We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rivendell Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jordani B&B Windhoek(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pension Uhland(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Thule(Windhoek)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arebbusch Travel Lodge(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Windhoek(Windhoek)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
179
144
45
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
144
45
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseshared bathroomthe main housekitchen facilitiesone nightown mealshonesty barpleasant atmospherenice poolgreat place to stay in windhoekswimming poolcommon areashome from homehot water bottlesother guestsquiet areaspacious room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Rivendell Guest House didn't have anything spectacular about it nor did it have anything terrible to note. The rooms are clean, the property is very secure, the staff are friendly and helpful and the pool is beautiful and well cared for. Some rooms, like the ones that open right to the pool patio are much nicer than the ones that open to the driveway. It's in a safe neighborhood but there isn't much to do without driving to another area of town. There is one restaurant down the street but it was closed when we were there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbuggie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Only stayed one night, arriving late and leaving early as part of a longer holiday. Room very good, situated looking over the pool. People helpful and friendly, as were pets! Breakfast very sociable. Wood stay again in similar circumstances.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ximera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Everything I rate a hotel by, Rivendell scored 5 out of 5. BEd, shower, breakfast, staff and location were all excellent. I wish we could have stayed more time. They have the friendliest pets as well! The pool os even perfect. We got hot water bottles in our bed!They think of everything. Warm decorations. Like I already said, a great staff! Thank you Rivendell, I shall return!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Arriving at Rivendell was like finding an oasis in the desert. Our flight to Windhoek had been changed and then an overturned cattle truck on the airport road meant our planned lunchtime arrival became an evening arrival. It took more than two hours to get past the chaos, and the friendly welcome we received on arrival was just fabulous. The room we stayed in was well laid out and was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. Ciska made us aware that the family next door would be getting up early the next morning to catch a flight, needless to say we didn't hear a thing, the beds were comfy and we had a great stay. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, we would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AineTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The place is very nicely arranged in a peaceful location, even if a bit further from the center. The rooms are clean but nothing fancy. There is only one shared bathroom and toilet, which tend to be occupied in the 'rush' hours. This can be sometimes annoying if your room is not in the main building and you need to walk outside to get there. The service is very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are OK, but if the guesthouse is full you might need wait a bit or find some ingredients missing. Overall, a positive experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look into further breakfast training to ensure that service is as quick as it should be, especially during peak times of year. Our overall manager is busy with staff service training at the moment.

Many thanks & best wishes from Windhoek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews