We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Safari Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I have stayed twice for several days in the last year. The first time was in the motel style rooms, which were pretty much tatty 70's vintage decor (no, not by design, the real thing!). This time I booked into the business rooms and found the rooms again to be below par. Forget sleeping with the aircon on, it sounds like a bulldozer idling outside your window....and in 40 degree celcius temperatures, an aircon might be useful. The internet didn't work in the rooms (try 8 minutes to open an email without attachments), the toilet pipe leaked on the bathroom floor and the coffee is positively insipid. That said, it is convenient, but there are many bnb's in town which are a far better quality stay... for the same money - try the Elegant Guesthouse or the Olive Grove, both great places to stay.

Room Tip: The Safari Court which is part of the same complex is probably a better bet, at double the money tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    63
    105
    32
    21
See reviews for
26
58
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Not exciting, but a very pleasant and convenient place to stay for some days.
We stayed 2 days before and 3 days after a strenous trip around the country.
Great pool area, very helpful and polite staff, big varied breakfast.
A free, frequent shuttle bus going down town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angnorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Just returned from a business trip to Windhoek and stayed 1 night here. This hotel sus up to an average hotel thats fine for not more than 1 night.

Rooms are large, though deco is out dated and shows the wear and tear.
The visiting cockroach and ants made me question the cleanliness. Bed is comfortable with comfotable bedding, however my sleep was seriously disrupted by the extremely noisy air-conditioner. After been forced to switch it off, the room them became unbearably hot. No fault of the hotel, but it rained that night so leaving the window open was not practical. This is where my stay just became unpleasant. Breakfast has a good selection.

Gym in the Safari Court Hotel is relatively good, though there are no towels and the rowing machines did not work.

The price at this hotel is competative, so if you are on a budget and need to spend a night in Windhoek, this would suffice,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed here for one night at the end of a group tour. The complex is nice and the pool is a good place to relax after a busy schedule. There was a good selection of food at breakfast. Housekeeping were very efficient but the bar service slow - quite often there was no-one there during opening hours. Like a lot of Namibia, there seemed to be more staff than guests.

I didn't use the free shuttle but it's a good idea as the city centre is quite far away.

Be careful when getting a taxi to the airport - I was told by the hotel the price would be 200 dollars, when I came to pay the taxi driver told me it was 280 and friends of mine paid 200 each (400 dollars for the taxi).

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank midlandsgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

There's nothing really wrong with the Safari - the rooms are a good size, reasonably comfortable and clean. However, it's not really somewhere that you would want to spend any more than a night or two - it just lacks any character.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had read some poor reviews about this hotel but were totally surprised when we got there.
In total we spent three nights in Safari used the pool, bar and restaurant.
We had two excellent and really large double rooms with en suite bath/Shower. The rooms were clean and had everything you might want including a fridge (not a minibar).
Service was extremely friendly and efficient.
The Restaurant staff were very friendly - especially to out two kids (13 and 10). Breakfast and evening buffet were excellent. Well presented and a good selection including local game in the evening.
There had been reports that the hotel was loud, but this was certainly not the case. One can here the planes in the nearby eros airport but we did not find them loud enough to be disturbing - even though we live and are accustomed to quiet countryside.
The little souvenir shop was adequate and the staff extremely helpful.
The pool ,was spotless, but a little cold. We were almost alone in the afternoon and the kids loved it including the cake shop right next to the swimming area.
The bar and staff were very pleasant, only nuisance were a couple of rather loud africans watching basketball on TV. They don't make cocktails, but they will get you a burger or french fries if you are feeling hungry. All in all very good.
What more can one say: we would stay there again if we ever go to Windhoek again.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size. I believe the lower number on each floor are the larger ones. Also make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have stayed two nights in this hotel, at the beginning and the end of our trip in Namibia.
We were in a budget room (#27), spacious, clean, two confortable queen size beds, no frills. Old fashioned furniture but well mantained.
An average room with no bad surprises
We had to change room because the sink was obstructed and there wasn't repairing service available on sunday, the staff has been helpful.
Breakfast with a good choice. We have not tried the restaurant.
Overall a good place, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RudeBaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#13 of 16 in Windhoek
248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
2.9 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
187 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Hotel

Property: Safari Hotel
Address: Corner Auas & Aviation Rd | PO Box 3900, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing