We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #8 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money Guest House”
Reviewed 9 July 2008

As per the previous review this is a great value for money guesthouse in Windhoek. We stayed here for two nights before a 10 day Explorer trip with Wild Dog & Kudu safaris (which we highly recommend, our tour guide was called Tongai and he has just started up his own tour company www.tongai-safaris.com and can highly reccommend him)
The guest house is a 10-15 min walk into the city centre which is very conveiniant compared to some of the other guest houses which are further out.

Would definately stay here again and hope to visit Namibia soon as it is a fantastic country

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank w00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    135
    42
    10
    5
See reviews for
61
141
67
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We had the pleasure of meeting Mandine and everyone else when we stayed at Rivendell.

It really is like being a part of the family and my husband and I could not fault the guest house or any of the staff.

I cannot recommend Rivendell highly enough and should we be lucky enough to come back to this beautiful country then we will stay at Rivendell.

  • Liked — Friendly, clean, spacious, comfortable - just perfect all round.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing to dislike
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SLakehal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

Rivendell is a safe, cosy and friendly place to stay in Windhoek. We stayed a few nights both before and after a 10 day safari with Wild Dogs which was amazing. The large double room was very clean and bright and set beside the swimming pool. The bed was comfortable and the shower was very good. You had a choice of cooked or continental breakfast and I must say that the continental was superb. Meat, cheese, pastries,cereals, yoghurt etc etc, plenty to set you up for the day. We didn't try the cooked but I'm sure it would be good. The lounge with television is comfortable and there is a lovely veranda to sit out on overlooking the gardens. You can also use the kitchen to prepare meals etc.

Everything was well very organised at Rivendell. They did our laundry by the load not per piece so it was quite cheap. They have an honesty fridge filled with wines, beers and soft drinks, you just mark what you take on a list. They also have a reliable and safe taxi company. We used it each evening and also for a city tour which was interesting. The drivers are very helpful and accomodating and are always on time. They even have their own travel agency, ATI Holidays, who can organise trips through Namibia and Botswana. They booked restaurants for us over the internet and also changed our reservation to include the group we were on safari with. All the staff were so friendly we immediately felt at home. Last but not least they have a wonderful dog, Baggins. He was playful but would certainly deter any strangers.

Rivendell will be our first choice when we return to Namibia. It has everything you need at a very good price.

  • Liked — Facilities, staff, price, safety and the dog.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

Rivendell in such a delightful place to stay! There is everything a tired traveler needs and more. Staff is very helpful and they do make you feel at home. The place itself is very pleasant, there is a small garden and patio with a swimming pool to relax on a hot afternoon. They offer self-catering or B&B option, store your extra stuff if you are going on a safari etc. It is hard to find better value.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jipeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, N Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

My travelling companions and I were made to feel like members of the family by the friendly and accommodating staff . The facilities were excellent and it served as a great base from which to travel around the country. I can't recommend Rivendell enough.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gwanyagoodting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

Rivendell was a perfect spot for our stay in Windhoek. The proprietors are fantastic and extremely knowledgeable. We stayed in Rivendell a couple of nights before traveling out to other parts of the country. David and Charlotte arranged the details of our entire trip to Sossussvlei, Skeleton Coast, etc. Everything went exactly to plan, and was fantastic. We cannot wait to go back to Namibia - it has an incredible amount of diversity - from the environment to the people. I had previously stayed before in Windhoek at the Kalahari Sands. It's an OK hotel with a casino, etc. but you don't get to know a feel for Windhoek itself. At Rivendell you get a great lodging at a great price with extremely knowledgeable people to help you out with any tour booking you might need. David and Charlotte were managers at a number of game lodges throughout Southern Africa - so their knowledge is extensive and first hand. They and the rest of the staff were a pleasure to deal with - oh and there is a nice pool too!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mantis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

Having spent two solid weeks desperately searching Windhoek for somewhere friendly, central and safe to spend the next four weeks in Namibia (After more than one bad experience...), we came across Rivendell, an atmospheric and comfortable backpacker hotel ten minutes from the city centre which quickly came to be our second home!! Having lived there for the past few weeks we came to know all the staff-David, Charlotte, Mandine and Monica (And Baggins!!!!) and we couldn't have found anywhere better to stay! Be sure to ask the staff where to eat as they really helped us out in absolutely any way possible! I'll definitely be back-loved every second!!!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndseyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
1.2 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Property: Rivendell Guest House
Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing