We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loud nights sleep”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is based very close to the city centre and this leads to plenty of noise from the road. Rooms are good, sizable and clean. Service is alright. Breakfast and room service is limited in selection. It is a very convenient location, but Not the best hotel in Windhoek. Would probably chose to stay a bit out of town if I had the option.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    29
    13
    11
See reviews for
10
16
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I've been to quite a few Protea Hotels but this one does not live up to their standards. Two of the 4 lights in the bedroom dead; Air conditioning unit not working; only 1 blanket for the 2 single beds; only 1 bath towel for the two of us. As a result of this we did not wait for breakfast the next morning but left early for our next destination. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for several days at the end of June and its not as bad as some of the reviews would have you believe. The good parts - the food in the restaurant is good and its a short walk from the mall and the main street. The bad parts - its a bit old and tired, the rooms front onto a busy road with single glazed windows so no sound insulation and you get only 100Mb of free wifi a day although the charges after that are not that bad - US$25 for 1Gb. Yes there are definitely better places to stay in Windhoek but its perfectly acceptable otherwise.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for one night . When we checked in the receptionist was disinterested , her and the man on the door just looked at us as we struggled with our bags to our room. Room was OK although the bed and linen left a lot to be desired. Air conditioning unit was not working. Room was clean though. The next morning we asked the new receptionist where the information centre was. She didn't know. we looked it up on the map then asked her what time it would open. She said 9am. We went there and the information centre is CLOSED ALL DAY SUNDAY. We then went back to the hotel and told them this and they tried to argue with us that it was open. Breakfast was chaotic. We asked for scrambled eggs. They bought one poached egg, we explained we had ordered 2 scrambled eggs. They then came back with one portion of scrambled eggs which was cold. We waited then for the 2nd portion to arrive. We have stayed at Protea hotels in South Africa and they have been clean, efficient and good value for money. Would definitely NOT
recommend this one

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Upon arrival I was welcomed with an abrubt YES as response to my Good Afternoon. Then "you are too early!" even though I phoned the previous day to ask what time I can check in and was told anytime from 11h00. I only arrived at 12h00.

No directions to my room or assistance offered with my baggage by reception. No porters in site. Found my room finally only to open up with the key card to find a stranger in there already accopying the room.

New room given had window overlooking where staff socialised as I could hear them talking loudly tll late and next morning woken up with their noice as well.

No hot water for shower or bath the first evening and next morning. That was sorted during the course of the day.

Body covered in insect bites (not mosquitos!) after first night and even more after the 2nd night. Room definitely needs to be fumigates. Maybe entire hotel.

Towels smell of strong jik or some bleach. Not pleasant to use.

Toilets don't flush properly, room as well as the toilets close to Khomas 4 conference room.

And then the final straw - both my work and personal mobile phones were stolen out of my handbag underneath a table in conference room Khomas 4. This happened in the hour we were all outside for speaches at end of conference. No assistance from the manager offered to e.g. reort to police, block SIMS etc.

Apologies to the few very lovely hotel staff e.g. Aina and Jesaja. If not for them I would have checked out the first morning.

This experience was very dissapointing and not what is expected from a Protea Hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose any room! Rather stay at the Hilton or Belverdere Boutique Hotel in Windhoek
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeandre1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Anyone who does business knows it's critical to have internet included at their hotel. They advertise that they have free internet - it's false advertisement. They provide a minuscule amount of free data - gone within a half hour - and then charge ruthlessly for any additional. Not worth it for business. Front desk service is also quite slow, although restaurant servers remarkably charming

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueJae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Being lucky enough to have stayed in various Protea Hotels this was by far the worst experience yet. From checking in where my original room did not have a key to breakfast in the morning where the apple juice had some type of slime in it and the sausages raw - even after asking them to correct it on two occasions with the scrambled eggs this morning being blue and no coffee for breakfast. On top of all of this the free wireless is non-existent as it doesn't connect and runs "out of data" within a few minutes. They indicated they do not know what the problem is and currently I am sitting with my 6th or 7th username and also just decided to purchase data instead of running up and down to reception - which is unacceptable. The swimming pool by the spa also looks more like a koi pond as it is green in colour and dirty. Another point I want to raise, coming from South Africa, we booked the hotel at a rate of +-N$ 1500 and upon our arrival it was advertised for N$ 995 per room. I truly hope the Protea Hotel comes to inspect and see for themselves as this is totally not aligned with their brand as a whole.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,367 reviews
0.5 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
231 reviews
2.2 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#13 of 16 in Windhoek
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof
Address: 4 Frans Indongo Street | corner of Mandume Ndefayo Avenue, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Fürstenhof - Old-Style Hospitality in a Modern Setting. Experience true Namibian hospitality in the tranquil environment of Protea Hotel Fürstenhof. Friendly people and sunny skies all add to the alluring charm of this town where old meets new. Situated only five minutes’ walk from the city centre and with easy access to taxis; Protea Hotel Fürstenhof is the ideal base for your Windhoek adventure. The hotel offers GUESTS pristine comfort in 33 air-conditioned en-suite rooms as well as conferencing and banqueting facilities for up to 120 delegates. After a busy day at the office or exploring the town, visit the Office Bar and Restaurant or wind down in the comfort of your room with our 18-hour room service. Relax by the pool or if you want to visit places of interest nearby, make sure to use or shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing