We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great end to a great holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
“Great end to a great holiday!”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This hotel provided great service to us. We walked in and asked if they had a room for us since we did not pre-book. The very friendly staff assisted us very quickly and in no time we were checked in. The rooms are neet and the breakfast was excellent! Will definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrus703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
9
16
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This hotel is about N$500 more expensive than the other Protea (Thuringerhof) in Windhoek - but it's much better. I stayed in both back-to-back so had good reasons to compare. Furstenhof is a little farther away from Independence Avenue, but it's still only a short walk. Critically though, this means it's far quieter during the night when you want to sleep without traffic noise.

The breakfast is nearly perfect - it's kept immaculate the whole time with food and drinks constantly being topped up and tables cleaned. The staff make sure the place stays spotless.

Better showers and room facilities than Thuringerhof too. The only downside was their internet vouchers do not allow for logouts.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toffeeman1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Thankfully the purpose of our stay was just a stop over on our way to other parts of Namibia. The hotel itself was fine but no one went that extra mile. I have become accustomed to some fantastic hospitality across Africa and sadly I found it lacking here. It would appear that they were perhaps under staffed - the rooms were perfectly fine but things like getting water from the bar or towels from the pool seemed to be an issue - and when we left something behind we called and asked if it had been recovered - no one got back to us and it took turning up at the hotel once again to retrieve it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Situated on the perfect spot. No loud traffic close to city center. Room was confortable. Staff friendly. Would definitely visit there again. Only disappointment though was that they advertise a gym, it is actually a beauty salon and the pool is very small. Great hotel anyway.

Anthea Herborn
Cape Town (South Africa)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

I went on a 3-week vacation to South Africa and Namibia and was in awe with how great the service was and how beautiful the accommodations were at every place I stayed - every place except this hotel.

Not that it was terrible. It wasn't. It was just very mediocre (as mediocre as Windhoek itself is) and if I had to do it again, I would stay at another hotel in search of the "awe" I felt everywhere else I stayed in namibia/south africa.

The location was good. You can walk to tons of restaurants and shopping. The room was clean though small and unspectacular looking. The restaurant was very good and the service there was excellent, a lot better than the service at the hotel reception area.

I was really surprised that there weren't any tour brochures sitting in the front reception area. I had no idea what tours to take and there wasn't anything to help me decide so I asked the front desk ladies. They weren't very helpful giving me ideas. Someone else ended up telling me about a cultural tour to the surrounding Windhoek vicinity so I did end up ask them to help me book that kind of tour.

I would definitely recommend the cultural tour that the front desk can book for you if you want to see what its really like living in Windhoek. The tour I went on was a private tour (there were only 3 of us in a sedan) and to me, private tours area a wonderful way to go in Namibia and South Africa. If there is 3-4 of you, it'll cost nearly the same as that on a big tour bus, you can book with just an hours notice, and the private tour drivers are much less politically correct and will give you more entertaining facts (though I'm not sure if those "facts" are real or not) than if you went on a big tour.

All in all, "average" is the word I'd use to describe this hotel. So, if all you are looking for a really cheap but clean place to stay, then I would say you should stay at this hotel if its the cheapest (but still decent) hotel you can find. If you are looking for something special or that will leave you feeling better than you started off, I'd say try another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heehee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Cheap hotel located near to the city centre. The restaurant was pretty good and well priced, despite being one of the more expensive according to the travel guide. The plunge pool and sun deck were nice but small, but were all you need for a quick stop in Windhoek before your adventure begins.
The room was avergae size with big bathroom and seperate shower. TV reception was poor. A/c was a little noisy but this did drown out the noise from the traffic on the dual carriageway outside - dont' worry Windhoek is not exactly New York and it really quiets down after dark. Parking is good. The decor of the room was old and could do with an update, but the room was perfectly sericeable and comfortable and cheap.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicianManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

The room was fine, except for the paper thin walls that allowed us to hear every single conversations/ noises/ phone rings from the adjacent room. Receptionist tried to help but it really spoiled the night.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getmeoutofangola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.5 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
3.2 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.3 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 16 in Windhoek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof
Address: 4 Frans Indongo Street | corner of Mandume Ndefayo Avenue, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Fürstenhof - Old-Style Hospitality in a Modern Setting. Experience true Namibian hospitality in the tranquil environment of Protea Hotel Fürstenhof. Friendly people and sunny skies all add to the alluring charm of this town where old meets new. Situated only five minutes’ walk from the city centre and with easy access to taxis; Protea Hotel Fürstenhof is the ideal base for your Windhoek adventure. The hotel offers GUESTS pristine comfort in 33 air-conditioned en-suite rooms as well as conferencing and banqueting facilities for up to 120 delegates. After a busy day at the office or exploring the town, visit the Office Bar and Restaurant or wind down in the comfort of your room with our 18-hour room service. Relax by the pool or if you want to visit places of interest nearby, make sure to use or shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing