We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Flying visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Totnes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quick Flying visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Flying in on Business Was booked into a beautiful hotel Lobby very nice and African. Staff very helpful and friendly. The room I had was nice well made up with all it should have internet TV fridge etc office type desk & nice bed. Bathroom was well appointed but showing signs of age/used & could do with a little TLC. The Golf course(not used) was a stones through out the back & looked superb with a driving range as well. The pool also set in nice gardens and spaced out tables chairs sun beds etc. The pool bar very cleaver design back to the Stone age great place to have a drink with a water channel attached to the pool & fountain. The main restaurant & eating area down stairs looked & was very nice buffet & or menu, with outside two water features which take some beating & took the show, nice if your in a romantic mood (Not for me this time!). Bit of a hike 30 mins or so from airport but well worth the trip. Will go again if in Windhoek again nice taxi ride organised by the hotel both ways slightly pricey for Africa but again well worth if you don't know your way there or around and as such very safe for me anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view but most looked good anyway with a balcony nice quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    149
    50
    24
    12
See reviews for
43
72
12
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is all facade and no substance. Staff are all well versed in side stepping should a request for anything extra, such as a toilet roll, be required. Calls to housekeeping go unanswered, or the receiver is picked up and replaced to disconnect the call! Going through reception with a request yields no results either. Beds are uncomfortable, towels supplied were threadbare. Bathrooms are gloss painted on the walls and floors, providing near impossible navigation when water escapes from the leaking shower door. Everything in the bathroom/s looks moldy and stained! Extractor fans in bathrooms no longer work. We booked two rooms on this visit and they were both in poor condition. Buffet dinner was mediocre, with poorly trained staff in attendance, both behind the buffet counters and on the tables. It took three attempts to get a round of drinks in the dining room, when one consisted of nothing more than a soft drink! If the establishment had been running at full capacity, one can expect delays, but the hotel was not busy. This hotel has the potential to be something amazing, but is neglected and poorly run. Staff, in every department, tend to give the impression that guests are an inconvenience. It should not have the star rating given and the room rates are ridiculously high for what is offered in terms of accommodation and service.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koki50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Staff were generally friendly, however, became very unhelpful and bitter towards people with special needs. When asked for a softer pillow, as one suffered with an incredibly bad neck, the women at reception refused and said that she could not supply such. If this hotel is 4 stars, can they not provide a decent pillow? Decor of rooms and bathroom is incredibly bland and offers very little to the imagination. Very bad shower and the bathroom set up needs to be rethought. Dining room food is definitely not up to scratch and requires a lot more work, as the food was bland and rather overpriced for what you actually get. I suggest a different hotel, as this hotels ratings does not match its substance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megthetraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I was told this is one of the better hotel in Windheok, after staying there for 3 nights it makes me wonder what will happen if i went to a lower end hotel. This hotel is generally ok with decent room size and reasonably clean. However, the concept of service is non existence.

No bell boy to help carry my stuff to the room when check in.
Had problem with wifi in my room and ask to change room, all i get is another card key and i am supposed to shift room all by myself.
Asked for an ethernet cable took one day after asking twice
Asked for new sets of towels (after changing rooms) took 3 hours

Upside
Decent breakfast and room service is pretty prompt. Chinese restuarant no bad too.

If you are not fussy about service level it is fine.

Room Tip: near the lobby face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puzhitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape town, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Windhoek Country Club is probably one of the better hotels in Windhoek. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room are spacious and clean. Huge dinner and breakfast spread and of high standard. Hotel has a 18 hole championship golf course and a testing course for all handicaps. Recently the greens suffered a bit of damage and there are temporary greens on some holes. The hotel is highly recommended for business travelers and vacationers alike. The hotel is expensive, but well worth visiting. Complimentary 6 hour per day Internet vouchers available from reception.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool area is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diekudus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We only stayed here one night , the restaurant seemed OK but not really friendly.
The room was OK but there were no toiletries in the bathroom , I don't want shampoo etc.. but would like a bar of soap !! The electrical system was a bit variable - we plugged in a hairdryer and the socket nearly fell off the wall.
The grounds were nice but don't stress the pool bar people by asking for a Pina Colada - they can only cope with requests for beer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Country Club Resort in Windhoek is a beautiful property - it has a nice pool, a very nice breakfast buffet, a nice office/work area in the rooms and new flat screen TVs. The staff is very friendly and they offer all the main services you would need.
My main 'complaint' is that they are a bit far flung from the city center, however, they do make up for this by providing a free shuttle service that takes you straight to the city. This is done 6 days a week several times a day, so that is really nice. And despite being "stuck" outside the city vis-a-vis food options, there is a Chinese restaurant in the hotel that is quite authentic, is very affordable and is actually quite good. So, if you're here for a conference or as a family it's great - but not so great for couples, friends or solo in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garspolyglotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
3.3 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.5 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 16 in Windhoek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windhoek Country Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windhoek Country Club Resort

Property: Windhoek Country Club Resort
Address: Western Bypass, Pioneer Park, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Windhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Windhoek Country Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windhoek Country Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windhoek Country Club Hotel Windhoek
Windhoek Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing