We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European style restaurant with the best service in Windhoek”
Review of Hotel Heinitzburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Heinitzburg
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The best springbok I ate so far, very well cooked. The wine recommendation also superb, congratulations to the sommelier. And the waiters and waitresses all very attentive and professional. A place worth dining in Windhoek!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graca62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

If you stay here, you will be overlooking the city of Windhoek, in three directions. Beautiful lights at night, scenic panaroma during the day.
You will always be greeted by pleasant, polite staff, whether at reception or in the dining room.
Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a side room with French doors opening out on to the pool. Bathroom was also spacious and sparkling clean. Wifi service is free and reliable.
The hotel itself is reminiscent of the old world grandeur, with a chandelier in just about every room. Decor is along the same lines, but believe me, there is absolutely nothing stuffy about the hotel. It is just unremittingly pleasant.
The Dining Room is elegant, also providing a stunning view of the city at night. The chef is just excellent, and there is a wide variety of items on the menu. Everything from Kudu steak to a mushroom dish entree (really) to Norwegian salmon, all prepared and presented in lovely fashion. Had my first Springbok consomme ever. Don't ever expect to see something like this in any other restaurant. It was superb.
The Dining Room is a symphony of silver service. The waitstaff delights in bringing your entree under a large silver cloche, and opening it with a flourish. Perfect little bit of dinner drama.
There were just a couple of quirky things -- for dinner in the Dining Room, you cannot get wine by the glass, just the half bottle. I recognize that this is at any restaurant's discretion, but it left us with more wine than we needed each night. Also, we were not able to get a mixed drink (Bloody Mary) at the dinner service, but were limited to the mixed drinks they had on their menu. The martini was very good, but their mixed drink menu had about ten selections on it. I guess you're out of luck if you get a taste for something else.
Anyway, this was a peak hotel experience. You'd have to be pretty jaded not to enjoy this.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Aude48214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We started our tour of Namibia in this beautiful hotel. We had a long flight from the UK and it was very pleasant to arrive and be brought a glass of sparkling wine as we unpacked. The room was lovely with plenty of space and it had everything we needed.

The restaurant is a beautiful elegant room with views out over Windhoek. We were impressed. The staff were efficient and friendly and the food was great.

I hope we will return to Windhoek someday and if we do we would have no hesitation in staying
here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShadeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Even though the setting, for Windhoek standards, is rather picturesque: on top of a hill in the upmarket part of town, the restaurant in this establishment offered our group service so lousy it was ripe for a comedy. A couple at a table next to us ended up paying and leaving as their sandwiches came out, because they simply couldn't wait any longer! If you want a waitress/waiter to come to you, get up and find one and if you don't want your order to come out all wrong, rather write it down yourself and give the waitress/waiter.
Restaurant staff here were utterly incompetent!
But, if you have all the time in the world, don't mind a rather expensive meal that you'll have to wait a long time for, and want a great few of Windhoek, go here.

Room Tip: This is a restaurant review only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank blueduiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Excellent accomodation on the top of a hill, thus a very beautiful panoramic view on the city. Staff extremely friendly and efficient. Food is excellent (gastronomic level) at quite an affordable price. Excellent vine list. Rooms are extremly nice and very well equipped, but be aware, only a couple of them do have view, most have none.

Room Tip: Room 16 has the best view, room 14 has some view, the others have none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmutrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Heinitzburg is not terrible, and probably deserves its reputation as the best hotel in Windhoek. However, don't be fooled by the Relais & Chateaux affiliation - if you are looking for an R&S experience (or even an average five-star hotel), you'll be disappointed. Save your money and stay at one of the new boutique hotels (the Olive, Villa Verdi, etc.) elsewhere in the city, as the Heinitzburg totally fails to deliver on the R&S brand promise.

The location, on top of a hill overlooking central Windhoek, is pleasant, and the rooms were top notch - clean, well-decorated, nicely appointed, etc.

The service, however, was apathetic and disaffected at best. The wifi was down for our entire stay, and when we inquired about it the staff simply told us that it was an issue with the service provider and there was nothing they could do - no suggestions for other places in town we could get online, or alternative ideas - simply "it's probably not going to be fixed for a few days." The bartender at the terrace bar didn't know how to make the basic cocktails that were listed on the menu (I ordered the gin martini straight from the cocktail list and got a glass of sweet vermouth with olives), and a simple bottle of Windhoek took 15 minutes to arrive in the largely empty bar. First world problems, to be sure - but then again, we were paying first world prices!

A final note - the AC in our room wasn't working, but based on our experience with the service staff up to that point we decided to just open the windows rather than contact the front desk... which resulted in us waking up in the middle of the night to a stray cat that had jumped into the room through the ground-floor window. I can't really complain about this because it was kind of hilarious, but... just no.

Up your game, Heinitzburg!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gubbiofarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

In May I drove from Angola to Mozambique and stayed in this great hotel with a fantastic view over the city. Although I had not made a prior booking the hotel staff and Manager were very welcoming and helpful in accommodating me for one night. The hotel is quiet and very relaxing.
The hotel chef cooked me a fantastic meal with a starter courtesy of the chef. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, it has a nice garden and plenty of space to sit outside and enjoy the magnificent view it offers. Definitely a place to go back for a longer stay. Although a bit pricey, I do recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Windhoek be for leisure or business. Ideal for couples or family.

Room Tip: If you traveling with large pieces of luggage I recommend you choosing a room next to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,472 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
243 reviews
3.3 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.4 mi away
Roof of Africa Hotel Conference & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heinitzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heinitzburg

Address: 22 Heinitzburg Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range: £149 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heinitzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Heinitzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heinitzburg Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing