We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average ”
Review of Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Safari Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
624 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Average ”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Clean room. AC not working in 1st room so they gave me another room. The rooms are from the 60's it appears. There is a nice bar on premise. Beds ok. You do get 4 bars of soap though. I'm sure there is a more updated place to stay when visiting Windhoek.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Upnorthtransplant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Upnorthtransplant1,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. We appreciate your comments, which we have taken note of.

Safari Hotels has been in existence since 1965 and renovations and maintenance are ongoing. Hotel Safari *** underwent major renovations in 2009 with the most recent upgrade including fitting all rooms with new air-conditioning units and upgrading our fire detection system. The more updated Safari Court Hotel **** was completed in 1990 and is on the same premises.

Please do let us know when you next visit Namibia so that we may make your next stay with us more pleasant.

Warm Regards,

Melissa Stroh
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    63
    106
    33
    21
See reviews for
26
59
27
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My room was clean. The twin beds were rather small but i was able to push them together to have more space. The furniture was rather shabby and outdated. The water in the bathroom came out a rusty colour but i was told it was due to a broken pipe which was about to be repaired. Breakfast was poor - definitely below standard.

Room Tip: The "business" rooms are slightly better than the "standard" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Hanna,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. We have noted your comments about the breakfast and we are exploring ways to improve this.

We are also pleased to say that the broken water pipe has been repaired.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Stroh
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Feels a bit 'businessy' but the rooms were clean, air con worked and staff were pleasant. Nice pool area and public spaces. The food wasn't particularly impressive but does the job. Not a bad place for a day or two before exploring more of the country.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Bree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear 123Bree,

Thank you for your review and for the time you have taken to write about our Hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments with regard to the friendly staff which we have conveyed to various departments.

Please do let us know when you next visit Namibia and stay with us. We would be very happy to show you some of the other upgrades we have completed since your last stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Stroh
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouxville, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Safari hotel is the 3 star sister hotel of the Safari Court Hotel. The hotel is old, and the rooms are in need of an upgrade; but it was clean and comfortable for our requirements. The breakfast was a good old classic full buffet; the coffee was delicious and the service was fantastic. The staff are very friendly and efficient. we had a blocked drain in the room, and it was fixed immediately. The facilities at the hotel are great; and the property is very secure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Cherie K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We thank you and sincerely appreciate your compliments pertaining to the fantastic service you received. We have conveyed these compliments to our restaurant staff. We are most pleased that maintenance attended to your blocked drain so quickly.

We have initiated a number of upgrades in all our hotel rooms and refurbishments are on-going. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again where we would be very happy to take you on a site visit to show you our new facilities.

Please do let us know when you are next in Windhoek.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Stroh
Sales Manager
melissa@safarihotelsnamibia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windhoek
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Seven African countries were invited to the above mentioned tournament whereby all stayed at the Safari Hotel (pax of approx. 75 athletes and management). Each and everyone was impressed with the rooms, catering and friendliness of the hotel personnel. Transport to the different sport venues twice a day by hotel busses was on time as arranged beforehand.

Room Tip: No comments, although no athlete complaint of any disturbance or had any problems with comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Ewald V,

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with such positive feedback on your recent stay with us. Thank you for your efforts.

We thoroughly enjoyed hosting the teams who participated in the African States Bowls Tournament and provided the transport with pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next tournament.

Warm Regards,

Melissa Stroh
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is perfectly suitable for business people staying in Windhoek. It has everything you could need, bar, restaurant, wifi, comfortable rooms, transport, gym, etc. In general, the rooms are a little outdated and we had an issue as we were three, they put us in a room for two, but they were also kind enough to upgrade us to a room for four. Our breakfast was included, nice, no complaints. The fitness centre & spa was amazing! State of the art, brand new equipment and very professional staff - make sure to book for spa treatments. The staff were very friendly and helpful with finding safe transport to and from our dinner reservations. Would recommend to people staying in Windhoek on work/business trips or one-nighters.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickykoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochav Yair, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Nice, clean and friendly hotel. Nice decor. Good value. Dinner was very good - we ate at the second hotel, taxi was arranged both to a restaurant and to the airport. Service at reception a bit slow. Rooms clean and comfortable, bathrooms OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smadar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#13 of 16 in Windhoek
248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
2.9 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
187 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Hotel

Property: Safari Hotel
Address: Corner Auas & Aviation Rd | PO Box 3900, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing