We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location - rooms have good standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
351 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Central location - rooms have good standard”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights while we were planning/organizing our Namibia trip. The hotel is located very central with walking distance to major attractions, shopping malls and restaurants. Prices can be high in the season so book early. Rooms are modern, comfortable and clean. Good value for money. Only drawback: wifi is not included in the room rate and needs to be purchased. This is not acceptable for a hotel of this class and price. Every backpacker's lodge offers already free wifi anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors so you can enjoy the view over Windhoek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    223
    116
    26
    18
See reviews for
39
131
39
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Kalahari Sands is situated in the centre of Windhoek in a shopping centre. It is part of the Sun International group, making it very convenient for just about everything in the town. I checked into hotel on Sunday and the check in process was very quick with the receptionist very helpful. The room is very big and spacious and very clean. Breakfast was the usual Sun International type of affair and was workmanlike. Staff appeared very disinterested though and not at all helpful. For more this is very disappointing and you almost too scared to ask anything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henmo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Kalahari Sands is in a large shopping centre in the centre of Windhoek, making it very convenient for just about everything in the town. Checking in on a Sunday evening took an excrutiatingly long time as there was only one receptionist behind the counter and a fairly substantial queue was moving at a glacial pace. The room more than compensated, however, as it was huge and very clean. There were some noisy guests nearby who insisted on partying until around midnight with the bedroom door open. Breakfast was the usual Sun International type of affair and was workmanlike. Staff appeared disinterested though. Next time would seriously consider the nearby Hilton as an alternative, even though it is a lot more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisGilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

It is about four years since I stayed in Kalahari Sands and in that time it has been completely renovated. The rooms are very clean, the beds very comfortable, the linen pristine. The staff and service is very friendly.

The breakfast at Kalahari is world class and the range of food is excellent. You even get a morning paper. I am having withdrawal symptoms now I am home because I will not see a breakfast like that for a while!

Kalahari is central in Windhoek with excellent shopping facilities. There is hotel parking and there is free access to a gym a very short walk from the hotel. There is also a pool area on the roof where you can lie in the sun but don’t forget that at 1600m above sea level you will burn quite quickly.

WiFi is available at small charge (it works well) and the bedrooms have a range of power sockets that will cater for all charger connectors. There is also a good business centre where you can print documents.

Kalahari Sands is excellent value for money and an excellent base from which to explore Namibia.

If you want an airport transfer or tour of the city, contact Michael on 00264812368666. He is a very good driver.

Room Tip: Try to keep away from the front of the building as the lifts can be a bit noisy. The views are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikailW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
295 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I've stayed at the hotel on two occasions within a week. The room was very good, but I had a few "not so good" experiences. I only visited the restaurant for breakfast as I was too tired for dinner. Places should be set 100% with all cutlery - spoons at every cup. Plates should be placed at the breakfast point where the guest will dish up. The flow of the buffet should in a planned direction - not all over the place. Enough of the negatives.
I had 150M of WiFi per night free, which was sufficient for the time in the hotel. The bathrooms were very clean and well appointed. Bed very comfortable and spacious.
Will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Good location. Beginning to look a bit jaded now but room cleaned well. Staff could do with more smiles & eagerness to help guests, rather than behaving officious. Hey, it is a hospitality business. Maybe they can learn from 'Madaline' at front desk or Ms Shane in the restaurant. Also, can management please vary the breakfast and dinner menus? Wifi was slow. For a nice sundowner drink, pop across to Hilton's skybar.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkyong98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Short & sweet. Clean , modern, well situated, good food & friendly staff. Only negative was no free Wi-Fi (cost 50 Nam Dollars for 500MB) albeit reasonable, should be free for such an establishment. Highly recommended if travelling on business.

Room Tip: Construction taking place across the road, so opt for room on higher floor. Mine was on 10th & c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauloDA_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia P, Manager at AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel - we continusouly strive to give our guests exceptional service, and a memorable stay. We look foward to you visiting us again in the near future.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.5 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino

Property: AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Address: 129 Independent Ave, Windhoek 9000, Namibia (Formerly Kalahari Sands Hotel & Casino)
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the hub of the city center. The newly re-branded AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino offers you a place to pursue both business and pleasure. All rooms are decorated to blend into their earthy surroundings and there's only one aspiration: to give you an unparalleled hospitality experience. So wherever you're coming from and wherever you're going, let the AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino in Windhoek be your first port of call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Sands Hotel Windhoek
Kalahari Sands Hotel And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing