We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for budget traveller!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #9 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for budget traveller!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stay 3 nights at Rivendell having arrived from the US and wanting to get over any jetlag and explore Windhoek. The guest house is 15-20 minute walking time from the city center and is very secure. Amenities were great, with breakfast and snacks/drinks available at a small charge. Wifi is not great, but this is of course not the reason you will travel to Namibia anyway. The pets and staff are all extremely friendly and helpful!

Also to note they can arrange transport to/from the airport for 220 NAD, a fair price considering the distance.

Room Tip: Rooms with bathrooms are available if you prefer, and some open directly to the pool/patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    135
    43
    10
    5
See reviews for
61
142
67
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed in the self catering 'flat' for 9 days and was extremely comfortable with plenty of space to have family join me there for meals. There is also an option to have breakfast in the dining room which I did on a couple of occasiions - delicious options for both continental and cooked breakfast with generous portions. As I have family in Namibia I would always come back to Rivendell and look forward to seeing the friendly staff in this safe, clean and very restful guest house.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Rivendell Guest House didn't have anything spectacular about it nor did it have anything terrible to note. The rooms are clean, the property is very secure, the staff are friendly and helpful and the pool is beautiful and well cared for. Some rooms, like the ones that open right to the pool patio are much nicer than the ones that open to the driveway. It's in a safe neighborhood but there isn't much to do without driving to another area of town. There is one restaurant down the street but it was closed when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuggie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Only stayed one night, arriving late and leaving early as part of a longer holiday. Room very good, situated looking over the pool. People helpful and friendly, as were pets! Breakfast very sociable. Wood stay again in similar circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ximera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Everything I rate a hotel by, Rivendell scored 5 out of 5. BEd, shower, breakfast, staff and location were all excellent. I wish we could have stayed more time. They have the friendliest pets as well! The pool os even perfect. We got hot water bottles in our bed!They think of everything. Warm decorations. Like I already said, a great staff! Thank you Rivendell, I shall return!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Arriving at Rivendell was like finding an oasis in the desert. Our flight to Windhoek had been changed and then an overturned cattle truck on the airport road meant our planned lunchtime arrival became an evening arrival. It took more than two hours to get past the chaos, and the friendly welcome we received on arrival was just fabulous. The room we stayed in was well laid out and was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. Ciska made us aware that the family next door would be getting up early the next morning to catch a flight, needless to say we didn't hear a thing, the beds were comfy and we had a great stay. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, we would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AineTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The place is very nicely arranged in a peaceful location, even if a bit further from the center. The rooms are clean but nothing fancy. There is only one shared bathroom and toilet, which tend to be occupied in the 'rush' hours. This can be sometimes annoying if your room is not in the main building and you need to walk outside to get there. The service is very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are OK, but if the guesthouse is full you might need wait a bit or find some ingredients missing. Overall, a positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look into further breakfast training to ensure that service is as quick as it should be, especially during peak times of year. Our overall manager is busy with staff service training at the moment.

Many thanks & best wishes from Windhoek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
1.2 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Property: Rivendell Guest House
Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing