We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, typical African lack of professionalism and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Great rooms, mediocre food, check in took 40 minutes even though I am a regular stay member. Really dirty under beds, however rooms are great and hotel in general is ok, however some of the upperclass boutique hotels and guesthouses in Windhoek are probably much better value for money

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namcrewtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

I loved my room which was spacious, clean and comfortable. I was on the 14th floor and had a wonderful view of windhoek! The breakfast buffet had really good variety all throughout my stay and i found the staff friendly. The location is superb, right in the heart of windhoek. Here's the problem: smoking is permitted in the lobby. I mean this is a public (and enclosed) area! It was a most unpleasant experience to be assailed by second hand smoke during check in. To make matters worse, ashtrays were not regularly emptied. Memo to hotel management: second-hand smoke is vile and hazardous.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudstheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia P, Manager at AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear AudstheGreat,

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. The main focus of the mangement and staff of the hotel is to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay with us. We are currently addressing smoking in the public areas, as Namibia has not yet fully implemented the law prohibing smoking in public areas. We however are looking into a small dedicated area which is away from the larger public areas. We look foward to you visting our hotel again in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

... I just know from my friends the rooms are now renovated and look much better (Hilton is now on the other side of the street), but today I had dinner in their restaurant (buffet) which was between ok to bad (fish totally salty, most of the meat tasteless and poor quality).
But the cream on the top was the bar. Sorry, but the way they serve there (time, attitude, friendliness) is not acceptable. Also I would expect in a hotel like this, that the staff at least speaks English on a Thai Bar Lady level.
Also if you order rum without ice and then you have to watch them how they remove the ice (because of their own miscommunication) by using 3(!) glasses, the the only positive thing I can say is,that luckily they did not do with their fingers.
When I was already out of the bar and my friends complained that their attitude is not ok, the answer was "You do not come to my country and tell me ...." But half of them hold Namibian passports ...
Sorry, there are other places where you can spend your money.
If you have no clue, you could at least be friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Rooms are large, very comfortable, all amenities. Hotel has restaurant, spa and bars. Shops around the corner, excellent location. I had to stay there because airline canceled my flight, I stayed there only for some hours but it did help to relax from that stressful situation. Didn't had time to check the casino.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrisCorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This is a Sun International Hotel with a casino. The hotel is in a mall complex which has a great selection of stores on the ground level.The room was luxurious and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. my only complaint would be that the noise levels when there is a party on the roof terrace filters down to the rooms (roof terrace was on the 19th floor and I was on the 9th floor). I would stay there again and its a great venue for meetings and business trips as it is central, as compared to the Windhoek Country Club which is a fair distance out of the city centre.

I see that many people complained that the staff were slow. If one appreciates that this is Namibia and service is SLOW EVERYWHERE! People are not rude and bad at service - because they feel they are giving you the best service. The slowness is a cultural norm and one should expect this.

I also went to the SPA and it was excellent with very well trained therapists.

Room Tip: I dont know whether it is possible to find a room which is not affected by roof terrace parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SZavahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a holiday in Namibia. We stayed in 3 hotels throughout the country, 2 were exceptional, 1 was terrible. Sadly this was the Kalahari Sands. Despite the location & housekeeping cleanliness being excellent this was a truly awful experience for 2 reasons:

- Bad bad bad staff attitudes. This ruined the overall stay having to deal with rude, inattentive & inhospitable staff. The worst of which was a lady on the main reception (closely followed by the waitresses in the restaurant).

- Poor quality food served on the buffet. Perhaps this was exaggerated by the terrible staff attitudes, however I'm always amazed at the buffet dogma of offering many dishes of low quality rather than a few tasty dishes. Specifically poor quality meat & no attention to how the food was presented.

Fix the staff attitudes & improve the quality of food in the buffet (even if you raise the price) and this would be a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldwidetrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Rooms, lobby and restaurant (incl. buffet) ok, but service very hard to get, even by phone and sometimes even at the reception desk. Prepare to be patient especially in the restaurant, and do not bother when cleaning lady is entering your with her own keys in the morning at 8 ("oh, you are in"). One exception: laundry service was excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,458 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
250 reviews
3.5 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#9 of 17 in Windhoek
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino

Address: 129 Independent Ave, Windhoek 9000, Namibia (Formerly Kalahari Sands Hotel & Casino)
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range: £107 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the hub of the city center. The newly re-branded AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino offers you a place to pursue both business and pleasure. All rooms are decorated to blend into their earthy surroundings and there's only one aspiration: to give you an unparalleled hospitality experience. So wherever you're coming from and wherever you're going, let the AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino in Windhoek be your first port of call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Sands Hotel And Casino
Kalahari Sands Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing