We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Value Form Money B & B in Windhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Klein Windhoek Guesthouse
Ranked #52 of 99 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2013

B & B establishment in Windhoek, which is truly a value for money. Good rooms, good surrounding and a helpful staff!

The rooms are well appointed and cozy with good greenery around! The breakfast spread though limited is great in taste.

Helpful staff who are willing to help and guide you whilst you are in Windhoek.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milind T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

It is always a risk when visiting a new BB as you do not know what to expect. Well I have note felt this at home ever. Staff very friendly and going out of their way to make your stay pleasant.
Breakfast is a most generous buffet that will feed two rugby teams and with seconds! I was even encouraged to make some sandwiches for the road, have you ever!
Can glady recommend to anyone :)

Room Tip: Nr 4 or 5 excellent, stayed in both
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

we stayed 2 nights.lokation is fine not to crowded and not to far.the staff very friendly and helpful.Francesco the Italian cook is serving a nice mediteranian cuisine and others.
Good place to stay.clean and well organized.


  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanettejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We were more than happy with our stay at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse. We had a well-equipped family unit and a normal room, both of which were tastefully decorated, clean and basic. We stayed at the start and end of our Namibian trip and having a fridge in both units in the middle of summer was a huge bonus. We were also grateful for the free wireless internet access available to residents. Each unit had DSTV and flat screen TV sets, with basic package access but we don't go on holiday to watch TV, so what was on offer was ample for us. The breakfasts were good - buffet style - and my brother-in-law couldn't stop talking about the breadrolls which were melt-in-the-mouth. The guesthouse is close to town and also has a restaurant on site with basic menu. The pizzas were delicious and really worth trying. The pool is a little small and was overcrowded on the day we arrived back from the south feeling really hot and dusty, but I was told a larger pool is in the pipeline. An observation rather than a criticism, I found the furniture in one of the Orange Tree rooms was a little bulky, making access to the bathroom a bit tight. The staff were friendly and accommodating and booked local restaurants and our airport shuttle for us at no extra cost. Thank you to the owners and their staff for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The staff are more than happy to accommodate requests so don't be shy to ask. Car hire can also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarenfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stays at the Klein Windhoek Guesthouse. We have justa few grumbles, the manager of the restaruant on the Friday night was very hostile to his staff and smoked right outside the restaurant so we had to watch him glowering at his staff and share his cigarettes with him. We wanted an early breakfast on the Saturday morning but the Manager responsible for oepning-up was so late we headed out and then had missed breakfast by the time we got out. The staff were stuck again as we needed a late checkout and the reception lady threatened them in front of useven though she'd been late and forgotten our late check-out request. The owner though who we met on the first stay was really helpful and friendly, the rooms are good, the food is very good and it's clean, conveniently located and we would indeed recommend it as a sensible place to stay on your way in our out of Namibia.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelACox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I had visions of a guest house with a couple of comfortable rooms. Instead found that it was a sprawling, ugly number of houses with rooms attached to them like a real cheap motel. It was more like a very expensive back packers lodge.
The room was dark and dingy and the first room we had opened directly onto one of the drive ways to a parking area, in otherwords cars would have kept us awake at night driving directly under the window.
If you want bottled water you have to get it from the bar ( at your cost) that is despite there being a fridge in the bedroom.
While it was clean the idea of brown sheets, brown coloured duvets, brown towels is not appealing at all.
Maybe Andrew C was impressed by the sexy waitress who was overtly friendly and displayed her charms at every available opportunity.
definitely not some place I would advise visitors to use as it gives a poor impression of accommodation in Windhoek.

Room Tip: avoid the place if you want to stay in a reasonable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisKWGH, Owner at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

The Klein Windhoek Guesthouse is situated in the preferred area of Windhoek and thus in a quite residential Area.

Over the years, the Guesthouse has been build nicely on the various properties and the houses have been redesigned to serve as guest rooms.

Thus the rooms are widely spread between the 6 properties at Hofmeyer Street. Klein Windhoek Guesthouse provides different Room types from Back Backer Rooms starting at 490 N$ pPN, Standard Rooms starting at 660 N$ pPN towards Luxury rooms with lounge, kitchen, wide open bed room, dvd, surround sound system, flat screen with DTSV bouquet. You might have booked the back packers room. If you will visit us again, please ask for an upgrade.

As we have many business guests staying with us for weeks and often return, the fridges allow them to use their own beverages etc. On request we can also fill the fridge.

The color of the bedding is always a difficult one. We do use beige linen as we only use eco-friendly washing from ELSO. White linen would need bleaching and other chemical substances to keep them as white as guest want them to be which is not at all environmentally friendly. WIthout those substances and because of our water, sun and other influences, white linen soon looks grey and thus not appealing to our guests as well.

However, we do apologize for any inconvenience and would have certainly be able to change your room if we would have known during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stopped here just for an overnight. Well I nearly took a dead husband home. At 2am when my husband wanted to switch on his bedside lamp he got an electric shock. There was no bedside lamp - only bare live electrical wires protruding from the wall. When we reported it in the morning the staff did not seem to grasp what could have happened. The manageress offered us coffee!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucilleTamboerskloof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisKWGH, Owner at Klein Windhoek Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Thank you very much for your Review. As the owner of the Klein Windhoek Guesthouse I have to apologize for your experience and for my staff that was unable to handle your complaint accordingly and with due respect. In October 2012 the Guesthouse was in a transition phase and new managers have been employed since. Once again, please accept my apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
196 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#9 of 17 in Windhoek
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capbon Guesthouse & Self-Catering
0.9 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 99 in Windhoek
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillside Executive Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Windhoek Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Windhoek Guesthouse

Address: 2 Hofmeyer Street | Klein Windhoek, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: £58 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Windhoek Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable guesthouse situated in a nice part of town. Just down the road from Joe's beer house. In house restaurant and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Klein Windhoek Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klein Windhoek Guesthouse Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing