We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and in need of general maintenance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is all facade and no substance. Staff are all well versed in side stepping should a request for anything extra, such as a toilet roll, be required. Calls to housekeeping go unanswered, or the receiver is picked up and replaced to disconnect the call! Going through reception with a request yields no results either. Beds are uncomfortable, towels supplied were threadbare. Bathrooms are gloss painted on the walls and floors, providing near impossible navigation when water escapes from the leaking shower door. Everything in the bathroom/s looks moldy and stained! Extractor fans in bathrooms no longer work. We booked two rooms on this visit and they were both in poor condition. Buffet dinner was mediocre, with poorly trained staff in attendance, both behind the buffet counters and on the tables. It took three attempts to get a round of drinks in the dining room, when one consisted of nothing more than a soft drink! If the establishment had been running at full capacity, one can expect delays, but the hotel was not busy. This hotel has the potential to be something amazing, but is neglected and poorly run. Staff, in every department, tend to give the impression that guests are an inconvenience. It should not have the star rating given and the room rates are ridiculously high for what is offered in terms of accommodation and service.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koki50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

Staff were generally friendly, however, became very unhelpful and bitter towards people with special needs. When asked for a softer pillow, as one suffered with an incredibly bad neck, the women at reception refused and said that she could not supply such. If this hotel is 4 stars, can they not provide a decent pillow? Decor of rooms and bathroom is incredibly bland and offers very little to the imagination. Very bad shower and the bathroom set up needs to be rethought. Dining room food is definitely not up to scratch and requires a lot more work, as the food was bland and rather overpriced for what you actually get. I suggest a different hotel, as this hotels ratings does not match its substance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megthetraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I was told this is one of the better hotel in Windheok, after staying there for 3 nights it makes me wonder what will happen if i went to a lower end hotel. This hotel is generally ok with decent room size and reasonably clean. However, the concept of service is non existence.

No bell boy to help carry my stuff to the room when check in.
Had problem with wifi in my room and ask to change room, all i get is another card key and i am supposed to shift room all by myself.
Asked for an ethernet cable took one day after asking twice
Asked for new sets of towels (after changing rooms) took 3 hours

Upside
Decent breakfast and room service is pretty prompt. Chinese restuarant no bad too.

If you are not fussy about service level it is fine.

Room Tip: near the lobby face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puzhitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Windhoek Country Club is probably one of the better hotels in Windhoek. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room are spacious and clean. Huge dinner and breakfast spread and of high standard. Hotel has a 18 hole championship golf course and a testing course for all handicaps. Recently the greens suffered a bit of damage and there are temporary greens on some holes. The hotel is highly recommended for business travelers and vacationers alike. The hotel is expensive, but well worth visiting. Complimentary 6 hour per day Internet vouchers available from reception.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool area is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diekudus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We only stayed here one night , the restaurant seemed OK but not really friendly.
The room was OK but there were no toiletries in the bathroom , I don't want shampoo etc.. but would like a bar of soap !! The electrical system was a bit variable - we plugged in a hairdryer and the socket nearly fell off the wall.
The grounds were nice but don't stress the pool bar people by asking for a Pina Colada - they can only cope with requests for beer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Country Club Resort in Windhoek is a beautiful property - it has a nice pool, a very nice breakfast buffet, a nice office/work area in the rooms and new flat screen TVs. The staff is very friendly and they offer all the main services you would need.
My main 'complaint' is that they are a bit far flung from the city center, however, they do make up for this by providing a free shuttle service that takes you straight to the city. This is done 6 days a week several times a day, so that is really nice. And despite being "stuck" outside the city vis-a-vis food options, there is a Chinese restaurant in the hotel that is quite authentic, is very affordable and is actually quite good. So, if you're here for a conference or as a family it's great - but not so great for couples, friends or solo in my opinion.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garspolyglotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This is the best place to stay while in Windhoek. The hotel is large with nice gardens and multiple restaurants within. There is a decent size casino (for africa standards) that stays fairly active around the clock. The rooms are in great condition, in great shape and the beds were very comfortable. I liked the toiletries provided in the bathroom and my room had a safety deposit box. There was good access to internet from the room and cable TV had a good selection of channels. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by the overall experience. I would recommended this hotel to anyone staying in Windhoek.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilfredo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,464 reviews
3.5 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 17 in Windhoek
386 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Windhoek
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windhoek Country Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windhoek Country Club Resort

Address: Western Bypass, Pioneer Park, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Windhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range: £135 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windhoek Country Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Windhoek Country Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windhoek Country Club Hotel Windhoek
Windhoek Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing