We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to start and end a Namibian trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #10 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect place to start and end a Namibian trip”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Rivendell is a very good guest house.
It is clean, the rooms are spacious and the personnel is very friendly.
We stayed in room 1 which very well equipped with tea and coffee facilities. There is a kitchen that you can use if you decide to cook for yourself, there is a lounge with tv (no tv in the rooms).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    139
    45
    10
    5
See reviews for
62
145
68
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed at Rivendell 4 separate times during my 6 weeks in Namibia, returning there after different safari legs, and I can confirm all the great things previous reviewers have reported. I stayed in rooms 1 and 3 and always felt that I and my possessions were safe. The facilities are very clean, honor bar system is really great and the breakfast was fabulous. At the front desk, Erika and Ciska were always warm, welcoming and helpful. I really liked the location, as it was just far enough from downtown to be quiet, but close enough to be easily walkable.

Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Rivendell is an excellent guesthouse close to central Windhoek. The rooms are spotless and the entire property is well maintained. A big plus is the kitchen and lounge area - serve yourself with reasonably priced cold drinks, a slice of cake or prepare your own meal if you prefer. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The cat and dog love the guests' attention.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had two very pleasant nights at Rivendell Guesthouse. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The guesthouse was also able to arrange transfers and had a whole list of bookable activities available. The neighborhood is quite residential and fairly quiet. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room as well as fans but no AC.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here one night at the beginning of our trip. Our flight arrived early, arrived at Rivendell at 0730. We were warmly welcomed, offered breakfast which we declined, and were invited to relax in the common area while our room was vacated and cleaned. Manager very helpful with walking directions, taxi service, and restaurant ideas. Enjoyed the self serve beverages and snacks during our stay.

We walked to downtown Windhoek in less than 15 minutes, explored the area, went to an ATM, and returned at 1100 and our room was ready. Very nice large, clean room overlooking the pool.

PROS-
Close to downtown (15 min walk, 5 minute taxi) in a quiet, safe location. Helpful manager. Nice pool. Fantastic breakfast with plenty of choices. Laundry service for a small fee.

CONS-
Smokers sitting outside the breakfast room in the morning made for a smoky breakfast. Smokers by the pool in the evening caused us to shut our door when it was still warm inside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattleflyer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The amenities here were really nice. The shared shower was great and the first with real water pressure in a few weeks. It felt like the owners have put some real effort in making it a special place to stay. The lady there was helpful. Only problem is its far out of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSKPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamley Green, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Rivendell is perfect for getting oneself organised for a Namibian trip, and for preparing for the return home. A safe and friendly location, not too far from the city centre. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff and management. We stayed for 1 night at the start of our trip, and for 1 night at the end. We've stayed there before, on previous vivits, and will do so again, if we return to Namibia. Prices are reasonable, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. An Honesty Box system operates for drinks and snacks, and meals can be provided if needed. Plenty of help and advice are available if it's your first time in Namibia.
The African fusion resturant over the road is well worth a visit for an evening meal.

Room Tip: Room #1 is probably the best as it is the largest, but 1, 2, and 3 are all fine. Have not stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed Rivendell, and also Fusion restaurant nearby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,368 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
1.2 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Property: Rivendell Guest House
Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing