We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average. Nothing more”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Safari Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average. Nothing more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Just returned from a business trip to Windhoek and stayed 1 night here. This hotel sus up to an average hotel thats fine for not more than 1 night.

Rooms are large, though deco is out dated and shows the wear and tear.
The visiting cockroach and ants made me question the cleanliness. Bed is comfortable with comfotable bedding, however my sleep was seriously disrupted by the extremely noisy air-conditioner. After been forced to switch it off, the room them became unbearably hot. No fault of the hotel, but it rained that night so leaving the window open was not practical. This is where my stay just became unpleasant. Breakfast has a good selection.

Gym in the Safari Court Hotel is relatively good, though there are no towels and the rowing machines did not work.

The price at this hotel is competative, so if you are on a budget and need to spend a night in Windhoek, this would suffice,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    61
    98
    32
    20
See reviews for
25
54
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed here for one night at the end of a group tour. The complex is nice and the pool is a good place to relax after a busy schedule. There was a good selection of food at breakfast. Housekeeping were very efficient but the bar service slow - quite often there was no-one there during opening hours. Like a lot of Namibia, there seemed to be more staff than guests.

I didn't use the free shuttle but it's a good idea as the city centre is quite far away.

Be careful when getting a taxi to the airport - I was told by the hotel the price would be 200 dollars, when I came to pay the taxi driver told me it was 280 and friends of mine paid 200 each (400 dollars for the taxi).

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank midlandsgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

There's nothing really wrong with the Safari - the rooms are a good size, reasonably comfortable and clean. However, it's not really somewhere that you would want to spend any more than a night or two - it just lacks any character.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had read some poor reviews about this hotel but were totally surprised when we got there.
In total we spent three nights in Safari used the pool, bar and restaurant.
We had two excellent and really large double rooms with en suite bath/Shower. The rooms were clean and had everything you might want including a fridge (not a minibar).
Service was extremely friendly and efficient.
The Restaurant staff were very friendly - especially to out two kids (13 and 10). Breakfast and evening buffet were excellent. Well presented and a good selection including local game in the evening.
There had been reports that the hotel was loud, but this was certainly not the case. One can here the planes in the nearby eros airport but we did not find them loud enough to be disturbing - even though we live and are accustomed to quiet countryside.
The little souvenir shop was adequate and the staff extremely helpful.
The pool ,was spotless, but a little cold. We were almost alone in the afternoon and the kids loved it including the cake shop right next to the swimming area.
The bar and staff were very pleasant, only nuisance were a couple of rather loud africans watching basketball on TV. They don't make cocktails, but they will get you a burger or french fries if you are feeling hungry. All in all very good.
What more can one say: we would stay there again if we ever go to Windhoek again.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size. I believe the lower number on each floor are the larger ones. Also make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have stayed two nights in this hotel, at the beginning and the end of our trip in Namibia.
We were in a budget room (#27), spacious, clean, two confortable queen size beds, no frills. Old fashioned furniture but well mantained.
An average room with no bad surprises
We had to change room because the sink was obstructed and there wasn't repairing service available on sunday, the staff has been helpful.
Breakfast with a good choice. We have not tried the restaurant.
Overall a good place, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RudeBaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Standard rooms, as opposed to the business class, have very basic, old fashioned furniture and the noise from the adjoining bathrooms is terrible. Also if you are on the ground floor the noise of cars arriving and leaving, there is motel type parking, is bad in the evening and early morning.

There is an annoying internet system that only allows you to sign in for 2 hours at a time. And the system is such that downloading email systems does not work a lot of the time - hopeless when staying there for business.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

IMPORTANT TO KNOW: the "Safari Hotel" (three stars), the "Safari Court" (four stars), and the "Safari Conference Center" are all located next to each other in the same property and have access to pretty much the same restaurants and services. This means that choosing between the two hotels is an issue of how much you want to pay for your room.

LOCATION: The facilities are right next to the old airport, which I think now serves as the poinf of departure for the domestic flights (absolutely no noise in case you wonder). The international airport is about 45 minutes away from the Hotel and Windhoek. Coming back to the hotel, it is in the outskirts of Windhoek, but it is a small city and they do have a free shuttle that goes down town and to a shopping center. Windhoek itself is pretty organized and clean, a fact that took me by surprise. If you take a taxi, make sure to ask what the total fare is BEFORE departing (I took a hotel taxi with three people; the driver said it was NAD 50 for the ride, but then claimed at the end that it was NAD 50 per person! We refused to pay him ).

THE ROOM: I staid in the executive rooms of the Safari Hotel (three stars) which was perfectly clean, but it did feel a bit tired (e.g. the toilet lid had lost a bit of paint). On the other hand, hotel is safe and the room will accomodate you well. I read a review saying there were no elevators, but there were two of them in my area. Another review spoke about cigarrette smell. I am quite sensitive to it, but I don't think it would be a problem for most (they seemed to ventilate all rooms everyday). I do not know if the situation is different in other parts of the hotel.

Four things I would suggest the management to fix or improve are:
1) the minibar fridge is old, which means it's a bit noisy. I am not particularly sensitive to noise, but I am sure this would probably be a problem for some.
2) the rooms lack a safe box. They have a centralized safe in the reception, but it's not convenient at all to be going back and forth to get them if you constantly need them (i.e. a laptop!)
3) The rooms also lack an ironing board, which means you depend on the hotel for pressing. This is probably not an issue if you go on holidays, but if you are there for business it's not nice to have to guess whether your shirt will be ready on time for the next day's meeting.
4) the key chain they give you can only be described as the biggest key chain in the world! It's a huge piece of plastic that is about a third of a letter size page. Where are you supposed to keep it?

FOOD: It's pretty standard and on the expensive side. Other reviewers considered it was "terrible", but I did not find that to be the case. On the other hand, if you want a fancy dinner then better go to a restaurant in Windhoek (Joe's Beer House is a fantastic experience!). The breakfast buffet was also standard, but lacked fruit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#13 of 16 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#12 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Hotel

Property: Safari Hotel
Address: Corner Auas & Aviation Rd | PO Box 3900, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing