We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok for one night !” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Safari Hotel
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ok for one night !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

A disappointing hotel
more like a motel really
not fabulously clean
the area around the pool looked as if it hadn't been cleaned at all recently which is a shame
rooms adequate with noisy but functioning aircon
the food was not brilliant - and at breakfast once something ran out it was not re-stocked

However the adjacent Safari Court is better ...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    58
    95
    31
    18
See reviews for
23
53
24
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

Stayed in a business room for 3 nights. Room was large and clean with a good size bathroom with bath. Generally everything of a good standard, although there was rip in the net curtains, a broken bin lid and the large key ring and stiff lock made getting into the room a bit of a noisy struggle.
Bought internet cards from reception which worked in the room, although fairly slow and did not always log off correctly wasting paid minutes.
Reasonable pool, but water heavy with chemical and no shade for the loungers, although there are tables and chairs under thatched open-sided “huts”.
Staff friendly and very helpful, but generally slower waiter service than in the US or Europe.
Breakfast buffet style with reasonable hot choice, but no fresh fruit and limited selection of cold meats and cheese.
Taxis easily arranged by reception into town.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Northdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2008

Located in an odd corner of town, convenient to Eros Airport but not much else, this is the older, uglier sister to the neighboring Safari Court Conference Hotel, which charges more and offers more.

Internet, for instance. There is no internet service or wireless option in the Safari rooms. You have to buy a voucher and go to the Safari Court business center.

If you don't plan to spend much time in your room, or eat any fresh fruit or healthy bread for breakfast, this is an adequate place to stay. Given the usual standard of Namibian and southern African hospitality, however, the Safari was a reasonably-priced, but characterless disappointment.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2008

The Safari Hotel is great for a couple of nights stay at the beginning or end of your trip (especially if you have been camping!). The staff are very friendly and helpful and reception always well staffed. Free safety deposit box service, lockable wardrobe section in your room and plenty of security. I was travelling alone and it all felt very safe and friendly, unlike some of the guest houses which people on my tour felt were not so safe. There is a decent sized pool with plenty of sun loungers and a pool bar service for drinks and snacks. Couple of nice restaurants also which are fairly reasonably priced. I stayed in the business class room which was spacious and had all the comforts you would expect from this class of hotel and much appreciated air con! It's also easy to extend your check out time and arrange for airport transfers. I made good use of the free shuttle service which runs in and out of Windhoek centre every 30 mins and only takes about 5-10 mins to get there. Definitely don't let the fact this is not in the centre put you off, it's cheap and easy to arrange taxis to restaurants etc at night and even the places closer to the centre recommend taking taxis after about 8pm anyway. Recommend this one for a well priced hotel with good facilities and excellent service.

  • Liked — Good sized pool and very helpful reception staff.
  • Disliked — Rooms facing reception can be a little noisy at the weekend.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2008

Do not book a budget room, because many of them are not renovated and extremely filthy and worn-out. We stayed first three nights in budget room number 73 that was "average", but next time when we returned back from safari we were given the room number 14, that was under all standards (also the African standards). So we changed up to business. These rooms are clean and the difference in price is very small. The hotel is located some kilometers away, but the free transportation is effective and runs until 9 PM. There is nothing to complain about breakfast or pool-area. The staff is friendly and plentiful, but the service is African standard (slow). And if you come from euro-area, the prices are very cheap.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washigton DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2007

After staying at over 20 different hotels in Africa, this was truly unacceptable. Not sure if they gave me this room by mistake or what. I paid about the same what I had paid for other very nice accomidations during 40 days in Namibia and So. Africa. This room had a closet door dangling off the ceiling, a torn apart safety lock on the door, stains on furniture , carpet, and walls, phone wires had been torn out of wall, thick layer of bugs in the bathroom light fixtures, broken tile and on and on. When the deskstaff was told they acted surprised I did not like the room!!!! The bed was clean, but I was glad to leave.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Poor room quality
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mdnWashigtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#14 of 17 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
2.9 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#12 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Hotel

Property: Safari Hotel
Address: Corner Auas & Aviation Rd | PO Box 3900, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing