We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat eater's favorite place to eat...”
Review of Dros - Windhoek

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dros - Windhoek
Ranked #95 of 132 Restaurants in Windhoek
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meat eater's favorite place to eat...”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Like any ordinary KAzakh person, I like meat and especially fat meat. You can find here nice pork (I love pork ribs), beef, lamb and chicken. I am waiting for their new menu, there should be something tasty. I love their "drostdy hof rose" wine and salad with smoked salmon. Nice place, nice atmosphere. Ask for floor managers Future and Lizelle. Refer to me :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KZTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    9
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not up to the standard of Dros SA”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This Dros does not have the same standard as in South Africa. The Rock Shandy tasted soapy, the Schnitzel was cold when we got it, the mushroom sauce was sauce quickly made from these sauce packet one gets in stores and taste like cardboard. Service was bad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Old Dros!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Food was good. Service was fine. Beer was cold. Specials are good. Coming from a Wine environment, I found the house wine cheap plonk, possible "get rid of" stock from the suppliers. The place can do with a fire place or patio heaters on the colder nights. Overall, a good old Dros character experience where the Guys Try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thebestisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Grill room does not know Sirloin from Rump”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We ordered the special offer, boerewors and Steak and chose Rump over Sirloin.
Service was very slick but my rump was sirloin. They argued and then claimed it was taken from a Rump labeled bag
The Boerewors was mini in diameter and not what was advertised in the special
This was all a pity in that we enjoyed the venue

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namibia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dros Windhoek, getting there”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Had a horrible experience when they opened due to bad service. returned a few months later, a few times since and there was a significant improvement. Food is enjoyable and ok. Pizza is worth a try. They have some great weekday specials too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Welda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dros - Windhoek also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Dros - Windhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing