We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms, great food and wonderfully helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Klein Windhoek Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Klein Windhoek Guesthouse
Ranked #62 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Llandrindod Wells
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, great food and wonderfully helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We only planned to stay here one night at the end of our holiday but ended up staying three nights! Although we booked a 'budget' room we found it far surpassed this - smart furnishings, large en-suite shower room, large flat screen TV, tea/ coffee making facilities.

Breakfast was outstanding - huge continental selection as well as 'full English' , complimentary filter coffee and danish pastries all day too! A well stocked bar and good value basic lunch time snack food as well as evening 'bar snack' menu was served - the beef and oryx steaks were the best we'd tasted throughout our holiday.

However, the staff really made our stay very special - we had our passports stolen on our last day and had to return to the Klein Windhoek until we could get emergency passports to fly home - the staff were simply brilliant, incredibly helpful and nothing was too much trouble - if it wasn't for their help we'd never have made it home 2 days later.

I would certainly recomend staying here as a great base to explore Windhoek city and nearby countryside either at the start or the end of a holiday

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HALDavies734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    48
    55
    26
    23
See reviews for
32
41
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here both before and after our Namibian holiday. The place was nice and tidy and very good value for money. The location is a bit out of the centre, but just a short taxi drive away. The rooms are newly decorated and everything worked as it should. After leaving for the trip we made sure everything was ok with our stay 12 days later. It was confirmed, and I even saw my name in the book. It was quite a surprise when we returned and found out they had no reservation. They fixed it for us, but had to wipe out some other peoples names in order to fit us in. We got our rooms and were happy, but got very suspicious about the booking routines, which has been pointed out in some other reviews as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oistein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisKWGH, Owner at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Thank you for your opinion and review. In the meantime we have implemented a central reservation system to make sure these kind of mistakes no longer happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

At 690 Namibian dollars this is not the best value. Our room was a little shabby, with spots all over the curtains and an old carpet. Our neighbor's heater/air conditioner was really loud. I've stayed in 3 places in Windhoek and this was the least comfortable. However, the breakfast was nice, with surprisingly good coffee. Service was polite. Check out time 10:00 a.m., like most places in Namibia.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank javvyjavelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisKWGH, Owner at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Thanks for your review and opinion.

We apologize that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. It seems you have been in one of our older rooms which at that time have not been renovated.

In the meantime all our rooms have been fully renovated and rejuvenated to provide our guests a pleasant stay.

Our rooms all consists of Satellite TV, complementary high speed Internet, Coffee/Tee facilities, fridge, air-condition and queen size beds.

Our on premise River Bar and Restaurant has also become very popular for the public, thanks to Francesco our new Chef.

If you need to check out later, you can always ask the reception and we can always “make a plan” for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Want a ruined Namibian holiday? Book this!
We reserved a booking and paid the 50% deposit. On arrival NO booking. We provide proof– NO paperwork at guesthouse! If proof wasn’t given –we would not have been helped!
Sad stories were told about staff member(left 2 weeks ago) who was responsible for mess– done with such conviction that we actually had empathy. Oscar-class act!
We endure rude and bad behaviour from landlord instead of sympathy for the situation unnecessarily placed in.
Promised that booking at end of our tour will be “the best” accommodation– at no extra costs. I saw my name written into the book of disappearing reservations.
Returned 30 th April 2011 -– NO BOOKING!
Ghost staff member secretly made comeback and active again. Names scratched out! Reason? Nobody could explained!
Overheard conversation - rooms were allocated to a group for their guides. Our paid deposit accommodation offered without second thought?
Other guests arrived same day with same problem.
Holiday in Namibia started off and ended distastefully because of negligence and bad administration! Do not take the chance!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EStruwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisKWGH, Owner at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Thank you very much for your Review.

As the owner of Klein Windhoek Guesthouse i have to apologize for your experience and the behavior of our team members. We have implemented a fully automated booking system in the meantime to prevent this kind of situations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Gland, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

The remoteness of the hostel from the city center (it's located in Klein Windhoek) helps bring a quietness to the place. The staff is nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet is good and the rooms are good. The place looks good and charming in overall.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Great place to stay in Windhoek. If you need a cheap hotel to stay without stinting on quality - stay here! The rooms are not large but really well equipped and the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is served in a dining room close to the swimming pool and there is a bar and small restaurant on site. Although they are extending the hotel we were not disturbed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnB2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Klein Windhoek Guest house is well-priced with very helpful staff and a more than adequate breakfast. The setting is quiet, although close to everything in town, it's easy to find and we weren't surprised to see that it was packed during the 3 nights we stayed there. On arrival, we had a few hiccups like the kettle which didn't work, 1 set of towels short, no chairs for the outside table etc. However, after pointing this out, all of these issues were rectified in 5 minutes, without a negative look or vibe! The wi-fi set-up with little desk was great as we could log on and handle some leftover work queries before leaving Windhoek. Overall, although not fancy, we found it warm, welcoming and value-for-money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownCobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#10 of 17 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#6 of 97 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Ambre Guesthouse
Maison Ambre Guesthouse
#12 of 97 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capbon Guesthouse & Self-Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Windhoek Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Windhoek Guesthouse

Property: Klein Windhoek Guesthouse
Address: 2 Hofmeyer Street | Klein Windhoek, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Klein Windhoek Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable guesthouse situated in a nice part of town. Just down the road from Joe's beer house. In house restaurant and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Klein Windhoek Guesthouse Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing