We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too pretentious ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windhoek Country Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Helsinki
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Too pretentious ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Dears,

Pb from the beginning concerning the config of our bedroom ....
We have asked for two bedrooms with communicating door:

1 bedroom with king size bed
1 bedroom with 3 single bed

What did we have ?

1 bedroom with double bed
1 bedroom with 2 beds

Without communicating door.

Nothing to do with our reservation ....
We have complained, without any success ....

The casino in this hotel is not a right place for family ... "Strange" girls are moving around ...
The food was correct, and the rooms were cleaned.
No shuttle on Sunday for town center ...
Swimming pool is correct too.

Thx

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThierryIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Windhoek Country Club Resort, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to communicate your unhappiness as regards your recent stay.
Would you kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you-I accept and agree it is unacceptable especially in an Industry such as ours where the well-being and satisfaction of all our Guests is importsant to us.
Your valued patronage is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    147
    48
    24
    12
See reviews for
43
71
12
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oegstgeest
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was the second time I spent in the hotel. The rooms are good, the price is reasonable and the breakfast is impressive. This is the only place I know where oysters are served for breakfast. A good place to stay on a business trip.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms on the pool side have nice terraces. Those on the first floor and on the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilHOegstgeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked the table at the restaurant for six on 1 st Jan 2014 and the lady at the restaurant even took my cell number in case, they need too inform us any changes.We reached in time and to our utter disappointment ( i would love to call it horror) the manger informed me that they have no such booking in their register.I showed them the cell phone number and the timing but he would not have any of it. Upon raising my voice he promised to help us out by making a table for us , which took him more than 15 minutes. He was not at all apologetic about it . Service provided was is less said the better. they forced us to buy expensive imported bottled water saying that they don't have Namibian companies bottled water.A friendly advice when you book lunch or dinner ,take the name of the person who is booking your table and pray to God .the staff can not be much useful in making your evening , only God can .Hope the senior management staff can make the this beautiful property worth visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valmiksoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Windhoek Country Club Resort, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort in offering your constructive comments and feedback.
Would you kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you by the inefficiency of our Team in not making the dinner reservations as requested by yourself-I agree it is unacceptable especially in our Industry where the well-being and satisfaction of all our Guests is important to us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Has the makings of a very good hotel, but poor lighting in lobby and rooms, somewhat shabby rooms and AC in rooms need improvements. The main lobby also smells of smoke due to the casino which must be full of smoke and wafts into the lobby. The rooms are fine: clean with the ammenities expected of such a hotel, but the light of the AC unit cast a blue hue all night and the room was not dark. On the other hand, when we did want lights on, the lighting was poor! We had very pleasant service in the dining room, and the food was pretty good. The pool area was inviting, but does not have easy access to enter or leave the pool if you are somewhat physically limited and should have more lounge chairs for the amount of people staying in the hotel. This was a good hotel when entering and departing Windhoek from the airport, but can not see staying here for more than this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Windhoek Country Club Resort, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments.
Rest assured they are appreciated and welcome in our ongoing assessment of the standards and facilities we offer.
Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconveneince caused to you.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a good hotel for a few night stay in Windhoek. Close to town but just far enough out of town to have peace and quiet. The fact that this hotel is part of the golf grounds helps with the ambiance.
The rooms are very good, with all the necessary that is expected of a hotel of this class. Service was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Room was clean and the staff friendly. Problem with their wifi as noted by another reviewer. Didn't try the Chinese restaurant as we arrived late so instead ordered from the bar. The chicken wings were tasty ! Didn't get to check out the amenities as we had a quick turnaround.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times on business, and would strongly recommend it. The hotel is spacious and peaceful despite being near the centre of town. The customer service is ok, but it can be a little impersonal. The Chinese restaurant attached to the hotel is not worth writing home about. The rooms are very clean and comfortable but I had wifi issues every time I stayed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.3 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
3.3 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#13 of 17 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windhoek Country Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windhoek Country Club Resort

Property: Windhoek Country Club Resort
Address: Western Bypass, Pioneer Park, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Windhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Windhoek Country Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Windhoek Country Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windhoek Country Club Hotel Windhoek
Windhoek Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing