We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel at an average price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Safari Court Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average hotel at an average price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is a reasonable hotel in Windhoek, and pricing is quite reasonable as well. Breakfasts are quite good, but service is not great, and when I complained about it, there was no response.
I would say that this hotel is more suited to tour groups.
Rooms are OK.

Room Tip: All rooms here are fine as the hotel is in a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    87
    94
    17
    21
See reviews for
19
65
19
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Totnes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Arrived from the airport to a nice reception area with friendly staff. The room was good & clean but fridge was empty & no tea coffe etc even though a kettle was there. Following a request Tea & coffee boxes were left by the door & reception supplied another pair. The hotel is a huge complex of two hotels a 4* hotel very formal & a slightly less formal 3* which I preferred as such the atmosphere was better. When trying to find a quick snack in the 4* unit did not really appear willing to provide inside and waiting staff were not easy to attract or available to order. The restaurant was set price & or menu which did not use as only there for one night. Bar service is/was slow & not very not welcoming. Went over to the 3* bar where a friendlier welcome was had. Although a nice place to visit and stay with good pool and settings it is not a place where I would choose to visit unless on business.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Our trip organizer recommended this hotel for us. We booked it. It was about a $100US for the night. The room was sort of out of the way and from what I understand the rooms in the main building are more expansive, but we weren't really told that these would be sort of Motel 6 type of rooms "next" to the actual hotel. This is the most we spent on the hotel in Africa and by no means was it the best. The bartender was a bit lost when 3 people were gathered at the bar. The beer was warm and the prices so so.
This hotel is really far from the airport. I think 30-45 minutes by car if I recall correctly. It is my understanding that it isn't very safe to go out on your own into town, but the general area of the hotel was clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alek2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

For a business and conference hotel this is probably the worst I have ever stayed in. Facilities are basic, WIFI is useless and you have to continually go to reception for a 2 hr free token whcih they seem reluctant to give. Totally pointless process and a major irritation. Water in conference room is tap water in a jug left to the elements - unhygenic.

no one takes ownership of any issues. management are aloof and unhelpful and staff poorly trained.

As regards rooms they are 1950s. there is no safe or anywhere to store your laptop securel - ridiculous for a business conference hotel.

Food is disgusting and the same every day

I shall certainly not be recommending a return visit.

Room Tip: Try the Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 42slarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

This place is overpriced and disgusting. Stay away.

Pros: somewhat centrally located. Nice pool area. A plethora of amenities, like restaurants and bars, on the grounds (really nice to have). Professional service.

Cons: The rooms are slimy. I think they refurbished the rooms recently by putting crown molding on the ceiling and installing new bathtubs, but everything else from the '60s remained. Yuck. The smell of cigarette smoke was deep and gave the place an even dirtier feel. The bedside tables had strange, built-in switches that had no purpose.

Until they refurbish this place properly, find another hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mapagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I stayed at the Safari Court Hotel twice in 2010 while there on business. It is located on the southern end of the city near the small domestic airport (small planes only).
The hotel is about a 30-40 minute drive from the international airport which is situated about 35km east of Windhoek.
The hotel is situated in its own walled compound. It is a staging centre for groups and tourists who are spending a short time in Windhoek. It is also a conference centre as well.
The rooms: The rooms are for the most part a very good size. They contain either a single king or two double beds. Air conditioning is specific to each room and is being replaced with new units.
The rooms were quite clean and comfortable. This is a fairly basic hotel, so there are not a lot of amenities in the room itself. Small old televisions with limited channels. Wireless internet is available for free, but you need a room near the lobby to get any reception. It is not very fast at the best of times, but I was able to Skype without too much issue.
The hotel has a nice pool and deck where you can have drinks.
There are two restaurants at the hotel and the food can either be buffet or a la carte. I found the food to be quite tasty. The meat in Namibia is especially good, with a good choice of beef or local farmed game (oryx, gemsbock, zebra, etc). The breakfast is very good as well with a good selection of meat and local dishes. The beer in Namibia is also great (former German colony that has retained the expertise) and the wines from South Africa are very good too.
I found the staff to be quite helpful, albeit a bit slow on service at times. If you are going on a safari, you can store your bags in a lockup area in the basement.
The hotel is located quite a ways from downtown Windhoek, but they have a free that goes back and forth every 30 minutes or so, I didn't find it a problem. There are also quite a number of metered taxis as well.
All in all, it was a good experience and I would recommend staying at this hotel either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocks_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We booked a room via Expedia for our stay. Expedia debited our card. When we checked out the reservation dept said that they didn't have any record of payment. We had to pay them for the room.
When we got back, Expedia checked and said the hotel had definitely received payment. All emails to Safari Court go unanswered, we feel ripped off and suggest this may have occurred to others. BEWARE

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alvinclausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#16 of 17 in Windhoek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
2.0 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
3.3 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Court Hotel

Property: Safari Court Hotel
Address: Corner Auas & Aviation Rd, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Safari Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Court Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing