than the city centre. We do now have a restaurant just around the corner from us which offers fantastic African fusion cuisine, so that helps if guests don't want to take a taxi into town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed in a room in the house with shared bathroom for one night at each end of a self drive trip in Namibia. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was great , although not included in price. As uk sterling holders we found it slightly expensive for what it was but it was clean and quiet with small pool. No retaurants around so taxi or 15min walk into town. One appearance by large creepy crawly but other than that pretty good.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAdventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Many thanks for your review. I just wanted to add that we do now have a restaurant just 2 mins walk from us offering African fusion cuisene, and our security guard will keep an eye out for guests walking over there. So no more need for taxis into town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.8 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 95 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Property: Rivendell Guest House
Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing