We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Namibia?”
Review of Hotel Heinitzburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Heinitzburg
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Namibia?”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

For our trip around Namibia and then Botswana, we had to come back to Windhoek twice. Our travel agent, (we seldom use them but this trip needed a lot of information that we couldn't find), mentioned this hotel but didn't push, until we checked it out and then WE pushed! The first stay-over was the classic 'arrive late afternoon, refresh, dinner, wake up, go to airport'. When we checked in we were told that we had been upgraded to a suite, for reasons no one seemed to know. The reception was friendly and efficient. A drink before dinner on the terrace overlooking the twinkling lights of Windhoek, and a warm breeze. Then on to dinner, which proved to be a little disappointing. A bit too inventive. But the service was excellent. It's obvious that the management has it as a/the top priority. Breakfast was sumptuous.

Our second stay was a re-play of the first except for the morning trip the the airport. Our onward flight was at 9 p.m. so we asked for a late check-out, but even that would have meant a long wait at the airport. The hotel director arranged for a 6 p.m. check-out for a modest surcharge.

The hotel has 20-some rooms and suites, so the clients are well taken care of. No two rooms are alike and from what we saw and experienced, a nice touch of the old and new together.

If you want 'old world service', this is the place. In a manner of speaking, staying here is as much an experience as it is a lodging for the night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeddie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    120
    46
    17
    11
See reviews for
51
193
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Wonderful hilltop situation, excellent service and cuisine. This family owned business well deserves its reputation as a one of the best places to stay or dine in Windhoek.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Making a reservation was a bit of a pain. Had to fill in a rather confusing form and send it back to the management. The hotel charges your stay to your card before you even arrive which makes correcting errors difficult. But once there, we were impressed with the beautiful rooms, the attentiveness of the staff, and the restful and classy atmosphere. There is a wine cellar, a nice restaurant, and drinks/food available on a terrace that overlooks Windhoek. Wifi available but could not get it to work for some reason. Transfer service to airport available. Unusually good breakfast. Was a nice restful place to wrap up our week in Windhoek.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Hotel Heinitzburg was the first place we visited in Namibia. It was more of a place to stop off, have a shower, sleep and eat before heading off on our tour. The hotel is located just outside Windhoek and has good views from the restaurant terrace. Our room was generous in size, very clean etc. Only negative was the sink leaked a bit but as we were only there for a night we didn't really care enough to make a fuss about it. The rooms are in a little courtyard and overlook the pool. We didn't use the pool but it looked lovely. The staff were friendly and we even received a treat of champagne and canapes when we arrived which was kind. We ate at the restaurant in the evening and while the service was a little chaotic, ultimately, we were on holiday and getting into the laid-back spirit so it didn't much matter. Breakfast was a little bit odd in that it took a while to get them to bother to ask us if we wanted any tea or coffee or indeed any hot breakfast (when we arrived to take a seat we were simply told there was a buffet inside). I would happily recommend this as a place to stay when initially arriving in Namibia.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travjourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We spent the first night in Namibia at the Heinitzburg and two weeks later spent our last night there. We were pleasantly surprised to find that it was not a cold, dank castle, but a small hotel on the top of a hill overlooking Windhoek. The rooms were large and had very comfortable beds, a couple of small sitting areas, wireless internet service, well-equipped mini-bars, and friendly service. The breakfast was first rate, as were the dinners. We had two rooms downstairs that opened out into a walkway down to the pool and an outside area where one could order cocktails. Windhoek has a reputation for evening crime, but the hotel has security which made it seem very safe. .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoakeFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We started our round trip of Namibia with three nights at the Heinitzburg to get settled in. While the hotel building is nice and beautifully situated overlooking much of Windhoek, we quickly had to discover that service is not the main quality of this place. Staff both at the reception and in the restaurant seemed to be lacking experience or esteem - or both. At one point, for example, they made us feel like we were the first people ever asking for recommendations on tours and tour operators in the Windhoek area.

The worst point during our stay, however, was when my daughter and I came back from the cinema one night at 11 only to find the front gate of the hotel closed for good, and nobody answering the night bell or the hotel telephone. As standing on the street in the middle of the night in Windhoek is not the most advisable thing to do, we were close to panicking. Fortunately, my wife who had stayed home became aware of our calls and was able to track down the night porter to have him eventually open the gate.

A good thing about the hotel is the quality of the food in the restaurant. It is a bit on the pricey side by Namibian standards, but still good value from a European perspective. We found both the fish and the game excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are nicer and get more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripGuido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The Henitzberg was the first stop in a big tour of Namibia and just what we needed to unwind after 5 months in Luanda. Part of the R&C chain, we were greeted by a helpful concierge who helped with the bags up the slope from the carpark, enthusiastic lobby staff and excellent room service after a fairly hectic trip down from Angola. We had a ground-floor room with direct access to the pool and patio which looked very inviting - too cold for a dip in a southern hemisphere winter though! The room itself was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Highlight of the stay was definitely the meal in the hotel restaurant 'Leos" (with that wonderful view of the city), apparently one of the best in Windhoek. Excellent service and a beautifully cooked meal with an emphasis on flavour and ingredients - all perfectly balanced. The wine list was exhaustive but it was good to see that they had a fair selection at the lower end of the price bracket too - great for those of us with less advanced palettes! Breakfast was excellent - really good buffet with top notch hot meals available on request. A wonderful start to a truly memorable trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickDLuanda_Angola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.6 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.3 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
2.4 mi away
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Hotel
#9 of 16 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heinitzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heinitzburg

Property: Hotel Heinitzburg
Address: 22 Heinitzburg Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heinitzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Heinitzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heinitzburg Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing