We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Class of its own”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heinitzburg Castle

Heinitzburg Castle
Ranked #16 of 128 Restaurants in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Class of its own”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Like it a lot, good atmosphere, very european definitely a good place to impress business associates and first time visitors to the country.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“What a fabulous view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has one of the best views of Windhoek. We went for afternoon tea and decided to come back for dinner and the sunset, which was fabulous. The night we were there the restaurant's tables were set up outside on the terrace but the restaurant (Leo's at the Castle) has an inside sit down area. It was initially pretty breezy but when the sun went down the wind disappeared. We took our small person with us and the restaurant were accommodating even though there is no children's menu. Our meals were all excellent and the service was efficient and friendly, though our meal was interrupted by a smoker and we were forced to move tables. Why do top-notch restaurants continue to allow people to smoke and detract from the food they are serving?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anactbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great view, food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent a very relaxed afternoon on the terrace with drinks, cake and later tapas. I have to say that service and food were as good as the view! In my opinion the best address in Windhoek.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wooltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They don't like customers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I've tried twice, TWICE, to come here. Both times I called in advance and was told it wouldn't be a problem and twice I've been turned away at the door. The first time we called in advance to make sure the kitchen was still open, they said yes, until 9pm. We got there at 8.50pm and were told it was too late, we couldn't eat.
The second time I called to ask about having a drink on the terrace as the castle looks over Windhoek. They said that would be fine, but the restaurant was full. I assured them we just wanted a pre-dinner drink and had reservations elsewhere. When we arrived we were told it was full, even though the lower side of the terrace was empty. The manager was so rude in explaining that WE were mistaken and must have misheard over the phone. Zero customer service, they don't seem to WANT business. I've tried twice to give them my money, and they don't want it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchum, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Positive Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This old castle is well kept and offers great views of Windhoek. I had an amazing dinner of Oryx and liked the wine list as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Singlespeedgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heinitzburg Castle also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Heinitzburg Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing