We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safe, clean & great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #11 of 99 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent 2 nights here. Arrived at 7 a.m and they arranged a transfer for me from the international airport via Windhoek Tours and Transfer (150 Namibian dollars) Complete breakfast was waiting for me ($8Cdn). Bathroom, dining room, living room, TV and WiFi available while I waited for my room to be ready. Very accommodating staff. Friendly owner, David Cartwright, also can design travel plans for you through ATI Holidays. I had room 2 however the toilet was in the main building. Lights were left on at night but a small inconvenience considering the price. The Condor Room, self-service apt, is wonderful with cooking facilities, great shower and WiFi on your porch. It was nice to sit around the swimming pool in the sunshine. A bit cool for swimming in the winter.
Walked downtown - 10 minutes - picked up groceries at Pick and Pay. Would highly recommend the Namibia Craft Centre for shopping and a great café on 2nd floor (closes at 1 pm on Saturday and closed on Sunday) Café has slower service as each entrée is carefully cooked to perfection.
It was also great to hear travel stories from the fellow guests.

Room Tip: If sharing a bathroom, room 2 is outside the main building. Ask about bathroom location when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlondon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wow, what a place; a bit hidden but still in the center of town; absolutely superb rooms, hosts, location, pool, cats, .......everything is 5 star. I was on a 6 weeks trip and this was my last night.....I will never forget that place, and might come back to Windhoek just to stay longer there. Thanks.

Room Tip: all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidy512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely feedback! We hope to see you back here again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Everything was great about our stay. The staff were very friendly. The room was clean and tidy. The breakfasts were delicious. The location was very convenient, only 15 minute walk to downtown. We would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountain-Man-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review Rivendell, we're very please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It is not far from town, especially by car. It is walkable but I'm not sure I would be keen to walk at night in this part of town.

Very secure premises with a guard on duty overnight. Unfortunately Windhoek has a name for petty crime - breakins.

They were very helpful at organising a game drive at Okapuka on the B1. I would recommend this trip. Guaranteed Rhino viewing plus heaps of other game. Plus a great place for a meal as the springbok and wildebeest come down to the lawn to eat and drink in the pool in the evening.

Comfortable room and nice communal lounge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac59NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thanks for your feedback and I'm glad that the managers assisted you with the trip to Okapuka. Windhoek does seem to have an issue with petty crime at the moment, we're working closely with the City Police who have their own Tourism Division, the guys there are very helpful. And we're also liaising with TASA (Tour and Safari Association of Namibia) so that we can keep in touch with other guesthouses and work together to try and make everyone's Windhoek experience as safe and pleasant as possible. Our security guard works solely for us which is a great help, he's very trustworthy and seems to stay awake all night which I know doesn't always happen!

All the best from the Rivendell team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Considering the price the place is not great, just OK. Because of the sliding glass doors on the front of the room one has to keep the curtains pulled at all times to provide some privacy. Also we found it disturbing that there was no shelf space and hardly any closet space. Not even in the bathroom has there been one shelf or any storage space to put a few things on. Also one cannot claim that this place is close to the center, its quite a long and unpleasant walk on gravel and dust, so you have to get a taxi. If we would go back to Windhoek we rather would pay more and get a place that is better located and equipped

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tewatcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, and I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It would be great to know which room you were in, because all of the rooms with sliding glass doors have wardrobes in. Each wardrobe has an area for hanging clothes, as well as a set of shelves. Most of these are newly made and were put into the rooms a couple of months ago. Likewise, all of the bathrooms have at least one shelf to put personal items on, so this is strange feedback which I will follow up on with our manager.

We are a 15 minute walk from the city centre, and none of that walk is on gravel or dust, it's all along pavements next to main tar roads. Maybe you took a detour to get into town which would explain the long and dusty route? Coming back takes a bit longer as the walk is uphill, but it shouldn't be any more than 25 minutes depending on which side of town you are walking back from.

Best regards,
David and the Rivendell team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

beautiful garden, friendly staff and nice rooms
you can walk into downtown, takes about 15 minutes, where the next restaurant is
we got lost on the way from the airport, not easy to find when you are new in the country

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The kitchen and dining room is spacious and very handy. You can make your own meal in the kitchen. reakfast is served in the elegant dining room and there is a beautiful patio outside overlooking a nice garden. Rooms are arranged around the swimming pool. It could be noisy if lots of people chat or play around the pool. However people usually return to their room at dusk.

Room Tip: The corner room farthest from the swimming pool is more quite and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
1,401 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
1.4 mi away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: £25 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing