We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Like my title says, the hotel was average. Pleasant bed, acceptable standard of cleanliness with the exception of the bath which was not particularly inviting. Staff were quite nice and did their best to answer questions & address concerns. My standout for this hotel was the room service, my burger was utterly delicious, great and grilled to perfection with crispy fries. My compliments to the chef! The absence of the salad I initially requested though due to 'the avocado not being ready' took me aback somewhat though given the considerable size of the hotel. Multi- plug wall fittings were present (a personal favourite touch I always appreciate as a business traveller). However there was no complimentary internet access. Indeed one cannot even enter their room details and name on the hotel site from their room but must instead head to the business centre to purchase a hard copy voucher (which incidentally barely lasted an hour). I see a need to step into the future at least on that score if they are not prepared to provide complimentary wifi (at $250 per night, I really can't see why not). Great TV channels though with up to date movies. The provision of breakfast boxes for very early departures was appreciated. I should also point out that the hotel is located within a mall so you shopaholics will love that! It's a good location from which to do a spot of sightseeing. I didn't have time to pop by the casino so I'm afraid those with the gambling bug won't get anything from me on that score. Overall, a nice enough hotel if you're passing through. Give it a go.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nyamisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    214
    108
    24
    17
See reviews for
37
127
36
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

A clean and tidy hotel and was a good place to spend a night on our to and from our two week Namibian trip. We're not really into Casinos in a big way so didn't spend any time in the Casino which looked somewhat dowdy. The restaurant was good and served good food and as others have mentioned it's conveniently located in a shopping mall. Not much ambience but given our amazing experiences in the rest of Namibia and Southern Africa we treated it as a stopover point and it is ideal for that purpose.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a classic hotel. Well located .the place has shopping complex on the ground gloor which makes it very easy to do shopping. A bit expensive though but worth it.i loved it.

I wouldn't mind staying there again

Room Tip: I loved the 22th floor.goodcview of the city at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chitombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
143 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel location is good and could not be more central to all business and other activities in Windhoek. With the hotel being part of the Sun chain of South African hotels it also comes with their standards - and with a casino. The room on the 5th floor was fine and rather spacious, all amenities were in good shape and the bedding was comfortable. The only downside is that you have to pay for internet access - they offer a number of access plans which are not too expensive, but still, other hotels in Namibia offer this for free. The internet speed was rather slow, despite the payment....never mind, I would have no hesitation to return to this hotel in future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbdutytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okahandja
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were frequent visitors to this hotel for the past 17 years and it improved a lot over the years - especially aesthetically. There service was never VERY great, but acceptable. We used to buy there Privileged Portfolio package on a yearly basis which gave us great discounts as Namibians, but since last year we were not contacted to join and started going to the Hilton instead. We tried to book there about 2 months ago but the prices were exuberant ! I would say they are over priced. There buffet is also very expensive in comparison to other hotels. They should make the variety less and decrease the price. Its not necessary to provide that big a variety and then have to charge that much. Breakfast is very expensive. You can get much better at many places all over Windhoek for less. Overall the hotel is good, but we do not feel like going there anymore.

Room Tip: Don't go too high not too low. Keep away from the lifts (elevators)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've been in Windhoek for business, so I didn't appreciate the full potentiality of this hotel.
anyway the place is in the center of the city, and the room and service was good.
I really appreciated the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RapalloTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I spent 2 nights at the Kalahari Sands last week and was pleasantly surprised that the rooms had been completely revamped and refreshed. Linen crisp and fresh. The rooms are larger than the average business hotel which gives one a sense of space. Service was better and one had a feeling that a new focus was on this hotel.
Although a customer complained very publically at breakfast, i found some of the staff very attentive. Especially the two older ladies at the grill, so pleasant, thank you.
Wifi was good

Room Tip: I was on the 8th floor in room 812, noisy during the day due to construction across the road, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohan2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
3.5 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino

Property: AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Address: 129 Independent Ave, Windhoek 9000, Namibia (Formerly Kalahari Sands Hotel & Casino)
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the hub of the city center. The newly re-branded AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino offers you a place to pursue both business and pleasure. All rooms are decorated to blend into their earthy surroundings and there's only one aspiration: to give you an unparalleled hospitality experience. So wherever you're coming from and wherever you're going, let the AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino in Windhoek be your first port of call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Sands Hotel Windhoek
Kalahari Sands Hotel And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing