We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Sandton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This is a Sun International Hotel with a casino. The hotel is in a mall complex which has a great selection of stores on the ground level.The room was luxurious and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. my only complaint would be that the noise levels when there is a party on the roof terrace filters down to the rooms (roof terrace was on the 19th floor and I was on the 9th floor). I would stay there again and its a great venue for meetings and business trips as it is central, as compared to the Windhoek Country Club which is a fair distance out of the city centre.

I see that many people complained that the staff were slow. If one appreciates that this is Namibia and service is SLOW EVERYWHERE! People are not rude and bad at service - because they feel they are giving you the best service. The slowness is a cultural norm and one should expect this.

I also went to the SPA and it was excellent with very well trained therapists.

Room Tip: I dont know whether it is possible to find a room which is not affected by roof terrace parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SZavahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    238
    117
    26
    19
See reviews for
40
132
41
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a holiday in Namibia. We stayed in 3 hotels throughout the country, 2 were exceptional, 1 was terrible. Sadly this was the Kalahari Sands. Despite the location & housekeeping cleanliness being excellent this was a truly awful experience for 2 reasons:

- Bad bad bad staff attitudes. This ruined the overall stay having to deal with rude, inattentive & inhospitable staff. The worst of which was a lady on the main reception (closely followed by the waitresses in the restaurant).

- Poor quality food served on the buffet. Perhaps this was exaggerated by the terrible staff attitudes, however I'm always amazed at the buffet dogma of offering many dishes of low quality rather than a few tasty dishes. Specifically poor quality meat & no attention to how the food was presented.

Fix the staff attitudes & improve the quality of food in the buffet (even if you raise the price) and this would be a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldwidetrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Rooms, lobby and restaurant (incl. buffet) ok, but service very hard to get, even by phone and sometimes even at the reception desk. Prepare to be patient especially in the restaurant, and do not bother when cleaning lady is entering your with her own keys in the morning at 8 ("oh, you are in"). One exception: laundry service was excellent!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The service is slow....probably the worst of the many African hotels I've stayed at. The bathrrom was not cleaned properly. The lobby stinks of cigarettes. Ther are prostitutes in the bar. The buffet is sub par. The rooms are a decent size.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenOldChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My wife and I were booked into the Kalahari Sands Hotel on Oct 28 for one night at the end of our Namibia holiday. That one night turned into four nights because of the closing of JFK following Hurricane Sandy. Despite being very full, the staff went out of their way to make us welcome and very comfortable as we dealt with the uncertainty of when we would be able to go home. On the front desk Therresa Rudifo deserves special mention. She was great, upgrading our room at no additional charge and securing it every day as we waited until 3:00 pm to hear if we were going or staying. The bellman hauled our bags up and down four times with a great sense of humor, keeping us calm during a time of stress. When we thanked a member of the room cleaning staff for a service, she very graciuosly said "It is no problem. You are my guests." sounding like it was her hotel not like an employee. We were touched and impressed.

About the hotel in general, we found the rooms very comfortable. Breakfast, which is included in the rate, and the lunch and dinner buffets, are very good with a lot of variety of choices. At first we found the hotel's entrance on the second floor of a shopping arcade a little odd, but it turned out to be very convenient, with a restaurant, coffee shop, supermarket, pharmacy, and many interesting shops right outside our door. There are also two excellent restaurants within a block of the hotel.

We went out every morning at 6:00 am for exercise and always felt very safe in the neighbor. The hotel is right in the heart of downtown Windhoek which we got to know very well on our extended stay.

We would have two suggestions for improvement. Because the casino and the lounge are just off the lobby, the smell of cigarette smoke is very strong there. This was not an issue in the rooms. Since smoking seems to be more common in Namibia than the US, I don't know what the solution might be; but the air quality in the lobby is challenging for non-smokers.

Second, the coffee and tea service was very slow at breakfast, despite the appearance of adequate staff. Why not put a coffee and tea service station out where quests can serve themselves if they choose to. It's already a buffet. What's one more station? Service at lunch and dinner was much more responsive, so we don't know what might cause this issue at breakfast. But the solution of an extra station seems like an easy fix.

To the staff of the Kalahari Sands Hotel, thank you for making us feel welcome and well looked after during a time if stress and uncertainty. We will be back and we will recommend your hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia P, Manager at AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Valued Client,

We pride ourselves on putting our guests first and making their stay with us memorable. We are happy that we could make what could only have been a challenging time, just a little bit easier. We look foward to hosting you once again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Check in was poor. Attendant was preoccupied and directed me to ninth floor. My room was on the 10th.
Needed extra towels the following morning took almost thirty minutes for these to arrive. Almost missed my meeting. By then had called housekeeping four times. Apparently had to pay for wifi - go downstairs to business centre to get this. I should have been told as I checked in. Experience so poor decided not to even bother with breakfast following morning. Not to mention now running a little off pace due to towel wait.
Am a frequent traveller to Windhoek. Previously stayed at the Hilton. Was sold the close to office bit for KS. Never again. Besides Hilton is like 100m down the road so no difference really.
Back to the Hilton. For good.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

If you are staying in Windhoek on business I would suggest this is the best place. Situated in the heart of the city this hotel offers all what a business traveler wants- close access to restaurants, shops & offices, transport, parks etc. Also, if you are the one who likes to do a bit of shopping then the hotel is situated to handicraft emporiums, local clothing stores, jewelry stores and so much more. And to keep you entertained, the hotel has a casino to keep you busy all through the night.

The staff at Kalahari are experienced and I found them better than that at Hilton. But one word of advise is that if you are a foreign national then i would suggest that you get your booking confirmed in writing to avoid any misunderstanding.

Room Tip: 10th floor South Facing for that beautiful city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,346 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
358 reviews
2.0 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 16 in Windhoek
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino

Property: AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Address: 129 Independent Ave, Windhoek 9000, Namibia (Formerly Kalahari Sands Hotel & Casino)
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#2 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the hub of the city center. The newly re-branded AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino offers you a place to pursue both business and pleasure. All rooms are decorated to blend into their earthy surroundings and there's only one aspiration: to give you an unparalleled hospitality experience. So wherever you're coming from and wherever you're going, let the AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino in Windhoek be your first port of call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Sands Hotel And Casino
Kalahari Sands Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing