We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great camping facility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great camping facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to stay at urban camp by some friends who had stayed earlier in the year. Good clean bathroom and shower units as well as a big shade net to put our tent under. Ice cold beer and a heated pool was a winning combination and the friendly bar staff were very accomodating for us. Does a good job of having an out of town feel yet only being a 10 minute walk to the city centre.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Adelaaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    89
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
84
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Granada, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This place is super cool/affordable/social-when you want it/quiet- when you want it.

My partner and I hitch-hiked into Namibia from Katima Molilo and ended up in Walvas bay. We rented a 4x4 truck for a week and explored the country, covering lots of kilometers a day. We weren't that excited about Windhoek. So glad we hunted urbancamp out, it still felt like we're camping in the bush - to a reasonable degree and a healthy amount of imagination....that is, But the city center was also just a 15 min walk.

Example: The staff is full of non-obvious great advice about the area (ask about the unsuspecting/nameless amazing Italian restaurant, not too far from the camp. - also they'll be your genuine friends by the end of the first night. Very accommadating and receptive to feedback (if you make a suggestion, it will -at least be seriously considered).

I really loved this place - so did my female partner. Give it a try.

my ONLY compliant, would be that there's this Scottish young man always hanging around, always a few beers deep (they have amazing local beers on tap[honeybush!]) and no one can understand a word he is saying...still a charming young lad.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Really cool owner and staff that make you feel right at home. Good atmosphere at the bar which sells a good selection of food, snacks and endless drink.

Double or two single very comfy beds in a tent, bathroom each with the best shower that I had in Namibia ! Lots of hot water etc..

In an excellent location for surrounding restaurants and bars, short taxi ride into the centre of town.

All round really good vibe and the staff are so friendly and helpful, some semi permanent residents who are very cool too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GM8855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My stay at urban camp was excellent! I hired a tent which came equipped with a bed and cupboards as well as a personal bathroom which has probably the best shower you will find in Namibia! The other big bonus is the wifi which extends throughout the entire camp as well as hammocks dotted around the place. The location is good for shopping and walking into town and the bar in the campsite is a hit with the locals as well ( try the game burger ). Good job urban camp!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddychopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.0 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
12.2 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek

Property: UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Address: No 2 Schanzen Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UrbanCamp.net is a centrally located comfortable camping ground situated in the heart of Windhoek. It is the perfect get away with all the convenience of being in town. Big shady trees, Wi-Fi internet, on suite bathrooms and a sparkling pool - will get you WINDHOOKED .It is a mere 5 min walk to the legendary Joe’s Beerhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing