We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for transit, but not sure if you want to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Klein Windhoek Guesthouse
Ranked #55 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a ground floor room at the Pool House block, which to our surprise was a small, dim room just enough to fit a double-bed and a single bed in the corner. The room has a kettle, but no fridge. It has a strong air-con, that blows right at your face when you're sleeping.There is also a small 15-inch TV.

The day we arrived, the rooms aren't cleaned until 3pm despite check-in was at 2pm. Breakfast only starts 7am, so was an issue as we had to leave for the airport at 6:45am and the staff forgot to pack us breakfast as agreed. The owner is very nice and accommodation, but staff are overanxious to make sure you sign your bill. The restaurant is very slow -- took 45 mins to get 2 pastas done!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisKWGH, Owner at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Thank you very much for your Review. As the owner of Klein Windhoek Guesthouse i have to apologize for your experience.

It seems you booked one of our back packer rooms starting at N$ 490 incl. Breakfast and Highspeed Internet.

The Aircons can be setup in many different ways and it seems the fan has been in full force.

In the meantime we have “Francesco” our new Chef as well as a new Kitchen and more staff to provide a much better and most importantly faster service in the “River Bar and Restaurant”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Klein Windhoek Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

The cleaning on this hotel was fantastic, but terrible service. A blond woman in the reception looked like she was terribly bored, and she did not care to lift a finger for us. They showed us a room 2 days prior to the stay and they did not give us the same room when we arrived. One day the receptionists were gone, and wecouldnt get the key to our room all day, when we asked for our money for that night returned, they said no and told us that we were lound and inappropriate. In Europe they say that the customer always is right, but that is sure not the policy at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse. The white people working at the guesthouse is also very derogatory and rude towards the black staff. You certainly dont get what you pay for. Would never stay again!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rvr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisKWGH, Owner at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

We apologize for the poor experience you have had with us.

In the meantime, as the Guesthouse was in a transition phase, the receptionist has been replaced.

As Klein Windhoek Guesthouse is often the first or last stopover for Namibia travelers, we have a lot of checkIn/CheckOut every day and we can not always secure to get you the room showed.

If you would have booked and confirmed the same day, we could have reserved exactly this room for you. Unfortunately this seems not to be the case.

Because of the many checkIns/CheckOuts every day, rooms are sometimes not yet ready when checking in before 14:00. Klein Windhoek Guesthouse provides real value for money in Windhoek providing rooms from N$ 490 pPn incl. Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Staff are overworked because there is only 3 persons working on a Saturday afternoon. Were there to enjoy the rugby match between the Stormers and the Sharks. We live in Windhoek and go there every weekend for the rugby. The "skeleton personnel" on Satardays are very helpful, but the rest not so much.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank AvMoltke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisKWGH, Owner at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Thank you very much for your Review.

In the past our Saturdays and Sundays have been very quite and mostly 1-2 waters have been more then enough. As we are currently changing the concept of the “River Bar and Restaurant” it becomes ever more popular for Windhoekers as well.

We therefore building a new kitchen and have apointed a new Chef. “Francesco” has run one of the finest Italian Restaurants in Frankfurt and will make sure that your experience in the future will dramatically improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This guesthouse has easy access to the business areas of Windhoek yet is in a quiet location. The rooms are are semi detached buidlings arranged around well maintained pathways and courtyards rtaher than being part of one building. There is also a restauarnt and bar area which I didn't make use of.

The rooms are clean but very functional with no frills. There is a small fridge and the TV has some additional channels to the usual terrestrial channels. There is no hairdryer, no phone, few plug points and no desk so for a business person I found it a little basic. The soundproofing isn't so good either being an outside building.

The staff are helpful and friendly. Overall I would have found this guesthouse more suitable for a holiday stopover than for a business.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rollingstone2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisKWGH, Owner at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Thank you very much for your Review and your positive comments. As we are constantly improving our services and products based on our customer feedback, we are very happy to get your suggestions.

Klein Windhoek Guesthouse provides Standard Rooms from as low as N$490 pPN incl. Breakfast and Highspeed Internet, Business Rooms, Luxury Rooms and even Self Catering Flats with a Lounge and Kitchen. As we are cater mainly for our business customers who often return and stay for weeks or sometimes even months it is important for us to provide them a suitable and perfect environment to stay.

You might also be interested in the case that Klein WIndhoek Guesthouse is planning to add more business rooms with a fully fledged working environment as well as a shared office service coming with our conference and communication centre facility in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Friendly, good ambience. Owner very generous. Nice clean rooms with adequate towels, blankets, etc. Food very good. I would recommend this place to anybody!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This is the second Romeo have resides at this guesthouse. There is ample parking for carts and bikes with 24 hour security. I recommend this establishment if you want reasonably priced accommodation without all the bells and whistles of a five star hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basspro-Namibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisKWGH, Owner at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Thank you very much for your pleasant Review.

We hope you will stay with us again. It is our foremost goal to provide very affordable rates and thus a value for money products and services to our guests. This might also explain why we have almost some 40% of returning guests at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst travelling through Windhoek.
Lovely quiet location with friendly staff. Rooms are compact with clean and comfortable beds. There is a bar and restaurant and the buffet breakfast is more than adequate. The owners are well connected in the industry and have easy access to hire cars and other value added services.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
216 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
1,393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Moringa Guesthouse
Villa Moringa Guesthouse
#14 of 97 in Windhoek
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 97 in Windhoek
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Windhoek Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Windhoek Guesthouse

Address: 2 Hofmeyer Street | Klein Windhoek, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: £56 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Windhoek Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable guesthouse situated in a nice part of town. Just down the road from Joe's beer house. In house restaurant and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Klein Windhoek Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klein Windhoek Guesthouse Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing