We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #7 of 95 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great stay...”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Recently stayed at this guest house before and after visiting Etosha. This is great place in a nice neighborhood. The rooms were little bit small and with no real bathroom door, but it was a nice place for a quick stay. It was really hot and would have been nice if there was a ceiling fan. Nevertheless, really enjoyed staying here and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanotechusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Many thanks for your review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are definately going to buy ceiling fans for the two rooms which do not have in the New Year, most of the rooms do have ceiling fans but there are two with standing fans at the moment.

All the best,
Rivendell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    135
    42
    10
    5
See reviews for
61
141
67
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The pictures on their website doesn't do it any justice as I had pictured a little old ladies house. It wasnt that at all. We had a very nice family bed room. It was neat and clean as well. We did have to share a bathroom but it was nice and clean.
Our kids enjoyed the spacious pool and the communal kitchen was very well equipped.
I found it good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AIRJAWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. It looks as though we need to change the photos on our website! We were really pleased to hear that your family enjoyed themselves with us, and I hope that you have some wonderful memories of Namibia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My friends and I stayed here 3 nights in October and can't say enough about how wonderful everything was. The rooms were spacious and clean -our room had a bathroom that was bigger than my bedroom at home! The breakfasts are fantastic (eggs, bacon, sausage, granola, fruit juice, yogurt, and wonderful muffins). You can't beat the honor system beverage bar! Will definitely stay here if I'm in Windhoek again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thanks so much for your review, it means a lot to us that you took the time to post it, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rivendell if you are in Windhoek again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed more than three weeks at Rivendell. The common kitchen is a good idea and a good place to meet friendly people. It all works out well, with several things available on the honour system (just remember to write down that bottle of wine you took out of the cooler!). The fridge gets a bit too full at times but again, it all works out. Everyone does their own dishes and are pretty good about that too. Breakfast is an additional cost if you take breakfast; there could be a different rate for the continental breakfast and the cooked breakfast. My only complaint is the late afternoon sun pours into my room turning it into an oven. There could be some sort of bamboo blind on the outside, lowered to prevent this effect. Some rooms are shadier than others. The pool is wonderfully clean and cool...a real treat. All in all, a great stay and I would stay here again in a minute. The manager and help were all super helpful and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool, or any of the other rooms with adjoining toilet and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilianroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thanks so much for your review, and we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your extended stay with us! We will definately look at that sun issue, we used to have material blinds outside but they flapped around so much that they weren't very practical. We will see what else we can do...

It's always really nice to have people staying with us for a long time and the staff enjoy getting to know our long stay guests.

Take care and best regards from sunny Windhoek,
The Rivendell team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
175 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Cesca showed us round and welcomed us very nicely. This tour included the kitchen where you can cook your own meal if you wish. Also had free teas and coffee, a fridge with drinks and an honestty box, a lounge with TV and wine bottles (with an honesty box), a secure parking area, a pool (towels provided) and our room which was one of 4 looking onto the pool area. There are other rooms as well but these 4 are the best. There is no a/c but they have ceiling fans. Room is basic but comfortable - one small wardrobe, a good bed, sliding patio windows, shower/sink/wc, insect repellent provided and also tea/coffee making. ATI travel firm has its offices in Rivendell's reception area. This is very useful to get good advice and bookings etc. We hired a car through ATI and it was delivered to the guest house.
The only criticism is that the rooms are looking a little tired and the bathrooms need updating. The customer service is really excellent.

Room Tip: Choose one looking over the pool but ask for one with a quiet ceiling fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, we really appreciate it and we're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You are right that a couple of the bathrooms need some updating, we have actually already arranged for a builder to come and quote on renovating two of them (Rooms 1 & 4 which are the larger ones at either end of the row of pool rooms). We had to wait until low season so that the rooms would not be booked out already, and so that we have a little bit of extra cash for the building work... but this should be done soon, we hope that at least one bathroom will be finished by the end of the year, fingers crossed.

I will ask Ciska to check all of the ceiling fans, perhaps they just need some oil, and if that doesn't work we will replace any which are making too much noise.

Thanks once again & best regards from a sunny Windhoek,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palapye
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Thanks to Rivendell we had not so sweet flight from Botswana but we had a sweet arrival the moment we were picked by the Rivendel shuttle at the airport. Ever smilling staff from reception to the security guy. We stayed 1 night on our way to swakopmund & another night from Swakopmund. The environment is very very friendly....... i will definately recommend this house. Eh....breakfast was too much. Thanks Rivendel, we had a blast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tadoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Each time I travel to Namibia for research as a Geographer and need to stop in Windhoek, I stay at the Rivendell. It is an easy walk into town and located in a quiet and safe road. The bedrooms and communal areas are always spotless and there is lovely outside space and a pool to read or relax. The kitchen facilities are great to make some evening food, or the staff are happy to call for a take-away or recommend a local restaurant. A great place to start or end a trip into the beautiful landscapes of Namibia.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertResearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.2 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 95 in Windhoek
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Property: Rivendell Guest House
Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing