We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, smokey restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Trans Kalahari Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trans Kalahari Inn
Mackay, Queensland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice room, smokey restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night. There were two cats wondering in and out of the restaurant and my wife is allergic to cats. The smoking area is close to the restaurant and our eyes hurt after a while. Not good! Should not happen.

Food was good but took forever to get to the table. The menu does warn that, because all food is cooked fresh, they take a while to get it to the table. It was a bit ridiculous, with only three parties in the restaurant.

We stayed because it is close to the airport and we had an early flight. Won't stay again. Not until there is no smoke from cigarettes blowing into the restaurant. Can't stand second hand smoke - especially when eating

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed over at this establishment to be close to Hosea Kutako Airport for early morning departure to Cape Town. What a nice surpise! Rooms are comfortable and verandah has great views of the surrounding area. The restaurant is excellent! We can recommend the game platter, best food we had on this trip. Staff is very helpful and friendly and the typical Namibian hospitality will make us return next time.

Room Tip: Choose a luxury room with aircon during summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I would like to thank you Wil Bouwers (the owner of Trans Kalahari Inn) for all that you have done for us during our stay - so what better way than to write a review for you on Trip Advisor.

I was travelling with my husband and two kids in July 2013, we are from Australia and we stayed in SA for 5 days with family before flying into Windhoek to pick up our hire car for a self drive safari for 3 weeks.

I struggled to get my wi-fi from Australia to work in South Africa and I 'prayed' that I could get things to work in Namibia so I could touch base with my business whilst travelling in Namibia. I couldn't get my hi-tech gizmo or Iphone to work when we arrived in Namibia either and by the time we got to Trans Kalahari I was looking into a frustrating 3 weeks without internet or phone connection which left me quite sad in this age of telecommunication.

I met Wil when we checked in for the evening and over a cold beer I vented my frustration. Well, Will renewed my faith in the good of people, she had literally just met me but went to her office and came back with a wi-fi USB stick (with credit on the sim) as well as a mobile phone (again with credit on the sim). I literally had my problem fixed by this wonderfully kind lady and I promised her that we would return in three weeks time to stay at the Inn again for a few nights and return the items she had lent me.

The kindness and enthusiasm of the lovely owner of the Trans Kalahari is also reflected in the staff that work there. From the smiles and helpfulness of the staff in the bar and restaurant to the beautiful singing cleaning ladies she employs, this place is really an oasis in the desert!

The accommodation was very comfortable, the showers had wonderfully hot water, the food at the Inn catered for all tastes and each meal we had was excellent.

We wished that the weather was warm enough when we arrived to try out your swimming pool which would be a haven during the hot months in Namibia.

We were just speaking of you recently Wil to friends who are looking at travelling to Namibia and we highly recommended they stay with you. We also hope to see you again.

Thank you again for all that you did for me and my family - you are a true gem and I can highly recommend your Trans Kalahari Inn to other travellers to Namibia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardenberg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were a group of 6 people, needing only one night accommodation for a flight connection and I searched for something close to Windhoek International airport. Am I glad that I chose this little oasis!!
From the views, over the beautiful Namibian landscape, the rooms, fitted with every amenity you might need, the refreshing sparkling pool, the staff, who were so competant and friendly, to the food..... oh - THE FOOD - !!!!
All of the members of our group would have gladly stayed another few nights.....from Elmarie (reception and more) to Anna (the chef who made us THE MOST amazing dinner) to Willemien (who is a lady that does not take any nonsense from interfering, annoying people looking to get a freebee) to all the friendly faces who did anything possible to make our stay so wonderful....Thank you!!!
Dinner was served on a patio at our request, with a view and sunset to die for. The meal was superb! Everyone ordered a different dish, the food arrived together, and we were all speechless at the presentation, the quality and the variety.
We are all going back!!! FOR SURE!!

Room Tip: We had a luxury room - brand new - with a thatch roof that still smelled like new thatch! Wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

The TransKalahari campsite is quite small, some 7 or 8 spots, all being on gravel. They are quite close together and there can be quite a lot of activity, so its not always a restful place. However, it is only 10km from the International airport.
The bar and restaurant are quite good and can be entertaining with a good mix of overlanders around.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yenrab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
12.4 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
12.0 mi away
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
#22 of 76 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Airport Lodge
Airport Lodge
#56 of 76 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
17.1 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#6 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ondekaremba
Ondekaremba
#44 of 76 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trans Kalahari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trans Kalahari Inn

Property: Trans Kalahari Inn
Address: 6 Plot 10, Kappsfarm 65, Trans Kalahari B Highway, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Trans Kalahari Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing