We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just impressive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Heinitzburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Heinitzburg
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Heinitzburg is a wonderful place overlooking the city of Windhoek (by all means be there on the terrace for sunset to enjoy the view, sipping a sundowner) and close enough to walk to the centre. The rooms and the whole place are big and full of historic charm, with many lovely detail and a whole lot of luxury. You are greeted with champagne and the staff is very attentive all the time. The restaurant is not cheap, but with outstanding food and very nice wines; breakfast is very good and well-selected as well. A very special place in the heart of Namibia!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkaboutGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    115
    44
    16
    11
See reviews for
50
187
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have visited often enough , in recent past , this lovely place . Great ambiance , view of the city , and good food . very tasty . Though I am a vegetarian with limited choice but what ever is offered has great taste ! my compliments to the chef .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOSIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel with very friendly staff. The rooms are huge and beautiful. We were greeted with champagne and hors d'oeuvres in our room and the staff remained attentive to any of our needs throughout the stay. There's a lovely terrace with amazing view of Windhoek, to sit and enjoy over drinks. There's also a nice restaurant with a bible size wine menu and great food. The beds are really comfortable and the pool is lovely. Loved our stay here!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravelNat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed two nights, at the beginning and end of our holidays.
Both rooms very different in size but both dark. Lovely blue sky and sunshine outside but one has to put the lights on at 3pm!
One had Wifi the other did not!

The swimming pool area very pleasant.
The staff very helpful . Overall somewhat pretentious.
Definitely not a Relais Chateau when judged against European standards.
Restaurant would do much better to simplify the dishes, ingredients first class but combinations muddled.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cth6616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The hotel occupies a wonderful location on Luxury Hill overlooking the city of Windhoek. One of the most noticeable features of the hotel for those used to travelling in Namibia is how friendly and helpful the staff are, which is a rarity in this otherwise beautiful country. Without exception every member of staff I encountered was friendly, courteous and helpful.
Views from the terrace for sundowners, lunch or breakfast cannot be beaten and the restaurant is widely regarded as the best in Namibia.
the rooms are very comfortable, but a little old-fashioned and, in some at least, need a little up-keep, particularly the bathrooms.
Wifi is included in the rate at the hotel but only really works in the main building as the old style very thick walls seem to create a problem in the rooms.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickintheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I selected the hotel because it was something different and not from a chain? The check-in was ok with payment already being taken before arrival. Not good! Rooms are on 2 levels accessed through a garden. The room allocated was number 16 was a good size and had an interesting decor and furnishings! Don't like the fact that there is no security on the entrance door bar the deadlock which can be opened from outside as housekeeping demonstrated. Put a chain on at least! From the moment of check-in I was pestered for a dinner reservation otherwise they would sell the table. Good luck as it wasn't very busy, perhaps at the weekend maybe worth pushing but not a week day. The same happened the following day with reception looking for dinner reservations before breakfast. Pity there wasn't the same consistency with the turn down service which never materialised the second night. The rooms are cold at night an impossible to warm up. The food at the restaurant is well presented but overall far too pretentious. Not taking any wine with dinner appeared to be a shock and I was quizzed why not. Not the waiters place to challenge me I believe. Internet is free and absolutely rubbish with one or two bars max and even then pretty useless so don't expect much. If you are looking for something out of the ordinary it could fit the bill but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have taken clients to the hotel for dinner on two occasions. The consistency of their service, great quality of their food is something to write home about. I would suggest they widen the variety of the menu though, especially seafood. Other than you can't falter the overall dining experience. Well done to management and the team

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lagos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.6 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.3 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heinitzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heinitzburg

Property: Hotel Heinitzburg
Address: 22 Heinitzburg Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heinitzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Heinitzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heinitzburg Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing