We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a day visit”

Daan Viljoen Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.61*
and up
Small-Group Morning Hike at Daan Viljoen Reserve from Windhoek
Ranked #7 of 51 things to do in Windhoek
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daan Viljoen Game Park.Just 24 km west of Windhoek lies a sanctuary for a relatively large population of game species typical of Namibia's highlands. Proclaimed before Independence to preserve the ecosystem of the Khomas Hochland, the park was named after a former Administrator, Mr Daan Viljoen, who played a major part in establishing the park.The convenient location of the park makes Daan Viljoen an ideal venue for day visits and a perfect stopover for tourists seeking the tranquillity of the bush.FACT FILEPark size: 40 km2Year proclaimed: 1968Natural features: Khomas Hochland Plateau, scenic views of the Windhoek valleyVegetation: Highland shrubland, with various Acacia species, kudu bush (Combretum apiculatum) and buffalo thorn (Ziziphus mucronata).Wildlife: Mammals are springbok, kudu, eland, gemsbok, blue wildebeest, Hartmann's mountain zebra, leopard and klipspringer. Of 200 bird species, endemics include Ruppell's parrot, white-tailed shrike and Monteiro's hornbill.Tourism: The newly renovate Sun Karros Daan Viljoen opened its doors in October 2011. This privately run establishment entered into Public Private Partnership with Namibia Wildlife Resort and Sun Karros Lifestyle Safaris now offers selection of services to the leisure, business and day visitor after three years of construction. The Main lodge comprises of 19 luxury contemporary chalets, 12 well-appointed campsites, three tech-fit conference rooms. The reception area holds a, lounge, kiosk and IT station for in house guests to connect. The Boma Restaurant and pool area is where leisure, business and day visitors can enjoy scrumptious daily meals and beverages.Conservation successesWith game drives and hiking trails, Daan Viljoen is easily accessible to residents of Windhoek and provides an ideal place for visiting school children to learn more about wildlife and conservation in Namibia.Key management issuesPoaching is problematic due to Daan Viljoen adjoining a high-density residential area. The Augeigas River, which runs through the park, is polluted.
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I visited the relatively new restaurant. Very nice atmosphere and very beautifully equipment. The food, wine was very good. But the service was poor, the waiter plan-less and disorganized. The park is not very spectacular if you expect a lot of game. You will be disappointed if you expect that. But it is a peaceful area, excellent for walking. The entrance fee is low. It has nice braai places.

1  Thank lovebirdyWindhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunKarros D, Guest Relations Manager at Daan Viljoen Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you. We do take note of the comments and assure you best efforts are made to have a constant in with in the service overall. Our brand is particularly important to us and this we understand is directly related to our service delivery. Hope you will visit us again and we trust our efforts will noted in this regard. Yes our campsites are pretty popular for there comfort, grass terrace and especially the ablutions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Camping site is absolutely stunning, Very well kept and beautifully designed. Only the reception staff needs serious training.

3  Thank Juergen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunKarros D, Guest Relations Manager at Daan Viljoen Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Jeurgen,
Thank you so much for your detailed reply received via email. We will most definitely review the points with our team at reception who are responsible for the check in process. The reception and check-in is a fundamentally important to us as this is where we have the opportunity to create lasting first impressions.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Its not secret, but it is also not given the credit it deserves. Just 18 km out of town a taxi will take you there for a few Euros. Or drive yourself through the park. Admission fees are cheap.

Be aware: they do not allow bicycles or motorcycles into the park. But they do allow you to park them at the main gate and then the staff will give you FREE rides to/from the park main office (about 5km).

There are no dangerous animals in the park so you may walk the trails without concern. However the male ostrich has an attitude...give him space. Once I was surrounded by a family of 6 giraffes coming quite close while browsing on the tree leafs. The photos I got are amazing. But one must be very quiet to see the animals, otherwise they will run away. DUSK is when the animals come out in force to eat and drink so do not leave the park before then and hang out near the water holes/ponds. Bring binoculars or telephoto lens!

Take the '9 km trail', yes, that is its name. It is a loop trail that starts and ends by the restaurant and offers wonderful views over Windhoek valley and the Auas mountains and there is plenty of big game along the way.

Also popular is the '4-wheel drive trail', yes, that is its name. The zebras tend to be seen here.

The restaurant, reviewed separately in TripAdvisor, has very good food and excellent wine at reasonable prices. Great after a hike or just for dinner after work.

Daan Viljoen Park is a gem near Windhoek!

5  Thank Ericin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The 4x4 trail is really worth it! we went with our 2-wheel drive (x-trail) and we still made it. However, we passed a small Opel Corsa and these guys really struggled! So be sure you only take this trail with the right car! On the trail you (hopefully) see some game - we saw a herd of giraffes.
After about 1.5 hours we came back to the reception and from there did a small hike to the near water reservoir. It’s a nice walk and made for everybody: you follow the dried out riverbed to the dam. On the way we saw lots of baboons and Oryx.

Thank L_Doro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very close to Windhoek, with nice panorama views of the city on the way, and then you are out in the bush. Nice to be able to do walks to see the animals (and birds) and a good restaurant. Also good for Conferences and Retreats.

Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daan Viljoen Nature Reserve also viewed

 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Daan Viljoen Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing