We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Lunch Buffet in Namibia”

Daan Viljoen Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Small-Group Tour: Morning Hike at Daan Viljoen...
Ranked #9 of 54 things to do in Windhoek
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daan Viljoen Game Park.Just 24 km west of Windhoek lies a sanctuary for a relatively large population of game species typical of Namibia's highlands. Proclaimed before Independence to preserve the ecosystem of the Khomas Hochland, the park was named after a former Administrator, Mr Daan Viljoen, who played a major part in establishing the park.The convenient location of the park makes Daan Viljoen an ideal venue for day visits and a perfect stopover for tourists seeking the tranquillity of the bush.FACT FILEPark size: 40 km2Year proclaimed: 1968Natural features: Khomas Hochland Plateau, scenic views of the Windhoek valleyVegetation: Highland shrubland, with various Acacia species, kudu bush (Combretum apiculatum) and buffalo thorn (Ziziphus mucronata).Wildlife: Mammals are springbok, kudu, eland, gemsbok, blue wildebeest, Hartmann's mountain zebra, leopard and klipspringer. Of 200 bird species, endemics include Ruppell's parrot, white-tailed shrike and Monteiro's hornbill.Tourism: The newly renovate Sun Karros Daan Viljoen opened its doors in October 2011. This privately run establishment entered into Public Private Partnership with Namibia Wildlife Resort and Sun Karros Lifestyle Safaris now offers selection of services to the leisure, business and day visitor after three years of construction. The Main lodge comprises of 19 luxury contemporary chalets, 12 well-appointed campsites, three tech-fit conference rooms. The reception area holds a, lounge, kiosk and IT station for in house guests to connect. The Boma Restaurant and pool area is where leisure, business and day visitors can enjoy scrumptious daily meals and beverages.Conservation successesWith game drives and hiking trails, Daan Viljoen is easily accessible to residents of Windhoek and provides an ideal place for visiting school children to learn more about wildlife and conservation in Namibia.Key management issuesPoaching is problematic due to Daan Viljoen adjoining a high-density residential area. The Augeigas River, which runs through the park, is polluted.
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our family booked the Sunday buffet. It was the worst buffet that we ever had. There was no variety in the food. The meat was overcooked. There was only one type of vegetable and the desert was stale. It appeared as if the staff were hiding the food at the back of the kitchen as to allow them to take it home. The meal was further way overpriced. The service was pathetic, we had to walk up to the waiter in order to get drinks. When the bill came, an additional park fee was levied to the bill. To top of a horrible meal the waiter disappeared with our change. DO NOT GO HERE

3  Thank NamCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunKarros D, Marketing Manager at Daan Viljoen Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Apaties,
Regrettably the name of the account (Viljoen was spelt Viljeon by whom ever set this up initially) was spelled incorrectly and we never received your review which was posted in June for a visit to our restaurant in January of this year. We hope that our response even at this late stage show how serious we take service and quality related comments.

We truly regret your experience at our restaurant and although it is quite sometime back we wish to advise that should you consider giving us a second chance we will most definitely like to show you what we have done in the last few months with regards to training, new menu items and reviewed pricing! Please contact Rica Blaauw Marketing and Sales Manager on info@sunkarros.com.na and she will arrange a voucher for your entrance.

With regards to the levies perhaps we can explain the relation between Sun Karros Daan Viljoen and Namibia Wildlife Resorts (NWR). We are one of the few private companies that have been awarded a public private partnership agreement and manage the lodge as a private business inside a national park managed by Ministry of Environment and Tourism. For this privilege we are levied a fee by NWR and this has to reflect separate on our billing although this is included in the rate that are charged in the menu. This levy like VAT has to be reflected separate on a tax invoice and I apologize that this confused you.

We hope that you will give us a second chance and or have visited us again since.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"hiking trails"
in 7 reviews
"swimming pool"
in 7 reviews
"nice walk"
in 4 reviews
"conference facilities"
in 2 reviews
"dry river bed"
in 2 reviews
"a la carte"
in 2 reviews
"km walk"
in 2 reviews
"game park"
in 4 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"off road"
in 2 reviews
"self drive"
in 6 reviews
"half day trip"
in 2 reviews
"stayed here"
in 2 reviews
"big game"
in 2 reviews
"mountain zebra"
in 2 reviews
"last night"
in 2 reviews
"one night"
in 2 reviews

110 - 114 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed for 2 nights on business trip. Very nice upgraded accommodation including stunning camp sites. Problems re gate been addressed by management as you can only exit at 18:00 which was previously opened by Game Rangers. Hotel now have key to ensure gate is opened for guests who need to leave early. If you only sleep over you don't need permit to drive around - as long as you stay on tar road to hotel. Restaurant was disappointing. Nice conference venues

Thank Marius Schoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This small nature reserve is right on Windhoek's door step! It is a lovely place to go and get some bush time without having to drive for hours! It has a good variety of birdlife that you can see around the dam area as well as in the bush. There are two hiking trails - one 9km and one 1.5 km. There is also game here but do not expect an Etosha experience! However Giraffe, oryx and wildebeest can normally be seen.
The new upgraded accommodation looks great - did not stay in it so cannot comment on the service related to the accommodation, but the staff we met were very friendly.

Thank JennieNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Could not see any animals . The drive is not suited for cars , must have 4 -wheel drive vehicle . The reception at the office informed that we can go in car for game viewing .

The office is far from gate for park fees payment . From office ,one has to return back almost to the agte and then begin game viewing . Office could have been located at gate , avoiding all the hassle . presnt office can be coverted to another restaurent / resting place

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunKarros D, Marketing Manager at Daan Viljoen Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Regrettably due to the incorrect spelling of Daan Viljoen on this Account we did not receive your review neither were we alerted as the Resorts new name is called Sun Karros Daan Viljoen.

Allow me to thank you for your comments and very relevant notes. Although the nature park is the smallest in size in comparison to others National Parks/Reserves in Namibia. I does hold a reasonable concentration of wildlife in accordance with its density and responsible conservation capacity only being 4000ha in size. Species include giraffe, eland, zebra, kudu, oryx, hartbeest, blue wildebeest, warthog, jackal to name a few plus over 200 bird spesies have been recorded. Due to the incredible and worst drought in 30 years the behavioral patterns of the wildlife differ almost daily. This year in particular we had no rain in the central area of the park but more on the outer boarders and the grass in that area was more consistent meaning that most animals have preferred to rather explore those areas. These areas are even less assessable due to scaling cliffs and mountain terrain. Generally game species are seen more often seen just before and with sunrise and just before and at sunset.
Valid point on the route - although not a 4x4 is specified or needed a vehicle of more than normal ground clearens for sure - Directorate of parks have also done some much needed road works on the routes.
Thank you too a valid point on the reception area. You will be delighted that we are at the moment at the drawing board to design a reception at the gate for more convenience and easier access. Sun Karros Daan Viljoen is in a private public partnership and manage the lodge with in the national park as a private enterprize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Daan Viljeon offers an attractive, close-to-town, outdoor escape! It's located just 15 km from the center of Windhoek. At the nature reserve I went for hikes, nature walks, off-road drives, bush picnics, photographic sessions and bird-watching excursions - all self-organized. For my nature walks, I simply took south African wildlife guide book, which helped to identify most of the species at the reserve. Newly build restaurant is stylishly decorated and serves appetizing buffet lunches and a la Carte meals, wines and beers. With group of friends, we enjoyed the ambiance and outdoor-feel of the "new" Daan Viljoen's facilities. Personally , I feel, it's becoming one of my favorite "Sunday family escape" places. I didn't mention a huge swimming pool, sand play-pan and garden gym for small kiddies, an outside "boma", closeness to nature and service with a smile!

Thank MaSmaNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daan Viljoen Nature Reserve also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region

Been to Daan Viljoen Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing