We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Accommodations in Windhoek”
Review of Safari Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Safari Court Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Accommodations in Windhoek”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Windhoek is the capital city of Namibia, a young, developing, but progressive country on the west coast of Africa that borders South Africa and Angola. Safari Court Hotel is a business and conference center with excellent facilities including banquet and conference rooms, catering, two outdoor pools, a lovely fitness center and full-service spa, restaurants and bars. The updated rooms have a three-star European ambiance. The beds and linens are comfortable and each room has a flat screen TV and a refrigerator. In typical Euro fashion, however, the shower is a handheld sprayer and there is only a half door on the tub so it is impossible not to get the bathroom floor all wet. I found it better to use the large, private, walk-in shower in the fitness center men's locker room after a workout.There is internet service, but it is a bit slow. The staff is professional and friendly. A convenient shuttle makes regular trips between the hotel and the downtown visitors kiosk. I enjoyed the hearty breakfast each morning including a variety of breads and pastries, cereals, fruits, a hot buffet and made-to-order omelettes, juices, tea and coffee. I have stayed in this hotel on three different trips to Namibia and each time it feels like home. It should be noted that Safari Court is the newer, highrise part of the hotel. The Hotel Safari on the same campus is older and set-up like a drive-in motel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Safari Court are newer and slightly more comfortable than rooms in the Hotel Safari.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    91
    97
    17
    21
See reviews for
19
68
20
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here 4 nights in June. It was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in during our trip. Rooms were nice and clean with lots of room. The swimming pool area was beautiful but the water was freezing! No one went in. The breakfast buffet is extensive and very good. They have hot items (eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes) made to order omelets or other other eggs. Yogurts, breads, fruit, cheese, meat.
Free Wifi is available in the lobby or swimming pool - but you have to get a new code from the front desk every two hours. And the speed is slow.
I found the beds to be hard. But they were hard in all of our hotels during our stay in Namibia

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthwoodsIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The entrance to the hotel is very impressive and the lobby meets your expectations for an exclusive hotel. Further on, when you get into the rooms, you'll find out it's not THAT exclusive, but in the bottom line - it is really nice, clean and cozy. There is a nice SPA corner (wouldn't consider it more than that), the food was pretty good, both the breakfast and the dinner. All staff members I've dealt with were very polite and helpful. If you are looking for a couple of days business trip stay - I would consider it perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EpicureNo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Lobby's of hotels can be very deceptive, The Safari Court Hotel viewed from the road is a large compound surrounded by walls, kind of looks like a minimum security facility. The lobby is very nice, marble, large windows, nice view of the pool area.
Once you leave this area and head upstairs to the rooms its little better then a Motel 6, not to give that chain a bad name, it is what it is. However, when you are expecting at least a room that is level and your head not lower then your feet, its a little disappointing to say the least. Shower has that annoying half door at the head of the tub that does nothing to prevent water from getting on the floor, bathroom fixtures are that hip 60's avocado green, and I actually think from that era, also tiles could use a good cleaning. Rooms smell musty and you would not want to sit on the bedspread. Room is very dark, and lighting poor, ac noise loud.
Am here only for two nights before going on a wilderness trip so I guess Its not worth the bother of changing hotels.
Staff is poorly trained and not pro active by any means.

Room Tip: Do not stay here, if you must then get one at the back, not over the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is a reasonable hotel in Windhoek, and pricing is quite reasonable as well. Breakfasts are quite good, but service is not great, and when I complained about it, there was no response.
I would say that this hotel is more suited to tour groups.
Rooms are OK.

Room Tip: All rooms here are fine as the hotel is in a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Arrived from the airport to a nice reception area with friendly staff. The room was good & clean but fridge was empty & no tea coffe etc even though a kettle was there. Following a request Tea & coffee boxes were left by the door & reception supplied another pair. The hotel is a huge complex of two hotels a 4* hotel very formal & a slightly less formal 3* which I preferred as such the atmosphere was better. When trying to find a quick snack in the 4* unit did not really appear willing to provide inside and waiting staff were not easy to attract or available to order. The restaurant was set price & or menu which did not use as only there for one night. Bar service is/was slow & not very not welcoming. Went over to the 3* bar where a friendlier welcome was had. Although a nice place to visit and stay with good pool and settings it is not a place where I would choose to visit unless on business.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Our trip organizer recommended this hotel for us. We booked it. It was about a $100US for the night. The room was sort of out of the way and from what I understand the rooms in the main building are more expansive, but we weren't really told that these would be sort of Motel 6 type of rooms "next" to the actual hotel. This is the most we spent on the hotel in Africa and by no means was it the best. The bartender was a bit lost when 3 people were gathered at the bar. The beer was warm and the prices so so.
This hotel is really far from the airport. I think 30-45 minutes by car if I recall correctly. It is my understanding that it isn't very safe to go out on your own into town, but the general area of the hotel was clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alek2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 16 in Windhoek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.6 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
3.3 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Court Hotel

Property: Safari Court Hotel
Address: Corner Auas & Aviation Rd, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safari Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Court Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing